Busy week


purple flowersIt is not my highest destiny to clean the house on a daily basis.

I have come to this conclusion thoughtfully, with much meditation and careful consideration of my skills, talents, and abilities.

Also much vaccuuming, floor sweeping, and rearranging of objects so as to hide the latest animal barf stain in the most artistic way possible.

The landlady’s realtors are now calling daily, trying to get us to allow them to show the house daily, twice daily, all showing all the time. Perhaps I ought to just open the front door and hire a teenager to accept business cards at the door and pack the animals off to Cat Castle And Pup Paradise until this all blows over and someone decides to buy the darn house.

I fight back by spinning on my spindle during showings. It seems to unnerve the poor dears. One family literally spent less than three minutes in the house. I don’t think they even went upstairs. (They must have seen my spinning wheel sitting up there. (“Egadz, Wilbur, what kind of people ARE these?”)

More Frock!

More Frock!

I’ve made great progress on the little frock, especially since I finally convinced myself by careful counting and matching the pattern stitch-for-stitch to the chart that I had not made a huge error eighteen rows back. Whew. I hate that Oh No I Might Have To Rip Back Eighteen Rows of Lace feeling. And no, I had not yet inserted a lifeline. Yes, I am a dufus. (Lifeline has been inserted, post-photo session. Am a Trainable Dufus.)

But the huge fun that I have discovered is another form of spinning–except this time I am the spindle and I have a hoop for a whorl:

Hoopdancing!

Hoopdancing!

It looks like a hula-hoop, but it’s not: It’s heavier, and bigger, so it’s easier for someone bigger than a nine-year-old to keep going. I got sucked into the whole hoopdancing thing by one of my home groups on Ravelry–first one person was saying it was really-fun-you-should-try-it, and then YouTube vids were being shared (this one is my favorite–be sure to watch it all the way to the end; this one is really fun, too), and then where-you-can-get-a-hoop links were posted, and before I knew it, a pink and gold travel Hoopnotica hoop was delivered to my door complete with beginner’s DVD.

It’s not just fun; it’s addictive. And yes, a great workout, but you’re so busy enjoying yourself that you can easily forget that part.

Several people on Ravelry say they are able to knit, or crochet, or spin with a handspindle whilst hooping.

I’m not one of them…yet. I fear if I had a handspindle in my hands while that thing was looping around my waist, the handspindle would become the first Spindle Of Mass Destruction ever.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Spinning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

