oh that wacky stitch blogger


(the girl doesn’t write for WEEKS, and suddenly you get two posts in one day. What can I say? Life’s weird, so get on board and let’s go!)

Let’s start with my earlier post

I didn’t actually mean to post that as a regular, mail-out-to everyone, post. I was making a page for some friends so they could vote on a quilt design I’m working on. I just clicked the wrong box, and voilá, now y’all can get it right in your own email inbox!

So, clearly, the circle has widened, and all of you now get to have a peek into my quilty life.

It was a little cryptic, I admit. What were you supposed to do, guess what I was trying to blog about? I am sorry for sending out a pretty, but inexplicable, post.

So, here’s some explicable for you:

7 x 7 grid, 2" sashing, border

7 x 7 grid, 2″ sashing, border

This is a computer mock-up of one of the layouts for the Quilt of a Hundred-Plus Fabrics. This quilt been my winter give-me-colour-or-give-me-chocolate project, and I’m at the point where I have 50+ nine-patches sewn together out of various batik fabrics; I have also set each square into a “Window Frame” so that when the quilt is done, each square will look like it is being displayed in a little window.

rose orange 5 greenblue 4

As far as I know, no two squares are exactly alike.

blue 5 purple 4

There are however, about twenty pairs that mirror each other in reverse:

5 green 4 pink

4 of the pink, 5 of the green…

mirror of green pink

…and 4 of the green, 5 of the pink!

I knew I wanted to put these lovely colourful gems into the Attic Windows framesets, so they would look like little works of art. But I thought that laying them all out together, with only a narrow sashing in-between the columns and rows, would be a rather interesting LSD experience. (I was very, very careful to type those three letters in the correct order. I am sure there are plenty of interesting experiences to be had in the Church of Latter Day Saints, but it’s not quite the same thing, now, is it?)

However, my mind started to boggle the more I looked at Google Images’ results for Attic Window Quilts, and I realized I needed to sit down with my trusty Excel and spend a few zillion hours I didn’t have making mockups so I could more easily see what was what.

After that, I got even more boggled, and asked for help. Hence the Seven Layouts post, and hence the fun little poll.

5 red 4 bluepink

I PROMISE I WILL TALK ABOUT KNITTING NEXT POST. I PROMISE.

Till then, a few goodies to help pass those tiresome winter ice storms….

Chispas

❤  So, you’re a bored cook, wondering what’s for dinner…but your stove is broken, the oven has exploded tuna surprise all over the inside, and you don’t own a microwave due to the risk of alien rays getting into your food. What’s a gourmand to do?

❤  In the spirit of the upcoming Olympics, I offer you this insight into the dating habits of some of Russia’s more creative blogger folk.

❤  What a good dog!

kitten bed

❤  What a naughty kitty!

iput a dead mouse in moms mouth

❤  Is this really the most relaxing tune ever recorded? Some scientists think so.

❤  Finally, the obligatory baby animal Chispa: Baby Alpacas in Sweaters, Story, Photos and a Slideshow

Take care everyone…and remember, the next post is about KNITTING I PROMISE. And maybe spinning. And possibly quilting. And probably any other nugget of non-boring information that I can pull out of the internet’s hat.

♡ Sandi

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. UFO wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 3 cats, 1 dog, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to oh that wacky stitch blogger

  1. sbsford says:

    Oh Sandi, I knew what that post was about the minute I saw ” poll!” And I obediently and immediately cast my vote.

    I Love your blog. And I’m all in favour of variety. Unless of course you are legally required to write about knitting. Then I’m all in favor of that. :-) Yes.

    Susan Ford

    • sandi says:

      GAH. If I were legally required to write about knitting, I’d have been thrown in the Big House years ago. I’m freelance now, so I write pretty much whatever pops into my little dazed head…provided it is family-friendly, of course. (My mother reads this blog sometimes. You understand.)

      Thank you so much for your kind words! And, of course, your vote. :)
      Sandi

  2. Wandalea says:

    Did your cat do that to you??? OMG!

  3. Karen says:

    Welcome to the world of quilting! So now you have to stashes to dive into — wool and fabric.

    Enjoy.

  4. Marilyn Nance says:

    I knit and have started quilting–love to read about both!!! You could also include photography and F1 racing if you wanted.

  5. molly says:

    thank heavens i’m not the only one to hit the wrong button from time to time! and quilting and knitting are complimentary – not mutually exclusive. and there is always that lovely benefit of two stashes! love the alpacas in sweaters, but especially the dog and cat!
    cheers
    molly

  6. EagleKnits says:

    I’m a knitter who also quilts, so I enjoyed the post. It was fun looking at the layouts and choosing one to vote for! You’ll have to show us the finished top!

  7. Sue in Maryland says:

    Hi Sandi! When I started to get into quilting, there were no computer spreadsheets! I used to draw blocks I saw in books and magazines by hand on graph paper and shade them in pencil. I don’t think I ever actually made any of them! Thank goodness now there is software like EQ7. I don’t do fancy designing with it like many people, but it’s worth its weight in gold to me to be able to try out different color schemes and block layouts with a few mouse clicks.
    I first found you some years back via your posts for Knitting Daily. I’m so glad I decided to look you up again recently. You are so sweet, I’ll read your posts no matter what you write about!
    Have a wonderful day!

  8. Deb says:

    Loved your quilting blog. I’m a knitter, but I love to look at quilts. Someday you may even tempt me further than just looking. Keep getting confused – I love it.
    Deb

  9. Tamara says:

    Sandi! I’ve been missing your posts since October [insert the most extremely sad emoticon you can find HERE]. I just signed up to follow via email again, but I’m not getting a confirmation email. I’m worried….

    I’ll also sign up via gmail; perhaps that will work better? I would hate to miss your words and pics. ;-)

    Tamara

    P.S. I just found you’re going to be a teacher at a retreat in Syracuse on the weekend of my daughter’s birthday. I just today left her at SUNY Binghamton (1 hour south of Syracuse) to re-commence her college career. So I thought I’d shlep my unfinished inset sleeve sweater(s) to your workshop to get help with the “I love to knit but I’m terrified of finishing” syndrome I seem to have, and also see my daughter in the process. Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

