welcome 2011!


For some reason, I hear Whos singing in the background.

fahoo-doray, fahoo-doray...

66666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666666E ~FDV

WOO! That is a New Year’s greeting from Tim. Translated it says, “More salmon snacks in 2011 for all!!”


Well. I don’t have Salmon Snacks For All, but I do have this:

The Second Deep Winter Kindness of 2011: A Giveaway!

It’s January First, and maybe this is the year you’ve told yourself you will finally learn how to spin. Or maybe you want to improve your spinning skills. The Deep Winter Fairy has just the thing for you:

That’s a brand-new, still-wrapped-in-plastic copy of Maggie Casey’s 2-disc DVD set, Start Spinning. Someone gave me a second copy, and now I am–er, I mean, the Deep Winter Fairy is–giving it to someone else–maybe you!

How to enter the drawing for the Start Spinning DVD: Leave a comment on this post between now and Wednesday January 5th, and you’re in! I’ll stick the names of everyone who comments into a random number generator, and announce the randomly generated winner on Thursday, January 6th.

What if I already have this DVD? If the random number generator picks your name, and you already have the DVD, I have a couple other goodies here you can choose from.

What’s the catch? You have to leave a comment on this post. That’s it. That’s the catch. Oooooh, scary.

What if I live overseas? If you live anywhere outside Canada and the U.S., and the random number generator beasties pick your name, then why shouldn’t you get to play, too? DVDs are light. Big deal. The Deep Winter Fairy can handle it.

All good? All good!

Wait. How come you said the SECOND Deep Winter Kindness? What happened to the first?

awesome photo by Yuri Bonder

The Deep Winter Fairy already took care of the First Kindness. But some of the Kindnesses will be secret. Fairies like to surprise folks. Fairies are very playful that way.

About the Deep Winter Kindnesses

My friend Cris is very wise, although she wouldn’t think so. A couple of weeks before Christmas, I was feeling less than sparkly about the whole holiday spirit gig. I was tired, and fighting off this bug and that germ, and wondering if I would have the energy to celebrate Christmas “properly” and send gifts to all the folks who deserved gifting. Cris suggested that I just let myself rest, and celebrate in any way that seemed most nourishing…and then, in January, when everyone’s spirits are low, maybe that was the time for spreading some much-needed cheer, in the depths of winter, when everyone is feeling a bit blue.

I thought that was a brilliant idea. So I blatantly stole it, named it Deep Winter Kindnesses, suggested it to the Winter Fairy, and here we are.

If you have a little bit of sparkle left in you, and you’d like to play along, then I invite you to do whatever it is you think kind, or generous, or generous, or loving, or compassionate, throughout the month of January. Hug someone who needs a hug. Donate a few dollars (or some time!) to a favourite charity. Send a thank-you note, or even just a “I’m thinking of you fondly” message on Ravelry! Be creative. Be daring. Be SPARKLY. Baby, it’s coooollllld outside, but we can make it plenty warm inside, where it counts.

And in more mundane matters…

One mitten is finished, inside and out!

It is very warm, and the lining is very soft. All that’s left is a bit of the cuff on Mitten #2, and Lining #2. Warm hands for Nicholas!

I brought the floor loom downstairs so I can play with it and not freeze my toes off.

Zoe was immediately compelled to investigate.

There’s a blue-and-white warp on there now, an old warp from (gulp) seven years ago. I don’t even remember what the pattern was. Towels, I’m certain of that much. It’s a long warp. I think I might re-thread and weave these off just for a warm-up exercise.

Today’s Random Good

Some of the animals who found homes in 2010 through Best Friends Animal Sanctuary say thank you!

And a gratitude…


Today I am grateful, so very deeply grateful, for Nicholas, who brings laughter, love, and joy to my life.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. UFO wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 3 cats, 1 dog, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

82 Responses to welcome 2011!

  1. The changing of the year is a milepost for us. We met on 12/30/1971 and have been rarely apart since. So I’m always looking for new ways to share my good fortune with others. We just took a trunk load of old towels and blankets to our county animal shelter. We now have 3 dogs so no new animals were able to come home with us, but some will be a little warmer.

  2. Carole says:

    I, too, am grateful for my husband. Good thing to remember. Thanks, Sandi!

