friday good


I have finished the Traveling Woman shawl and it is drying on my suddenly too-small blocking board.

Since that photo truly sucketh, here are some close-ups that show off the colours better:

As always, you can click to embiggenfy.

I think I love this shawl. I love the name and the imagery it carries for me of a strong woman journeying on the road, encountering challenges and adventures along the way; dealing with good and bad alike with a blend of humour (wicked, of course), compassion, humanity (often humbling, sometimes glowing), courage, and a salt of wisdom. (And some knitting. Always some knitting…perhaps with a sharp dpn orĀ  three, just in case.)

I certainly love the yarn (from Lorna’s Laces) more than I thought I would. It’s got a gorgeous halo on it, and is soft as a bunny. And it’s superwash! I know. All the good stuff.

When the shawlette dries, I’ll get Nicholas to help me take a nice artsy shot before it gets sent off to its final destination. (Perhaps the Gentle Recipient will take a little candid for us as well? We shall see.)

I’ve dried lots of pieces on that blocking board by now, and it amuses me to finally have made something too big for it. I guess sooner or later I am going to have to result to the bed…but only in summer. During a dry spell. When the cats are on vacation in Bermuda. As pigs flutter sweetly past my window…

Either that, or I am going to have to begin selecting patterns by the parameters of my blocking board, which seems rather silly.

I do feel as though the wingtips suffered a little by not being fully pinned out. On the other hand, I do think I usually over-block lace a wee bit anyways. This time, I deliberately told myself to “be gentle.” As this is a lace pattern with a lot of stockinette background, I think a bit of under-blocking worked better than yanking the heck out of each poor little yarnover.

I keep going upstairs to my studio to peek at it. It’s beautiful. (Lace rocks.)

That Big Room Outside

I’ve been GARDENING, which for those of you who know me well must be quite the shock. No, really. I’ve been outside in the garden, wearing gardening gloves even, clearing the muss and the muck away from the beds. I’ve been doing this by hand, rather than by rake, ever since I discovered these in the side bed:

Now, those really ARE crocuses. I know that when I posted a picture of the first spring flowers I found, I called them crocuses, but I was wrong:

Here is another photo, now that I have gardened and cleared the beds:

Someone in the comments said they were snowdrops; someone else said they were trilliums. O Great Commenters, hear my brown-thumb cry: What the heck are these and is there an online place for me to go look stuff up myself? Someplace called The Clueless Gardener, something like that?

More to come…

I know, I know. I haven’t blogged about my new spinning wheel; I haven’t blogged here about my trip to Michigan to take the Sara Lamb class. I did blog over here about the Sara Lamb class; but I’m thinking I ought to show pictures of what I am making on my new wee Cricket loom. Let me get a few more inches done so the design shows and then I promise photos shall appear.

Thus: Patience, grasshoppers. Next time. (I am hoping if I keep my blog entries shorter it will help the Blog Writing Fairy to visit me more often. That would be nice.)

Random Bunny

Till we meet again, I leave you with some random cute, because life is too short not to search for bunny pics on the intarwebz.

May your Easter eggs be filled with surprises.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. UFO wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 3 cats, 1 dog, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to friday good

  1. Anna-Liza says:

    A full-sized sheet of 2″ thick styrofoam insulation board makes a great blocking board. If you need something even bigger, take two of them and tape them together on one side only with a sturdy tape (duct tape works well). The tape will form a hinge so you can fold it to put it away. I keep mine behind my bed.

  2. Anna-Liza says:

    Oh, and I got interested in the blocking board quandary and forgot to say how beautiful the shawl is! One of my friends just started knitting that pattern and now I’m thinking I might have to make one, too.

  3. limijas says:

    Those are snowdrops. Which are early spring bloomers. (Which is now for a Zone 5 which I believe you are). Trillium are larger and face upward, bloom a little later, primarily in woodsy shady areas.

  4. Lynn says:

    Pretty shawl! I’m thinking of investing in those interlocking foam blocks for blocking, now that I’ve caught the lace shawl bug.

    And you can always ask me gardening questions (definitely snowdrops; I agree with limijas); I don’t know a good website because I iz ole fart and larned my gardening knowledge from books. And my parents.

  5. Astrid says:

    Yup, snowdrops. Gorgeous shawl!

  6. SharonM says:

    Lovely shawl!

    Those are snowdrops, not trilliums. My trilliums are blooming now. I garden in a borderline zone 7/8. My crocuses are over now. I’ve been told by a gardener in Minnesota that this is a good site for northern gardeners – . Haven’t looked at it yet myself. It’s rain and slugs that I battle not so much cold weather. I’d be happy to answer gardening questions. I’ve been gardening for many years and if I don’t know the answer, I have a library of books that should provide it.

  7. Arla Schmaltz says:

    Google snow drops and trilliums. See what comes up….

