Let’s get this party started


Seems like forever since I blogged about my own knitting–and I’ve missed it. (Welcome back, me!) (OK, I know that was super uber dorky, but this is ME, remember.)

Anyway. Here I am, in my own place, still getting the layout tweaked and figuring out how the new software works…but it’s my-very-own, and I’m ready to play.

I think a nifty way to start this new blog is to introduce a brand new baby:

Meet my new niece, Delaney Caldwell Cepeda.

Delaney & Great-Grandpa Manuel

Delaney & Great-Grandpa Manuel

Delaney, being the niece of a knitter, is of course not allowed to reach her first birthday without some sort of yarnly gift. I didn’t manage to get anything knitted in time for her arrival, but now I have a couple of ideas…which probably means I’m going to either end up with a whack of UFOs and one totally amazing gift, or Delaney is going to end up with a closet stuffed with wee knitted things.

I have to restrain myself, however. Delaney lives in Alabama, where the need for wee knitted things is not that great. So as cute as they might be, I must turn mine eyes away from tiny thick woolly fair isles and cute cable-y goodies. I must think Light. I must think Lace.

I must think of all that humidity.

Fortunately, the first pattern I’ve fallen in love with is both light and lacy. It’s a little dress from the book Vintage Baby Knits by Kristen Rengren. I met Kristen at a book signing a couple of weeks ago at Lettuce Knit, and I guess I’m a sucker for vintage baby stuff, because I cooed over all her little sample garments like some sort of over-excited dove. And you know how sometimes you see a sample garment or a photo and you want to sit down Right There In The Shop and and cast on Right Then? That’s how I felt about this pattern and this yarn:

Avery Frock & Smooshy

Avery Frock & Smooshy

Yeah, baby. A little lace dress and Dream in Color Smooshy, which is my new BFF. I made a lace baby hat out of it in green, and then a lace shawl, and now I’m back at the Smooshy for this amazing little frock.

I managed to wait until I got home to wind the yarn into a little cake…and it immediately started becoming an exploding cake:

The yarn cake explodeth

The yarn cake explodeth

Yarn, it seems, must always have an Attitude.

So I scrabbled around the kitchen drawers until I found one of those nylon nets that fruit comes in and popped the cake right inside:

A hair net for yarn

A hair net for yarn

Voila. The knitting may now commenceth.

Now the best thing about wandering through my entire stash of baby patterns is…I have another niece on the way later this summer! So I totally have permission to coo over more ittle bittle baby togs for a while.

On to the knitting!

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let’s get this party started

  1. balmagowry says:

    Also excellent for a yarn bra? Peds, or the generic equivalent. I buy the super-cheap ones, 3 pairs for a dollar, and they’re the perfect fit for a yarn cake.

Leave a Reply

