The Other, Fuzzier, Olympics


My fellow Fibre Olympians, I salute thee.

I’m participating in both the original Knitting Olympics, hosted by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, as well as the Ravelympics 2010, where I am a proud member of Team Suck Less, the official Ravelry team of the Friends of Abby’s Yarns.

The Knitting Olympics

For the Knitting Olympics: I shall be casting on for a pair of socks during the Opening Ceremonies and binding off the second sock during the Closing Ceremonies. To make this more of a challenge I shall knit only one sock at a time, thus making myself face Second Sock Syndrome. The sock pattern is an unfamiliar one, being the first sock pattern offering of the 2010 Rocking Sock Club.

I have the club yarn wound into a neat cake, ready for cast-on. (And yes, I am going to post spoiler-alert buttons, because I don’t want to spoil the club fun for anyone.)

There were two patterns included with the club sock yarn this time, and I have chosen Cascadia by Sivia Harding.

I’ve got needles, markers, pattern, yarn, and miscellaneous tools all organized in a bright red box:

There’s Dusty, my trainer and cheerleader, guarding the box till Opening Ceremonies.

Here’s what’s inside the box:

Ravelympics 2010

For the Ravelympics: I shall be spinning 1 oz of guanaco fibre on a spindle. By Closing Ceremonies, I aim to have two plies spun and plied and finished.

This is in the spirit of our team motto: Suck Less. To Suck Less means just that: if you suck at something, then work at it so you suck less at it by the end of the Olympics. The guanaco is a very fine, short fibre, and not only am I terrified of spinning it, but my sampling efforts  (on the spindle in the photo) have been less than worthy of the beauty of the fibre. I’m determined to do my team proud and Suck Less at spinning fine exotics like this one.

CHALLENGES and HANDICAPS:

- My wrist is still a bit “delicate” so I must continue to ice it, splint it, and take my anti-inflammatories. It’s well enough to participate if I am sensible about things. I’ll stop if it starts hurting and ice it, I promise.

- I have to continue with my work knitting throughout the Olympics. Since these are “works in progress” that I have knitted on since Jan 12, they do not qualify for the WIP Dancing event of Ravelympics. But since these are Work projects For The Job, I have to set aside time to knit on these every day as well. That cuts down on the time I can spend doing Olympic projects. This seems fair, as most of you have kids, houses, jobs, and Lives to act as challenges to your own Olympic knitting time.

Here’s my knitting station, with all supplies ready to go. The white bags are my work knitting; the red box is my Knitting Olympics project; and the purple bag holds my spindle and fibre for the Suck Less challenge of the Ravelympics.

Let the games begin!

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. UFO wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 3 cats, 1 dog, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Other, Fuzzier, Olympics

  1. Natalie says:

    I like the organization of your projects in progress. I think my husband would appreciate it if my WIPs were as organized! Perhaps if there’s spare time after the kids are in bed & before the torch is lit…

  2. donna lee says:

    I don’t own a television so I don’t watch the games. I hear the results on the news and I suppose I could watch some parts on the computer. We’ve been tv free for a few years now and I have to say, I don’t miss it. I listen to audiobooks while I knit.

    So, I’ll be on the sidelines, in the stands, cheering you and all the Olympian knitters on! Go, Go, Go!

  3. Betty in Texas says:

    love the blog, Sandi! just catching up. we had some snow here, so that psyched us up for the winter O in Vancouver. I am knitting baby booties.

  4. Nancy (leomom on ravelry) says:

    Good luck in your assorted events – I’ll be cheering you on from the sidelines!

  5. BERMD says:

    Just read your Knitting Daily post concerning the outcomes of your “events”. You should not be concerned about what the amount you produced. What you produced looks great. It is truly amazing what some people are able to accomplish in such a short time. I stand in awe of them. You are right though, that we are all different in how and how fast we knit. Thank goodness we can. So I say you did not fall, or finish seventh. You finished one fabulous looking shawl collar. That is great. Good for you and everyone else who did anything. Best, BER

  6. Alena says:

    Hello, Sandi! thank you for a lovely blog. Hilarious and very inspiring. And you are SO right about the small things! Take care.

  7. Jodi says:

    Sandi! I forgot to show you where Boo the Bat lives now. So here’s a photo — Boo seems very happy. <3

Leave a Reply