    As for your blocking board being too small, I think that if you were to start the back point of the shawl in one corner, and work the edges of the shawl up along the edges of the board, you might have much better success. And a lot more room…
    Keep us smiling, I love your sense of humour! ;o)

  8. Arla Schmaltz says:

    Sandy,
    I googled the flowers pictures only, and I stand corrected… please forgive my blunder all of you who said that the flowers in question are snow drops and not trillium…You are absolutely correct…Thanks!

  9. Mardi says:

    Aiiigh! It’s perfect!! All perfect…mine has errors, wee ones now, since I started over for the FOURTH time, but…not perfect. Stephen has been teasing me about it, calling it the “Freudian Shawl” and saying “There are no accidents.” D’you think he’s onto something???

    Beautiful shawl. Lucky person who gets it.

  10. Ooh!! the shawl is GORGEOUSITY ITSELF.

  11. Vicki Williams says:

    Sandi,
    About your plant ID dilemma…I haven’t found a good answer for you. So far, I haven’t found a searchable database for plants based on color. However, I do know of a searchable database for birds based on color and characteristics (http://www.whatbird.com/).

    In the US we have the Extension service where you can take plants to be ID’d but I don’t know if Canada has anything like that. When I was cruising around this morning, trying to find something on the web that would be helpful, I didn’t find anything that would work for you. Most everything wants you to enter a name! And if you had a name, you wouldn’t be needing help.

    My only suggestions are –

    1)take pictures and then take then to a garden center/nursery and say, what do I have. Be sure to take pictures of the flowers and the leaves. Especially pictures showing leaf shape and arrangement on the stem.

    2) post a picture on here and we can always give you our ID which you can then check online to verify. Because once you have a name, why…it is much easier to find a picture of said plant/flower! Sad but true.

    3) Go to the library or bookstore because it is much easier to flip though a book when you don’t know a plant than try to find it on the internet when you don’t know what it is. I do know there are gardening books where the plants are arranged by color.

    And be sure and have written down various characteristics about the plant(s). Shape, size, etc. It helps narrow it down as to which plant you really have.

    And lastly, do they have a Master Gardener group where you live? I know the Master Gardener organization is international and they would be able to help you do plant ID and suggest resources that would be useful for you in Canada versus my resources that are more applicable for Georgia.

    Good luck!

  12. donna lee says:

    Travelling woman is my next shawl. I have some beautiful blue yarn and it will be for ME. I have two skeins so I will make it a big wrap all the way around me shawl.

    It’s been so wet here the garden has to wait just a bit longer for some of the mud to dry up. I’m not much of a gardener either but I’m going to get out there this year and make things grow. Bugs or not.

  13. geniaknitz says:

    What colorway of Lorna’s Laces? Please and thank you.

  14. NancyN says:

    davesgarden.com is a site where you can post a picture of your plant and many helpful gardeners will identify it for you. You will need to register to post the photo, but it’s all free. Lot’s of interesting stuff on the site.

  15. christina says:

    Hi Sandi,
    I love your blogs. I really do enjoy reading them! I tried your cabling without a cable needle and I love it. I felt like I was freed from something. Oh, a cable needle! It was very, very scary at first, but I was “quick as a bunny” and it worked beautifully. Thank you for your tutorials. Kind regards,
    christina

  16. Thelma Taylor says:

    Hi Sandi,
    I have been a fan of yours for some time and I have to tell you that Knitting Daily is not the same without you. I miss your “magic” touch with intriguing articles and photos. It’s not as fun as it used to be when you were at the helm. But I’m happy for you that you are enjoying what you are doing. And I realize that you put in a lot of hours in order to make KD what it was. Thank you for all that you invested during your time with KD. And it’s great to “visit” on your web site.

  17. ashley says:

    Sandy, thank you for your wonderful wit and your willingness to share your knitting life with us. Your sense of humor speaks right to me and I laugh out loud a *lot* while reading your posts. I happened to read through some of your older postings last night and it was a total treat.
    I am definitely going adopt the “suck less” motto, and will share that perfect pearl with my of my friends — especially those of us who tend to push ourselves too hard, instead of just appreciating the small gains we make. And of *course* you name your gargoyles! I mean, who wouldn’t?
    Surely you need a larger blocking board for your shawl. And probably then a larger table for the board. And if you aren’t able to open up the (new, larger) table all of the way, then you’ll just have to buy a different house with larger rooms. And then you’ll absolutely, most definitely have to make sure that these larger rooms in your new house have windows that let in enough light so that you can see your stitches as you need to. (You can’t block what you can’t see, right?) And it’d just be a waste of time and energy if those nice large windows weren’t facing the right way and were in shadow too much of the time.
    So you may have to re-orient the house.

    Or you can buy some of the rigid insulation board that Anna-Liza recommended, and add duct-tape ‘hinges’ so it’s foldable and storable. Quilters and sewers use them for design boards and for laying out quilts and the like. You can make a fabric cover if you’re so inclined as simply as pinning a former sheet on to/around it. It’s lightweight and easy to move. And as a bonus, it does actually help insulate when it’s kept stored against a cold wall.

    You knit, girlfriend!

Leave a Reply