  3. Pat says:

    Happy New Year Sandi and Nicholas,
    I like your winter Fairies. The thought of them does indeed bring some life to the most somber aspects of winter. I’m in North Carolina and on 1/1/2011 the temperature is 64 degrees. My problem – I like winter!
    Your cats remind me of my 3 “little darlings”. They have to help with everything. I also have three dogs that think the only place to be is my lap. Must admit, they are becoming great knitters. Now if they would just learn to crochet, they could teach me.
    There are so many things that you talk about that seem to touch areas of my own life. Although we have never met, I feel like I have a real friend.
    I wish you love, joy and contentment for the New Year.
    Pat

  4. Liz says:

    Winter is a time when we need kindness.

  5. melanie says:

    I’d like to chime in with gratitude for my husband, too. I don’t say it enough. (Can I say it enough?)

  6. Suzie says:

    I love your idea of Deep Winter Kindnesses and I will be playing too. I am also eager to learn to spin so would love to be entered fro the DVD! It is great to have people who bring love and joy into your life, isn’t it?

  7. janet says:

    Merry New Year, Sandi. Last night I started some bulbs a friend had given me, to have something grow in the middle of winter.

  8. Lisa says:

    Wishing you a happy healthy new year, and best wishes to The Deep Winter Fairy.

  9. Magi says:

    I love your idea of Deep Winter Kindnesses and will play my part. And I have never tried spinning…why do people love it so??
    And finally I am intrigued by the mittens but more specifically the linings and how to do them. I need a video on doing linings – a visual that takes away my doubts and hesitations. Happy New Year Sandi :)

  10. Eileen says:

    Happy new year! I’ve been trying to learn to spin and would love the DVD

  11. georg says:

    My husband is in the basement making me a birthday present. I’m not allowed to see, though I have had to go with him to buy parts. :)

    I too will do Deep Winter Joy, but it’ll wait until paychecks start coming. My belt is still tight right now. I can wait.

  12. cocokat says:

    Spinning – yes! This is the year. I got a spindle and some roving for Christmas and I’ve tried it already. A little rough, but not too bad.

    Hugs to my hubby. Without him … well, I just don’t know….

  13. Judy Warde says:

    Tim is just the cutest cat ever. Somehow my MacBook looks empty without a kitty. I think 2011 is going to be a very good year. Happy New Year to all the creatures at your house.

  14. Naomi says:

    Today’s cat photos are particularly good. Scritches to both subjects.

  15. Marika says:

    Happy New Year! So the Deep Winter Fairy got me to comment….seems greedy, but nevertheless

  16. linda says:

    If the video is even half as good as the book, I can’t wait to learn more.

  17. Kathy says:

    I read somewhere that doing five intentional acts of kindness a day will make you happier. Thanks for giving me an additional poke to think about who I can help or cheer up.

    (My random act for today: Hubby cleaned out his dresser and is taking the good stuff that he doesn’t wear to a soup kitchen. I bought jumbo packs of tampons and maxi-pads to send with him. Homeless women have a really tough time getting hygiene items.)

  18. Loredens says:

    Love the mittens! I like the Winter Kindness idea, Jan is so gloomy normally. I used Christmas Eve as a good time to add Kiva loans.

  19. Lynn says:

    Ooo, look: A loom, easily accessible. That looks like a Deep Winter Kindness, all right – for YOU!

  20. jezikhana says:

    OOooo… Lots of goodies there. I agree with January kindess. I’m always so burnt out and blah. I take vacation. Everyone thinks I’m nutz cause I don’t go anywhere. But I treat myself. It’s lovely!

  21. Deb says:

    I have a drop spindle I need much more practice using. Would love the DVD to inspire me to spin more. Happy New Year to all!

  22. Sylvia says:

    Sandi, in our house we have fairies and elves … there is the Laundry Elf, and the Dishwasher Fairy, for instance – but no Winter Fairy! So I’m glad to welcome her into my circle of small spritish creatures.

    Happy New Year back to you … and Tim, of course – and the others who did not type their very own new years greetings! I had a cat who loved to send email, I think she liked to watch the screen change, AND watch my face … she is now sending her own emails in the stars, but we remember her often. Subsequent feline residents have preferred simply walking across the keyboard periodically …

    And yes, husbands/life partners can never be told often enough how sweet and wonderful they are!

    Happy 2011 -

  23. Julie says:

    I love the idea of the Deep Winter Fairy, and I’ll do my best to warm up January for some deserving person in my life.

    As for spinning, I have taken two spindle spinning classes and have failed miserably in both of them. In one class, even a nine-year old girl did better than I did! Maybe this video is the answer to my spinning problems.

