I made sock yarn!


Some blog posts are deeply moving meditations on the stuff that life is made of.

Some blog posts are wild rides on the dancing funny bones of their author.

Some blog posts are entrancing glimpses into everyday adventures.

And some blog posts are made of swagger and boast, proud pirates of your valuable time and attention.

This post is all pirate strut, peeps. Feast your eyes:

spunky-twilight-skein

THAT, my friends, is sock yarn. (Note clever placement of Canadian dime to show scale.)

And not just any sock yarn: MY sock yarn. As in, sock yarn made by me, spun by hand. Sock yarn that started out as lowly sheep fluff and has now reached its full potential in the fiber pantheon by becoming Sandi’s Sock Yarn.

There it is. Need a close-up? Sure you do.

spunky-twilight-close

Three plies of 100% Spunky Batt Merino heaven, colorway Twilight, spun with the two grimy stubbular little mitts belonging to Yours Truly. (Geeky spec bits are here.)

The yarn started out as this:

spunky-twilight

Became this:

spunky-twilight-bobbins

And then grew up to become the skein you see above.

All swagger aside, it’s not a perfect skein of sock yarn. Sock yarn is nortoriously elusive, especially for those of us with less-than-Abby spinning skills. You gotta spin thin, and you gotta spin consistent, and you gotta spin a LOT–the average Sandi-Sized Sock takes about 200+ish yards of yarn–that’s for ONE sock. Three plies means 200 times 3 = 600 yards O’ Spinnin’ for each sock. (Plus plying, but who’s counting.)

But I don’t care that it’s not perfect, cuz it’s MINE and it’s purty and I did it.

The only teensy weensy thing that is worrying me is….

That’s only the first skein–ONE HALF the spinning that’s gotta be done. Want two sockies? Gotta spin both halves of the fiber, my pretties. Way the world worketh.

I didn’t time myself spinning the first three plies, but plying them took about 3 hours (am slow). If I didn’t do any other crafty things (ha ha, seventh sign of the apocalypse: Sandi Does Only One Crafty Thing At A Time) then I could probably have the three additional plies ready to ply by Saturday.

But let’s get real here. Am me. Thus, lucky to have ONE ply done by Saturday.

There’s geeky stuff here, like I said–twists per inch and drafting method and all that, if you are so inclined.

But for now: I’m insanely proud of myself. I set a goal in Maggie’s class last year that I wanted to learn enough about spinning so I could spin my own sock yarn…and now I DID IT!! I remember thinking back then that I would never be able to do this, that I was setting myself a truly laughable goal.

One year later, my pretties: Sock yarn.

Don’t ever give up on your dreams.

Images-1

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Spinning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

