the taste of chocolate soap


Now, just hold yer horses, there. I am not so crunchy-granola as to believe that everything that says “natural ingredients” ought to be safe enough for a baby on a paleoveganGF diet to eat, uh, ingest via IV, and to do so without any consequences.

Thus, when I say, “the taste of chocolate soap”, I am not approaching the matter in the role of a food critic, nor as a “foodie”; I am simply going to comment on The Taste of Chocolate Soap.

Therefore, if any of you decide that my comments are an inspiration to Go Forth And Eat Soap, you are on your own.

Let us begin with the soap in question:

chocolate-buttercream

The above image was shamelessly ganked from goodiesunlimited.com, the website of the The Queen of Soap, AubreyK. (Sorry to steal from you Aubrey, but hang on a moment, ‘kay?)

In the original version of this post, I called her “The One True Soapmaker.” That was fine…until I went into my soap supply and discovered wonderful things from all my other beloved One True Soapmakers.

So, in the interests of Fairness, later I shall tell you about some of the other Master Soapmakers to the Wiseheart Family. I’m thrilled to find new potential Master SoapMakers to the WF, especially unique and interesting Makers…one can never, ever have enough Master Amazing SoapMakers.

After all, we know from the movies that having a single Lord of the Soaps is a bad idea.

Back to Aubrey’s Goodies!

Anyway. This morning, in the shower, I was happily washing my kindly, youthful visage (an imagination is a beautiful thing) with a hand-crocheted washie thing and a bar of Chocolate Butter Crème Soap. The scent is light, not perfume-y, basically the same as if you are waving a bar of baking chocolate in front of your nose. Wreathed in steamy chocolate smells, I go to rinse my face–and for some dumb reason, I open my mouth. Not just a little, mind you, but the OPEN WIDE FOR DENTIST PLIERHEART sort of open.

A flood of bubbles (naturally) rushes onto my tongue, and tries to go down my throat. Coughing ensues. Amidst the coughing and hacking, I notice that THERE IS YUMMY CHOCOLATE IN MY MOUTH. I don’t know about you, but yummy-chocolate-in-my-mouth is one of my favourite sensations.

However.

This chocolate sensation was accompanied with a lavish dollop of  Flavour-of-Soapy Ingredients. The effect was not quite as much fun as I had thought it might be at the very first taste of Bubbly Chocolate.

In fact, it tasted like…well, it tasted like soap. With a glissando of chocolate butter crème, sure; but still: SOAP.

There really is no point to this story other than to share with you the results of my unusual foray into the culinary side of cleanliness.

Dilemma

So here’s the deal: I have to order some things from Aubrey today (lotion bars, laundry soap, probably more soap and lip balm because I want to smell good and have soft lips for the Zombie Apocalypse). Along with the three E-Tomic bars, three Everything Balms, and three Lavender Lip Balms already in my possession, I mean.

I don’t actually NEED any more soap. My current stock ought to last at least until the snow melts up here:

  • Silken Lilac (with real silk!) ~ 2 bars
  • Creme Rose (with real dairy cream!)~ 2 bars
  • Lavender Lemon ~ 2 bars
  • Lady’s Clay ~ 1 bar (looking kind of scraggly because shampoo leaked onto it in the closet)
  • Rosemary Lemon Silk (more real silk!) ~ 1 bar

However….the Giveaway Llama made a big fuss this morning about how I never buy soaps for her stock, and that she never gets to give away soaply wonders to her readers. (Get that. HER readers. Sure thing.) Rather than listen to Llama Winges all week long, I am giving in and ordering a few for giveaways to y’all nice folks.

Trouble is: I don’t know what you like.

How about this? Go on over to Aubrey’s Goodies Unlimited  shop, and have a stroll through her wares. While you’re there, pick one or two or three things you think would make nice giveaways. Pick the scents that make you drool (they don’t last long after the shower, they are VERY LIGHT, not perfumey, and they don’t even bother me, just so you know).

Pick them out, BUT DON’T BUY THEM, unless of course, you want All The Things, and you want to have them NOW, and are worried your name will never be drawn for the giveaway.

Make a list; send it to me or leave it in the comments below.

Isn’t it fun to “shop” for Her Llamaness? :)

Another Finished Object

January’s FO was my Hiro, of which I am a wee bit proud.

February’s FO is lucky to exist at all, given the month we’ve had around here: In The Woods Cuffletts, reconstructed out of my Denmark-in-the-Woods Socks that finally became too holey and had to go to Sock Heaven. (My tutorial for how to resurrect holey socks is on my tutorials page.)

You will notice the lack of photos in this post. My beloved camera has bit the dust, and it is almost as much to repair it as it is to buy a new one. I haz a Sad.

So, once again, I ask you to draw upon your powers of Imagination. (Carpity iPhone photos to come.)

Soaply Sidebar

I am completely aware that there exists a metric passle of awesome soapmakers whose work I have not yet been privileged to try. This post is not a diss on any of you Fine Makers; it is simply that you and I have not been introduced yet.

Amongst the Master Makers whose work I have been introduced to,  there is another Stand-Out-Star-in-the-Field: West Elm Farm. Pat and John make a line of lanolin and goat’s milk soaps (using lanolin from their own Icelandic flock) in several light scents, plus unscented. One thing that Sappy Me likes best about Pat-and-John’s soaps is that they are cast with a beautiful custom raised imprint featuring elm trees and Icelandic sheep. (Awwwww…)

They also make Truly Wonderful candles: pure beeswax, cast in charming molds of their own design (house with tree, sheep, and hearts–I am such a sucker), with natural scents like amber rose and orange clove (plus unscented), not one of them perfumey or strong.

