a weekend in the life


Funny how folks always ask you what you did over the weekend. Sometimes I wonder if we are all trying to get ideas for our own lives NEXT weekend…

So here’s my weekend, condensed for your reading and viewing pleasure:

Abby Batt, spun as single

Abby Batt, spun as single

Spun some singles on my handspindle from a bit of AbbyBatt (silk, merino, glitter), then plied it with another single done previously (if you look closely, you can see the twists), skeined, washed, and dried:

Plied and Niddy-Noddied

Plied and Niddy-Noddied

(Spec page is here.)

Knit a leaf that turned into a space flower due to gauge and tension issues:

Interesting!

Interesting!

Put space flower on Zoe’s head:

Zoe does not think the spaceflower is interesting

Zoe does not think the spaceflower is interesting

Why did I knit a space leafflower? Because it was cool and fun to knit.

Why did I put it on Zoe’s head? Oh, c’mon now. You would’ve if you were here. I mean, her head was just sitting there, begging for a space flower. See how happy she looks wearing it?

(The pattern and a kit for the leaf can be found here, they are designed by the incredibly gifted Tsock Tsarina herself.)

Next, I dealt with some gratuitous snuggling from Dusty and Tim:

Don't they need a license for that?

Don't they need a license for that?

Walked the dog a couple of times with Sir N.–this is the dog’s pre-walk boredom phase…or maybe it’s his post-walk boredom phase. It’s hard to tell.

Buddy

Buddy

Then Sir N and I worked on some earring hangers:

Easy, clever, cheap. All good.

Easy, clever, cheap. All good.

(Cheap wooden frames half off at BigBoxStore. Cross stitch fabric. Staple gun. Stir till well blended and bake at 350 degrees until golden brown. Awesome, awesome.)

I had to stand back and admire that for quite a while after it was done. It makes me so happy. At least half the earrings are pieces I have made, so it was great to have them all out where I can stare at them and remind myself that I have talent and can make beautiful things.

Maybe it’s important to have examples of your own artwork/craftwork out around your home, not hide it all away. Makes me want to come up with some way of displaying the necklaces…I mean, one of those necklaces made the cover of a major beading mag, so you’d think I’d want to have it out somewheres. But nope, it’s just in a drawer.

Come to think of it, I don’t even have a tear sheet of the cover in a frame or anything. Nor do I have the cover of the mag featuring the crochet design I did. What. Is. My. Problem? False modesty? Who am I trying to impress with my humility, the plumber? I mean, it’s not as though we have thousands of people over all the time. Am I worried about seeming vain?

I’m looking around the studio here where I spend most of my time, and the only things I see that I have made are a little window-art butterfly I made when I was twelve (twelve, people. somehow that probably doesn’t really count towards Having My Artwork Out), the dreamcatcher we made for our wedding…

Our wedding dreamcatcher

Our wedding dreamcatcher

…and that’s it. THAT’S IT. All my the knitting, the weaving, the spinning, the beading…all of it is put away.

[pause]

OK, I just got out the cashmere lace shawl that I designed and knit (it’s uber popular online) and put that out. And I draped some skeins of my handspun around the room, found a towel I’d woven and put that over some things in a basket…

Sheesh.

OK, let’s just finish up the weekend, shall we?

Cleaned house, ran errands, and at night watched TV/movies and worked on my swap partner’s socks. These are the Twisted Flower Socks from the incredible Cookie A.:

Flowers for Allison

Flowers for Allison

So there it is, my incredibly glam life.

My favorite thing about this weekend was the sun. Sun, sun, sun. I miss it terribly and am soooo glad to see blue skies and sun again.

I should knock on wood when I say that. There’s more snow to come, the locals say. Everytime they say that, all I can think of is, I want to go back to California!!!

Rain I can handle. Snow that falls eight inches at a time, grey skies that loom about eight inches above the roof, cold that steals your nose and chin right off your face–those are the worst parts of living here.

The beer on the other hand: Excellent. You seem to be offered beers here that you don’t see in the U.S., such as Innes and Gunn, oak-aged in whisky barrels…O.M.G.

P.S. The space flower is now hanging from the dreamcatcher. Yes, I thought that seemed appropriate somehow…

You never know what the dreamcatcher will catch next...

You never know what the dreamcatcher will catch next...

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Spinning and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to a weekend in the life

  1. balmagowry says:

    Hee. Been there, seen that punch the wall thing. In my case it was because he was whipping cream for something I was making, and I kept telling him, “stop, stop, it’s going to turn into butter!” and he kept replying “no, it isn’t, leave me alone, I know what I’m doing!” and then… sure enough it did. And he was so outraged by the humiliation(!) that he punched right through the flimsy rented sheetrock.

    What it says about me that this college memory comes back to me so clearly when I can’t remember what I came into the room for ten minutes ago… let’s not go there.

  2. Tamara says:

    The earring hangers are splendiferous and inspiring! And woven to boot! Good for you.

    We need close ups of the aforementioned magazine-decorating creations so we too can Oooo and Aaaah. Because while we’re not plumbers, we do kind of come into your house, but we don’t have the wherewithal to look around… 🙂

Leave a Reply

