famous mittens and a year older


I woke up to find that I’d made it to the Yarn Harlot’s blog ON MY BIRTHDAY.

Or rather, my mittens did. (Nice birthday present, Steph.)

Spring Mittens: Back of hand

Spring Mittens: Palm of hand

The pattern is Spring Has Sprung Mittens, and if you want a kit, the kit is available at Holiday Yarns. If you just want the pattern, then it’s up on Ravelry.

Also: Right here.

$6.oo USD

Three sizes, each with a separate chart, different design options, Latvian braid (easy), and picot hem.

I am tickled.

Other Birthday News

I had a great birthday yesterday. The day started and ended with friends, with some time in the city in between, plus a manicure. I ate a TON of sushi at dinner, followed by a little cake at our house afterwards.

And when I say “a little cake,” I mean a LOT of cake. Nicholas baked BOTH a chocolate pound cake AND a horde of lemon-raspberry cupcakes.

I am so ambivalent about birthdays these days. I love them, because who doesn’t love being the center of attention for one day, getting all sorts of nice notes and calls from family and friends, having cake, and opening envelopes and packages?

On the other hand…I’m older, gagnabit. The gap between how old I feel and how old I am is getting wider every year. I feel as though I am the same age as my husband’s graduate students, but to them, I’m ancient.

my favourite gift paper

So far, I haven’t let a little thing like age stand in my way. How can I, when Nicholas is twelve years younger? I have to keep up with the whippersnapper.

Reeling them in

My drumcarder has been sitting in the middle of the living room for the past few weeks, as I’ve been working on several carding projects. One of the birthday cake guests kept eyeing it curiously, so I grabbed a handful of fluff and turned the handle a few times, then showed her one of my fluffy batts. She shook her head, put up her hand, and said, “Oh, no. Don’t show me that, that looks too interesting. I don’t want to see it, because I might want to make something like that.”

Don’t say I didn’t warn you…

Heh. That’s exactly the point, my friend. Congratulations, you have now been inoculated with your first dose of the fibre drug.

Chispas

The window washers for a children’s hospital cheer up the kids.

This person carves books. Pages of books, actually. Stunning.

Shocking. The people making these decisions ought to be sentenced to economy coach for the rest of their lives. Right near the washrooms.

As for the other side of humanity that is able to feel love and respect, this gentleman’s quiet tribute to his dead wife is touching beyond words.

And in the cute animal plus hot bod category…a fireman and a kitten. I’m calling this guy next time I smell smoke.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. UFO wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 3 cats, 1 dog, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to famous mittens and a year older

  1. Tamara says:

    Happy Birthday!!! That Nicholas is 12 years younger gives me hope for my love life!

    Also, must have chocolate pound cake recipe….

  2. Holly says:

    Happy (belated) Birthday. I think I need a Margarita ;-)

  3. Happy Belated Birthday! You’re not a year older, you’re 366 days more FABYOOO-TASTIK-ERFUL I will be celebrating my Diamond Birthday on the 23rd – born 1956, turning 56.

  4. Tamara says:

    Oh yes, and thank you for the video–besides the gorgeous hunk, the kitten IN THE BERET was too cute for words.

  5. Purlista says:

    Happy Birthday Sandi!! I can’t imagine a better birthday gift than Nicholas making yummy cakes for you and friends.

  6. Nancy says:

    Oh darn; Happy Belated Birthday – hope it’s a wonderful year!

  7. Pat says:

    Hi Sandi, Happy belated birthday! Isn’t it fun to introduce someone to the “fiber addiction”? Hope you had a wonderful day. Chocolate pound cake – hmmmm – sound absolutely yummy. Nicholas definitely is a keeper. Take care! Pat aka westies

  8. Arla says:

    Happy belated birthday!!! I am chuckling to myself wondering how many of us are going to be writing down your birthdate…
    You are not alone in being older than your hubby…I am, and I’m sure that there are many other women out there like us!!! And our men are the men meant for us!!!
    And there is absolutely nothing more delightful than playing with fibres…whether carding them, spinning them or just crafting with them…whether knitting, crocheting, or weaving…fibres are definitely fabulous and fibrelicious!!!
    Blessings!!!

  9. Seanna Lea says:

    Those cakes look awesome. I make my own cake each year, because then I can try whatever I want but now I wish I had made a chocolate pound cake in a bundt pan with the richest thickest dark chocolate ganache!

    (oh and kittens)

Leave a Reply

