aliens and giveaways and crafting, oh my


I kind of like that. Maybe it ought to be my blog subtitle.

Proof That Aliens Live Amongst Us

This is Zoe. She’s in a bag.

Half an hour later, still in the bag.

Even more later…in the bag.

For the better part of an hour, Zoe was in that bag.

The only rational conclusion one can draw from this behaviour is: She’s an alien. For surely, no ordinary Earth being would think sitting in a paper bag was something cool to do.

I think we’ve all suspected that cats are aliens for quite some time now. I’m glad to be able to provide the above as solid evidence in proof of this theory.

Maybe Zoe thought the bag was a Cat TARDIS. Maybe it’s her way of saying GET ME OUT OF HERE THE CAT FOOD SUCKS.

And yet more evidence…

This comment came yesterday from Astrid:

The three dimensional thinking involved in designing the Baby Surprise Jacket is nothing short of uncanny. I think EZ was a benevolent alien, sent to keep us warm and busy.

See? MORE ALIENS. (And we know from her writing that EZ loved cats. There you go.)

Oh, to be extravagantly gentle

Gerri left a comment saying that a friend encourages her to “be extravagantly gentle with yourself.” I like that. It’s a tough one to put into practice, however.

Like…right now. It’s 6:30 PM, and I’ve been on my feet for the last couple of hours, cooking dinner. As many of you know, I don’t cook. Part of that is insecurity in the kitchen, part of that is my understandable trepidation when faced with the eleven different kinds of flour and the five different types of cinnamon and the three types of paprika which exist in Sir Nicholas’ kitchen. And part of it is just plain common sense: Nicholas’ cooking is excellent, nutritious, and really tasty; my cooking is always a crapshoot. When hungry people are involved, it makes sense to go with Nicholas’s Sure Tasty Thing style of cooking rather than my Well It Sounded Good When I Saw the Recipe Online style.

But days like today, I cook. Today involved a tow truck, and a man with grease under his fingernails, and apparently, it also involves Nicholas having to spend the night at Canadian Tire whilst the car is being repaired…because he’s not home yet. (Final edits: It’s now 7:05 PM. Still not home. Poor kid.)

When he finally gets home, it would be totally rude of me to expect him to cook. Thus, I made squash soup, a process which took waaaaayyyyy longer than I thought it would, resulted in a kitchen that looks like it was decimated by a bomb, and a pot of surprisingly delicious squash/potato/rice soup.

Anyway, being extravagantly gentle. Right. It’s 6:36 PM now, and I feel like this blog entry isn’t what I wanted it to be. I’ve had about a week of sleepless nights, a chaotic day filled with surprises, Huzbeast is due home Any Time Now (at least, I hope he is), and I realize I just don’t have it in me to come up with The Perfect Blog Entry.

So I am going to practice some gentleness here, and give myself a break.

Giveaway!

Don’t forget to get your name in for the giveaway of a Start Spinning DVD! Follow the link for details. (You have to leave a comment on THAT entry, the January 1st entry, to enter, not on this one, just to be clear.) Tomorrow, Wednesday, is the last day to enter.

Next week: I have another DVD to give away…oh yeah baby.

Today’s Random Good

Meet Tonto, a seeing-eye horse for the blind. Yes, he’s full-grown.

And just because they were in the same article…here are two miniature piglets.

I totally would have a cuppa with those two little dudes anytime.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. UFO wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 3 cats, 1 dog, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to aliens and giveaways and crafting, oh my

  1. gerri newfry says:

    i think you did a great job with the gentle.

  2. InJuneau says:

    Good gentle, and ZOMG those pigs are teh cutez!

  3. molly says:

    what a wonderful turn of phrase – ‘extravagantly gentle’ and what a marvelous concept – ‘being extravagantly gentle with yourself’.
    what a difficult thing to do! but practice makes perfect…

  4. georg says:

    Today has been completely unproductive in terms of Getting Things Done, but has been full of joy. I am happy for the moment, and have been giggling all day.

  5. Karen says:

    Love the cat in the bag…..Makes you wonder what is he thinking? or it may be better not to know! Your soup sounds really good.

  6. Lisa says:

    And here I thought all this time that “letting the cat out of the bag” meant that the cat would actually be TRYING to get out of the bag.

    And I really really really want a micro-pig. In the worst way.

  7. JJ says:

    I think I have mentioned before that I start off with my feline dentistry lecture with, “Cats are aliens”. Remember, I am a trained professional!

    I remember hearing about miniature horses being trained as guide, er, horses, but I have never actually seen any evidence that it’s true! It makes sense since horses live longer, but I still don’t know that I would want one living in my home!

    Piglets are so cute!

    Car stuff sucks.

    Good for you, taking it a little easier on yourself.

  8. cici says:

    great post, my cat loves to hangout in bags also‚ô•

  9. naomi says:

    Those piglets are adorable. And yay for squash soup. And maybe Zoe’s trying to ask for tasty food from TJ’s? Mel, though he still won’t eat any of it, gets especially interested when I have sushi (from there)…

  10. morningstar says:

    A 9-year-old niece wanted a “teacup pig” for Christmas. It is a flocked (that fuzzy coating stuff) hard-plastic animal that responds to sound vibrations by speaking, squealing, and grunting. It comes packaged in an oversized teacup. Your photo reminded me of her joy when she opened the package ~

    Be kind to yourself! I’m sure w’d all much rather you pamper yourself a bit on “off” days than struggle to come up with a blog post, much as we enjoy them.

  11. Pat says:

    Keep being nice to you! I like extravagantly gentle. I usually tell folks; “give yourself the break that you would give someone else” because my friends (and I) are most often harder on themselves than on anyone else they know.
    I (imagine that in caps)LOVED the blog and applaud the fact that you wrote it. Your cat is clearly insane and can you housebreak a horse? or do seeing eye horses poop anywhere like regular horses? and do you put blinders on seeing eye horses, like they do on big horses to keep them from being spooked? tiny pigs?? sort of creepy. I would be afraid to put them on the floor. Someone might step on them.

    • JJ says:

      Actually, you can housebreak a horse. Many horses will pick a spot in their stalls to, ahem, use. It’s possible to encourage them to do so! You can also put those little bag things under their tails to collect poop when they are out and about, like carriage horses in cities.

  12. Kate says:

    Well, if Zoe’s going to camp out in a bag, at least she has the good sense to camp in a Trader Joes bag.

Leave a Reply