  24. Rachel says:

    you’ve done me a kindness already — your writing about HealthMonth led me to check it out which led me to sign up, at least for the first month.

    I need that gentle nudge to take care of myself and I’m hoping this is the way to do it.

    as for doing my own deep winter kindness, I’m working on those as well

  25. Barbara says:

    Hi Sandi, I have never tried spinning but might if I win this DVD. Happy 2011 !!! I started off my new year by paying a visit to a friend who just got home from surgery and bringing her a little kindness and hopefully some sunshine and levity. I believe if people were kinder to each other, the world would be a much nicer place for all of us.

  26. molly says:

    deep winter kindnesses – what a grand idea! here in saskatchewan, january and february are long, dark months, with little to redeem them (beyond long naps with the kittikidz). four years ago my daughter was married in mid-february – when asked why she chose that day, she replied ‘well, february is such a yucky month, we thought we’d give everyone something nice to look forward to’. such a wise young woman. since then, she has given us our first grandson (two years ago, mid-february) and our third grandbaby (this february coming, due on his older brother’s second birthday).
    there is no way i can equal her gifts for the deep, dark winter! but certainly i always try my best to bring a wee bit of light to people then. this year, i have some socks from my finished pile that will be going to people who truly need warm, and some small tim’s cards for people who ask for help…
    not a lot on the grand scale, but we do what we can, don’t we?

  27. tallfran says:

    Love the Deep Winter Fairy. I’m visiting family & friends for several days so I’m away from home missing my sweet kitty Peri, so pictures are good. Though my friends Betty & Alan who are taking care of Peri while I’m gone just sent me some pictures of him. My good deed for the day was vacuuming up leaves from the yard of my friend Mary. Harder than it sounds; think I’ll be sore in the morning! All wonderful things to you, Sandi, and to Sir Nicholas as well.

  28. Jerri says:

    Thank you for the sparkle and the inspiration I always get from reading your blog. Please continue sharing the tidbits.

  29. RichelleCK says:

    I’m absolutely afraid of garnering a new addiction, er, I mean, hobby, but would like to enter anyway.

    I try to do the deep winterish kindnesses throughout the year. I try to do Something Good once a month. Doesn’t always work out and sometimes I do it more than once in a month, but I always do it when I’m feeling a bit low on human kind. It always makes me regain a bit of my faith in the race.

  30. Diane says:

    Deep Winter Fairy work accomplished – I’m paying it forward while the Fairy gives her kindness to me as well.

    Hooray for the loom! Hooray for Tim the Cat Who Types!

    Wishing you and Sir N. the very best in 2011. May this be another year of love and laughter amongst everything else.

  31. Keri says:

    What a great way to ring in 2011. Contemplating ways to sparkle. Happy 2011!

  32. Donna B says:

    Sparkle away! I hope this means that you’ll keep the snowflakes for a while. I like them sprinkling over the page…

    and your mitten is perfect. It even has a thumb…my mittens never seem to get that far.

  33. Jekka says:

    I like the idea of the deep winter kindnesses. Selfishly, I find that nothing gets me out of a funk better than being randomly kind, and someone else being randomly kind to me is the next best thing.

  34. donna lee says:

    I have a Santa hat with a spring with a pompom on top that is my Cindyloo Who hat. I wear it to work (I work in community mental health) and it makes everyone smile. Some of the folks I work with really need the encouragement to smile. That’s my DWK (deep winter kindness). I am going to watch out for those people who are in especial need of an extra smile or friendly contact.

  35. Barbara G. says:

    Such a good idea to sprinkle kindness in the deep winter after the holidays! I too was under the weather before, during and after Christmas…and I read your thoughts on gifting after you were healthy and that gave me permission to rest during the holidays, so thank you, very much for more wisdom!
    Now that I am better, I too shall be sprinkling kindness, in fact, maybe it’s just a good idea to do this year ’round if we all feel up to it!

  36. Connie says:

    Happy New Year…and thank you for sharing your insights and knowledge with us. I have been inspired by your “cleaning house” and now find the idea of winter kindnesses very appealing.

  37. meg says:

    What a brilliant idea! I love it!

  38. Shirley says:

    Hi Sandi,

    I missed you so much at IW that I found your blog and have been a silent reader ever since. I started spinning exactly one year ago but would love to have the spinning DVD.

  39. Sarah says:

    My Father used to encourage a New Year fairy to visit us. She stopped coming many years ago but maybe I need to encourage her to come again and bring kindnesses as gifts.

