Jeni’s, Some Great Knitters, and Me


I am chagrined. I do not have a photo of Jeni’s Ice Cream, not the place, not the delectable food itself, not of the lovely folks who work there.

But Jeni’s Ice Cream…you will always be in my heart. Thanks for keeping my step lively and my smile bright this week. I shall miss you, now that hundreds of miles separate us…

For you see: Jeni’s only has shops in Ohio. Why was I in Ohio? I was there to teach and speak at the Knitter’s Connection, a wonderful post-TNNA fest where my fellow teachers included Cat Bordhi, Sally Melville, Clara Parkes, Amy Singer…and oh, rats. I’ve just done the Bad Thing, the thing where if you start listing Amazing People, you’d sure as heck better remember to list ALL the Amazing People, or someone will get left off the list.

So I shall take the better part of valor and stop the list there. It was wonderful. It was sooo much fun. (You should go.)

Here’s me next to the class sign (a traditional teacher’s pose, I am told):

sandi sign

And here’s my classroom, before most of the class had arrived:

classroom

Oooo….”my classroom”…There’s something so intoxicating about those words. I’ve taught before, but never had an actual classroom, with actual chairs and desks and my own writing tablet up front. Woo!

I was, as the sign says, teaching a class on how to make your sweaters fit. I had brought along some of the sweaters from Interweave Knits and Knitscene magazines, and the folks in the classroom got to try on the sweaters, and we went over what kinds of personal adjustments or modifications they might want to make for themselves. We also had a roaring good time suggesting colors to one another! It was such fun, and each and every one of my students was (of course, naturally, it goes without saying) The Best Ever.

Later that day, I had the honor of being the evening’s featured speaker:

speaker sign

And here’s the empty conference room….full of possibility:

empty room

And then here’s a photo someone took of me during the speech:

sandi speaks 2

I look like I’m giving the Ten Knitting Commandments, but really, I’m just rocking on the great audience and the teensy, tiny remote-control-complete-with-laser-pointer that the tech guys found for my Powerpoint presentation (it’s in my right hand…see it?).

No one told me that all the teachers were coming to the speech that night. Here I am, giving my talk about how to best fit your sweaters, and there’s at least a dozen Big Name Designers in the room listening to me. So at the end, I asked each one if they had anything to add, and some of them stood up and gave their top tip for fitting, or mentioned an important thing to consider in sizing your sweater…it was MAGIC. I loved that part best of all. It was like a mini master class in fit, and I was just the host of the affair.

LOVED IT.

And the best part? (Besides salty caramel and lime cardamom ice cream, I mean.) The organizers–Fran, Jan, Doug, and Nikole were awesome, beyond awesome. They had every little detail planned out, down to icy cold water bottles in the classroom. I had never seen an event go so smoothly.

Plus, Fran and Jan, my dears–you really do know how to show a girl an unusual night out on the town. Yes, you do.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

