well, THAT was interesting


Nicholas gets to say “I told you so.” He told me that I ought to pay attention to the little noises my laptop was making. He told me that I ought to be more concerned that one corner of my laptop was too hot to touch whilst it was running. And he told me that I ought to transfer my basic workaday files over to our older smaller Macbook so that we could take my laptop in for repairs.

But where would the fun be in listening to good advice? I was busy, I said. I had patterns to work on and tech-editing to do and blog entries to write. Eventually, the older smaller Mac went to one of his students, and soon after that, right on schedule in fact, my laptop died.

Of course, we don’t have a spare computer for me to use while mine is in being repaired. Thank goodness, all the files are backed up; no worries there. But: No computer for Sandi. Nicholas uses his own laptop for extensive academic Serious Work with data analyses and open programs neatly layered all over his big screen. He’s been lovely about offering to share, but his work is really intense right now, and frankly, my entire life is lived online (except for laundry, haven’t figured out how to do that on the computer yet). Sharing a computer wasn’t practical. Me going without a computer for the time it takes to repair the Mac wasn’t practical either.

See Sandi get twitchy from lack of blogging. See Sandi get strange muscle tics from lack of Ravelry. See Sandi break down and sob without access to Google. Poor Sandi.

We did what any sensible wired-in couple living La Vida Googla would do: We bought an iPad.

It’s taken me a couple of days to figure out the interface and realize that I can actually do my blogging and writing and so forth on this little gizmo, with the right set-up and apps. I’m slowly working out how to wrangle my photos, and get them from my camera to the blog, and how to handle knitting patterns on the iPad (WOW! Love this!), and all the usual email and Twitter and Flickr stuff.

However, I clearly haven’t quite figured out all the formatting yet. Sorry for the appearance of this entry. Boooooo.

Plus, it’s AWESOME for watching videos and looking at magazines and books with pictures in them. (I downloaded Winnie the Pooh, just for fun. Look, Ma! I’m reading Winnie the Pooh on the COMPUTER!) Super-geek cool: You can turn the pages, and they turn! I played with the page-turning for a bit, amusing myself by virtually “folding” the page back a bit at a time…and it worked, showing you exactly what a real page would show you if it was folded the same way. Fascinating.

OK, I’m done geeking for now. Onwards.

I’ve been swatching.

As you can see, I’ve been playing with swatches for thePrayer Flag Project. Mitered garter squares are the obvious choice, but because I live in a cave (apparently) I didn’t know that mitered garter stitch blankets and scarves and tea cozies are The New Hotness (right after silk muwata mittens a la Ms. Harlot), and I’m one of those people who doesn’t like to knit what all the other kids are knitting.


Thus, I experimented a little with other shapes. I realized that I love the look of stockinette; to my eye, it seems to show off the yarn better than garter stitch. Garter stitch has all these valleys of shadow and mountains of highlighted colour; these add another layer of visual interest to the yarn itself.

Since the yarn I’ll be working with will be handspun (YOUR handspun, for the most part), I really, really want the yarn to be the star of each shape. I also experimented with needle sizes and generally found all sorts of ways to knit small things with a small amount of yarn.

It’s been waaaaay fun.

The cats have been hard at work assisting me with the housework and the chores. Ahem. As you can see:

Random Goods & Sillies

Klepto-kitty. His owners were suspicious when strange objects (shoes, other people’s laundry) started showing up in their backyard; a local reporter put a video camera outside their house and guess what? Caught in the act.

Happy dogs running on a beach. ‘Nuff said.

Remember this guy?

alien

There’s a pattern for him now, courtesy of his designer, Marnie MacLean. (Oh, and his name is Dweezil. Of course it is. What did you expect his name to be, Bill?)

Oh, and thanks to Tim for sneaking in and posting an update to the blog while I was busy figuring out how to cut and paste on the new iPad. Now all I have to do is keep the credit cards away from him so he doesn’t order a truckload of tuna online.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. UFO wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 3 cats, 1 dog, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life.
This entry was posted in Prayer Flag Project and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to well, THAT was interesting

  1. Marnie’s dogs are the best, after mine of course. I keep looking at toys like Ipads. Just haven’t figured out how to convince hub it is a necessity! You just helped!

  2. Karen says:

    I see a Dweezil in my future, maybe 3 or 4….

  3. melanie says:

    I agree: stockinette shows off the yarn without the nooks-and-crannies distraction of garter. I can’t wait to see what shape the flags will become!

  4. Laura says:

    I love the fun shapes of the swatches!
    Hope you have fun getting to know your iPad too. My friend showed me hers when we were out to dinner on Friday. I might’ve drooled a bit (though that could’ve been due to the fantastic gyoza, too…)

  5. Jerri says:

    Sounds like you like your iPad as much as I like mine. I’ve been following you on it for a couple of months now. The pictures are great. I do like the stockinette flags too.

  6. molly says:

    given access to my credit card, my kittikidz wouldn’t order in truckloads of tuna – praps chicken and liver….
    welcome back!

  7. Sandy says:

    Boo to the ‘puter but yay! to the iPad. Bob and I got one before Christmas, but then I learned that we really spell “we” as “Bob” as to who really got it.

    Thanks for the giggles and the inspiration/motivation to keep on with my projects!

  8. Jennigma says:

    With the swatches, what if you work one side of the increase/decrease line in purl, and the other in knit? That way they’re reversible. Or use a 1×1 rib, so it won’t curl.

    swatch swatch swatch!! :-)

  9. Seanna Lea says:

    It is really hard to keep away from the iPad love when I see everybody really loving their iPads so much. I bought the iPod touch near the beginning of the year, which is sort of like an iPad light and it is super handy but still not the same thing.

Leave a Reply