  40. Happy New Year and much kindness in 2011! Wise choice for the heart.

  41. Julia in KW says:

    My DH (a wonderful man on so many fronts!!) bought me that video for Christmas because my sister gave me an antique spinning wheel for my (50th cough!cough!) birthday just before Christmas! I have watched it and can’t wait to get the Christmas stuff put away so I can get the spinning stuff out and played with!
    I have truly enjoyed reading you this month…thanks for all your time!

  42. MsVicki says:

    I’ve always been afraid to learn to spin, since I don’t need another addiction.

    But really, I need to just face the demon in me: I. Want. To. Spin!!

  43. Anne says:

    I have a whole box of spinning stuff that I have collected over the years – I too am very afraid to step into that world…..but maybe with some good instruction?

    Your Deep Winter Kindness is a fabulous idea — it might help alleviate “The January Blues” that everyone seems to get after the Holidays…then there is the February Frump, the March Blahs, etc.!!!

  44. Kit says:

    You are such a darling and I always look forward to your blog posts. Thank you for doing this. :)

  45. Lisa says:

    Hi Sandi,

    I was planning on leaving a comment even without the enticement of a Deep Winter Fairy Kindness. I really enjoy reading your posts and have looked forward to a new one each day this past December. I’ll continue to look forward to reading your posts whenever you put up a new one!

    To start off 2011 on a good craft foot and to set the tone for the coming year I decided to devote the 1st day of the year to finishing a sewing project that had sat for a little too long. Yesterday I finished a simple baby baby quilt for my cousin who had a baby about 6 months ago. I figure the new family member can use a new quilt no matter how many months old he is. :-)

    2010 was a tough year for me craft-wise as I developed bilateral elbow tendonitis in 2009 (work-related) which tends to become aggravated with increased finger movement. I have put my knitting and crocheting on hiatus, which has been difficult. To satisfy my crafting and creating needs I took two rigid heddle loom classes and bought my own so I can continue to learn about weaving, which I enjoy nearly as much as knitting and crocheting. The warping is a bear, though. I hope that gets easier with time. I love to read about your weaving adventures as I am exploring this new-to-me craft. Right now I have a plain weave scarf on my loom. It’s a late Xmas or early b-day gift for my Mom.

    Anyway, I wish you and the other blog readers a kind and content 2011!

    Lisa

  46. InJuneau says:

    What a wonderful thing to remind of all to do, and I suspect the Deep Winter Fairy and the Batt Fairy may be sisters.

    What beautiful mittens for N.; he’s a lucky man (which we all knew anyway–he married you!).

  47. Jan says:

    Thanks for your blog posts. I’ve especially enjoyed seeing one each day and look forward (sadly) to three a week.

    I already own the DVD, and it’s been a great help, but enter my name anyway. Perhaps I can pass it along to someone else.

  48. Cocoonivus says:

    I don’t know where I’d be without my husband. I certainly wouldn’t be the me I am today – happy more often than not, confident in my creative skills, and surrounded by love.

    I like the Deep Winter Kindness idea. I’ve been unpacking from a move, too, and trying to decide what my crafting space is about. I’m struggling to fit everything into the room, while still leaving it easy to get to.

    Your thought that maybe your studio was more of a space to store your supplies than a space to work in was a revelation for me. I’ve been trying to make mine a work-in space, and, well, it just wasn’t working.

    Happy New Year, Sandi! Thanks for your ongoing expression of a crafter’s spirit!

  49. Donna says:

    Thanks so much for the daily blog posts, Sandi. What a treat! And 3x/week will be much appreciated as well. I haven’t done any spinning for many years, and one of my goals for 2011 is to get back into it. I have fiber on hand and would love to have the DVD for a refresher course…and then I can pass it on to someone else who wants to learn to spin. XOXOX

  50. Wendy says:

    Ooooo, pick me! Pick me! A video could be just the thing to get my long neglected spinning wheel back into commission.

  51. Laura says:

    I love your Deep Winter Fairy ideas. Even the name has the kind of peaceful serenity of a snowed countryside. You know, the kind where snow is the thing of romance, and not the annoyance of March. :)

    I’m grateful for many things from this past year. The most important to me is my family, and how supportive they’ve been through some major transitions. The biggest change in 2010, though, was getting my first post-grad-school job, and loving it. Keeping that job and (hopefully!) finishing my dissertation is what I’m looking forward to in 2011.

    Thanks for all your kindnesses in your writing, as you take time to share a bit of your day with us.

