random thursday


First, a poll:

Creativity is encouraged. I have a reason for asking. You’ll see.

Next: A New Rav Group

I have finally been convinced to host a Ravelry group for folks who follow my blogs, my writings, knit my patterns, or want to hang out with me and a bunch of cool folks. So here you be:  Wiseheart & Friends.

And Now: A Knit-A-Long!

Starting this summer (OK, later this summer!), I’m hosting the very first WiseSweater KAL. A WiseSweater KAL is where I take you, step by step, through everything you need to know to knit a sweater that actually fits YOU and looks terrific. The KAL includes a customizable sweater pattern designed by yours truly, a set of nifty PDFs and worksheets, and more! For more information, and to sign up, check out  this thread in the Wiseheart & Friends group. (P.S. Jennifer of Holiday Yarns will be dyeing some yarn especially for this KAL! Her yarn, and other yarns recommended for the project, will be available through the KAL’s sponsor, the Yarn Cupboard of Jamesville, N.Y.)

Finally: What Am I Working On?

I spent a very happy weekend day with my copy of Pitsilised Koekirjad (try saying THAT one time fast), the Estonian lace primer that I obtained via (where else?) eBay. The text and lace charts in this book are mostly unreadable to ordinary non-Estonian, non-lace-knitting humans as they are written, surprise, surprise, in Estonian words and symbols. I downloaded the symbol translation pdf and, with the help of my trusty charting software, re-did several of my favourite designs in modern chart format. I printed them out, tossed each one into a plastic sleeve with a copy of the stitch pattern photo, and put them all in a binder. I feel quite organized.

I also feel a lace shawl coming on…

This post is sadly lacking in eye candy.

Thus: Mama and baby doves. Max is on the left; Sam is on the right. Note Sam fluffing her (his?) wings, practicing for that first flight. (Really, you must click to embiggen and admire the cuteness.)

Oh, you mean you want some fibery eye candy? Here you go:

That’s a custom dye job especially for me from Indigodragonfly. Details to be revealed at a later date.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. UFO wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 3 cats, 1 dog, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to random thursday

  1. Abby says:

    Really, really looking forward to the sweater KAL as I have yet to knit a sweater for myself because I want it to fit right and I have no confidence I can accomplish this on my own.

  2. Sharon says:

    Oh, Sandi, I needed those birds more than you’ll know. Thank you! It totally turned my cruddy day around when I embiggened it!

  3. Sharon says:

    Oh, and please forgive me, but I sent it to my Mother.

  4. Lynn says:

    One ball, eh? A big ball or a little ball? I certainly wouldn’t knit socks from qiviut, but then, I don’t knit socks.

    I guess I’d be inclined to knit a very simple lace scarf (or shawl, if it’s a BIG ball) if it’s very soft yarn.

  5. So ALL the yarn got to you today? Holy crap, I might have to take back everything I’ve ever said about Canada Post! ;)

  6. cocokat says:

    One ball? I think a shawlette; I’ve seen some really cute patterns.

    Love the dove. I work with the local rehabber with injured/orphaned songbirds. Nothing like picking up a little bird no bigger than from the tip of your finger to your second knuckle, and then trying to feed it! It’s loads of fun. Pretty close in fun-quotient to playing with fiber.

  7. AndreaW says:

    Sandy…you picked just the kind of yarn I often promise myself to get “just one skein” of to make…a cowl. That would be the perfect cuddly use for a luxury skein!!! Cute little birds…mamma bird’s eye isn’t missing a thing!!!

  8. donna lee says:

    Woot! A kal where I end up with a sweater for me! I’m totally in.

  9. Elizabeth says:

    Babies! Babies!! They are absolutely adorable. How lucky you are to have them as nest neighbors!

  10. Naomi says:

    Baby doves! Thanks, I needed that.

  11. Shirley says:

    i would make a Cowl. Been looking at patterns for one that I like.

  12. Mardi says:

    Wait, I thought their names were Bobbin and Flyer?!

Leave a Reply