And last but not least is Betty’s Balm For Working Hands. Betty is a sheep, and she contributes personally to each tin of the lovely soothing stuff. Betty Is Awesome. (Also on offer: roving and fleeces from their Icelandic flock; plus lamb and rabbit meat in all sorts of nifty-to-meat-eaters sorts of cuts.)

I’m starting to sound like a Natural Products Commercial. Yikes.

I am not being paid to do this; nor do I work for these folks. I’m doing it because, well, “the taste of chocolate soap” was just too good a blog post title to pass up.

The Chispas are in the Meditation Pond and will show up next time.

(I wanted to see if I could write a post in under 90 minutes…and I did it! Whoo!)

 

Love and Llama kisses,
Sandi and Her Llamaness

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. UFO wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 3 cats, 1 dog, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to the taste of chocolate soap

  1. molly says:

    morning sandi! having veryvery dry skin, i would have to suggest the cocoa butter soap and the creme rose soaps – besides, the scent of tea roses is one of the most summer-evocative aromas there is! (summer is going to come sometime, right?)
    cheers
    molly

  2. InJuneau says:

    Oh, I LOVE everything I’ve gotten from Aubrey. I esp. like the Citrus Citrus, Clove Orange, and Rosemary Lemon Silk soaps. And of course the Chocolate Butter Cream; who wouldn’t like that?

  3. Molly says:

    Eucalyptus Tea Tree and Clove Orange sound amazing! And anything rose is always high on my list. You look absolutely fab in your Hiro, Sandi! Congrats on that finish. Must admit, I’m tempted to take that one up as well, but only since it looks so good on you. And maybe it has something to do with the kitty-love as well!

  4. EagleKnits says:

    Hi Sandi,
    Clove Orange, Citrus Citrus, Creme Rose, and DoubleMint Wake Up would be my choices. I was surprised to see that Aubrey is based in Edmond, OK — that’s just a couple of hours south of where I live!

  5. Donna says:

    Silken Lilac, Clove Orange, Doublemint! Those are my favorites. Now the chocolate you have does sound interesting! I will get some in my next order!

  6. mytinkertots says:

    Oh. My. Bob. I love Aubrey’s soaps. I’m on the last sliver over some Lavender Fields at this very moment. I’m a sucker for Almond Creme and that chocolate sounds good (but I’m always afraid of soap that smells good enough to eat).

  7. Patty says:

    I have the Everything Balm, but never even looked at the soaps. Oh my. After your post, I have to try the Chocolate Buttercream, but also the Almond Creme and the Oatmeal, Cream and Honey. I will definitely add soap to my next order.

  8. Karen says:

    I will defintley have to try that everything balm. For soaps, I love the bay rummy and the lemongrass poppyseed. Yum Yum

  9. Holly >j says:

    Good morning to you, hope that the sun is shining where you are. Oh glorious sun!! You looked lovely in your new “Hiro” sweater, well done. Ooh I like the sound of Lavendar & Lemon. Have a great day.

  10. Tamara says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day Sandi! The Hiro is a hero (sorry), and gorgeous. The adventure of the chocolate soap sounds exactly as I imagined it might! And I’m sooooo sorry about your camera–that does, in absolute fact, suck.

    To all the other faves, I would like to add the Skin Soother. My daughter came back from a stressful year at college with painful acne, and she’s been cleansing with baking soda and using tea tree oil products, and this might make her sink area a little less messy! ;-)

    P.S. I’ll see you in Syracuse in April!

  11. Lori Berndt says:

    Beautiful sweater, Sandi. Happy Valentine’s Day, too. Orange clove, rose, and lavender lemon soaps sound lovely. I know for a fact that chocolate soap smells divine. I have shamelessly tasted my chocolate body scrub. It does taste like chocolate…with strong overtones of soap. Bleh. It is interesting to note that, as much as I love the smells of handcrafted soaps, they don’t like me. On me, they smell like cat pee. It is very sad.

  12. elaine says:

    What a fun post Sandi! Who doesn’t love fine soaps, and a plus if they are scented
    chocolate, rose or lavender! Thanks for the ‘leads’ to new soap makers and other good things :-)

  13. JoanH says:

    So the Oatmeal cream & honey sounds yummy, the buttercream chocolate of course. I love all things “Shea” so Sheas all that, the stress free green tea sounds delightful, the bay rummy sounds yummy too!! I love soaps. And I buy them to send for soldiers boxes. Thanks for the info! Fun post as always!

  14. Sarah says:

    Mmm you had me at chocolate butter crėme. Nom. I have and love the almond creme soap and the choc lip balm. This can only be amazing.

  15. Aubrey says:

    Awwwwwwww…….. Just Awwwwwwwwwww…

    All Love. (And the chocolate lip balm has real good dark chocolate in it – some of my eating stash goes in there!) My personal favorite soap is the Rosemary Lemon Silk.

    Thank you, everyone – and DON’T eat the SOAP!

  16. Rachel says:

    I like the Bay Rummy & Deer John (bought this one 2-3 times). Also the Rosemary lemon silk. I have the citrus ones stashed in my dresser waiting their turn in the shower.

  17. Vicki says:

    Only 8 bars of soap…my…… I think I have 15 bars of soap. A friend of mine buys lots of soap as well and sometimes I take my soap and she brings her soap and we smell the soap! Anything with lavender, citrus, rosemary, spice. Rose soaps…not so much. Don’t know why but my nose says ewww in a soap while I love the smell of a real rose. So yes, I understand having enough soap. Sometimes I do good and go on a “soap diet” but then fall off the wagon and buy more.

Leave a Reply