  52. Anastasia says:

    I’m greatful for the people around me who care and will look for ways to show them some Deep Winter Kindness this month (and all year)

    one of my goals has always been to learn to spin on a wheel (stemming from first hearing the story of Sleeping Beauty). This is a great way to start!

  53. Sharon says:

    I’m a stay-at-home pet Mum, living out in the country, so I don’t see many people. But I’m going to donate all my acrylic stash to a local group who knit blankets for the homeless and who have asked for acrylic yarn specifically. I may knit a blanket or two also. I have bags of toddler and children’s hats and mittens to donate to another charity in town.

    My local Deep Winter Fairy tends to do good things for wildlife. There are always seed heads left in the vegetable and flower gardens and often fallen fruit under the pear and apple trees, but adding to the food supply really helps the birds and small animals make it through the winter. The Fairy also makes sure that, when we have any snow, the top of the compost pile is shoveled or swept off, so insect-eating birds can forage. We are having an El Nina winter, so it’s colder than usual and we’ve had some snow already.

    On a personal level, I’ve been appreciating DH’s efforts as we weathered a truly rotten and disheartening December. He’s been wonderful at times! And really down at other times, but he always appreciates it when I tell him thank-you and that he’s doing a great job. I’ve resolved to say what I’m feeling more often. And in a good way, not the snide counter-productive stuff! :-)

    Finally, I’d like to thank you again for sharing so much with us and helping so many of us take an introspective look at our lives and ourselves. It’s been an interesting journey!

    Please, keep the cat and dog photos coming! Tim is just too cute. He reminds more and more of Dylan. Intelligent and curious cats are such a handful, but so much fun!

  54. Andrea Lawson says:

    Deep Winter Kindness is a wonderful idea! January can be so dreary, and after the bustle and stress of the holidays it’s so important to remind ourselves of all the quiet ways we can do something good.

    Now you’ve got me thinking about what I can do to make my world a little bit better!

  55. Jeanne says:

    What a good idea -Deep Winter Kindness! It wiill warm the heart and spirit as the wood stove warms the body. I’m going to teach a friend to knit with my yarn and needles – she is anxious about every aspect of her creative self, with no need for that anxiety. Perhaps she will gain confidence in herself to move forward.
    Winter blessings!

  56. morningstar says:

    I’m grateful last year is finally over! And I’ve been trying to learn to spin but seem to be missing some integral point, so I’d love to be considered for the DVD ~

  57. Cocoonivus says:

    Could have sworn I commented, but I guess not. Well, here I am! I’ve been taking inspiration from your efforts with your studio space and unpacking, since I’m going through some of the same myself.

    The realization that a studio could be more for craft storage, and not necessarily a space where you actually work, helped me a lot. My plans for my own studio space will work a lot better now that I accept I’m more likely to craft in any other room than there. :)

    Happy New Year!

  58. Jeanne says:

    I always start the New Year with reflections. How I can be better, what did I do the last year to help a friend. The Deep Winter Kindness fits in perfectly. I will knit at least one hat, pair of socks or scarf for charity each month – - Oh, would I love to learn to spin!

  59. Linda says:

    I have enjoyed your writing from the first entry you gave us for Knitting Daily. But now I can truly say that the most enjoyable entries have been in the last month. You are funny, endearing and irreverent, you love animals, and fibre arts of every kind. It has been fun to follow your journey to Canada and your support of local yarn shops, knitting guilds and craftpersons is wonderful.
    My warmest wishes for 2011!

  60. Wyldchai says:

    I love coming to your blog to read it, Sandi. I’m typing with my own stripey lapwarmer on my lap right now, and I can hear the Blonde TornadoDog playing in the other room. I love to spin, and that video would see very good use here.

    Deep Winter is a lovely time but definitely a time when Kindnesses can go a long way. I’m trying to be kinder to others and also to myself– that one is the very hardest of all. I’m working on it a bit at a time. Thank you for writing and sharing with all of us. A lot of the things you write about resonate with me and help me in my own life.

  61. Natalie says:

    I’m thinking I need the spinning video. I was bitten hard by the spinning bug in November (and I’m a little short on sleep right now because of it).

    And the deep winter kindness thing? That explains why I’m only now ready to send out a package to each of 3 friends. I was saving it up for this!

  62. Keena says:

    Yes, weave off the old blue warp for practice, re-thread also perhaps, that would be good practice too! I’ve made many stupid mistakes after not weaving for a while… Now to follow my own advice and put something simple on my loom, which has gotten dusty, very sad.

  63. Kate says:

    I usually hear “You have all the tender sweetness of a seasick crocodile” because it’s a bit more catchy. I think everybody needs a Deep Winter Fairy. What a sweet idea. My Kiwi friends need the fairy in July. Maybe the High Summer Fairy will visit them this year…

  64. Purl says:

    Happy New Year! I have been enjoying your posts very much–seems like we have much in common. I’ve joined Team Crafty too. I think I have “cast on more than I can knit” but I’ll give it a go….

  65. Amina says:

    Happy New Year, Sandy! I love reading your posts here and on Knitting Daily, too, it has been wonderful reading a new one every day, please keep it up. Thank you for the inspiration.

  66. mamatoboys says:

    I love your posts and I don’t know how I missed this one before today. Lovely! Yay for giveaways and yay for Deep Winter Fairies!

  67. CR says:

    I’m here in bed with a nasty case of possible strep throat and I would very much welcome a visit from the deep winter fairy! Thanks for the blog posts which always make me smile. And think successful thoughts for my hub who is applying for a job at Waterloo!

  68. Kitten With A Whiplash says:

    As much as I read your posts on Knitting Daily, how did I never find out about this blog? Got to go read a bit, but first, Thanks for the giveaway! Oh, please pass that part on to the Deep Winter Fairy.

  69. Sharon says:

    Sandi, I love the Deep Winter Kindness idea. I will start immediately, and think of them that way when I do them. Thanks for a lovely idea.

  70. Jen says:

    Awesome idea… everyone needs some kindness and warmth. I love the Deep Winter Fairy.
    I’ve enjoyed reading your posts on Knitting Daily, missed you when you moved and have found you again. Thanks for being there.

  71. Ohhh… I could use a little warming up right about now! So the Deep Winter Kindness sounds wonderful to me! I hope that the Winter Fairy is keeping warm tonight! I was also feeling generous today, so I posted a giveaway on my blog as well! http://www.cafecrochet.net

  72. Calendula says:

    Dear Sandy,
    I read your blog regularly – but I hesitated a lot to write a commentary because my English is not so good (my dear husband thinks it’s not too bad). I love your blog and your topics and I dream to start spinning quite for a while, maybe your giveaway could be the beginning?

  73. Caryn says:

    I always hear Cindy Lou Who in my head when I’m decorating the tree.
    I already spin, but am looking to expand my technique from just short forward draw! I really want to learn how to do the long draw.
    Happy holidays to you and yours-and please don’t be so hard on yourself. When expressing your creativity, it requires no explaination of where the time went.

  74. Carolyn says:

    Enjoy your blog. Would love to know how to spin. We’ve had a rough 2010 so we’re hopeful that 2011 will be better.

  75. Kathleen says:

    Best for the new year to all.

  76. Aleksandra says:

    Happy New Year Sandi!

    All the Best for you and Nicholas!

    Thank you for your blog. I have been reading it on KD and here and it makes my day better.

  77. Nancy N says:

    Thanks for the chance to win, I have always enjoyed your writing here and on Knitting Daily.

  78. Jane says:

    Thanks for your daily posts during December and into January. It’s made a difference in my holidays this year. Deep Winter Kindness: must find suitable kindnesses for several friends.

  79. Pat W says:

    Happy New Year, Sandy! I too love the idea of Deep Winter Kindness, and will be looking for opportunities to put it in action.

  80. ewesmama says:

    thanks, this cold weather makes me blue, stressful work and tight budget, like everyone else, your blog helps me remember there are good fibery things to help us through, thanks again,ewesmama

  81. Tina M. says:

    My first and only SOAR was in 2008, and despite the fact that I had been spinning for a few years already, I knew that I wanted my intensive to be with Maggie. I am primarily self-taught, and I knew that I would learn so much from an esteemed teacher like her. I wasn’t wrong, and I’ve never regretted not taking some of the more advanced (or seemingly sexier) intensives offered. Spinning 101 with Maggie was a fantastic journey, on that I consider myself truly lucky to have taken.

    Sorry that it took me so long to stop lurking, but the carrot totally lured me in! I’m going to make it a point to comment more often. Your posts are thoughtful, intelligent, and though I’ve only met you a couple of times in person (Tsocks, Rhinebeck ’09, ’10) your blog makes you that much more “real” on a personal vs. celebrity level. Keep up the awesomeness.

Leave a Reply

