Kindnesses


Life has been full of unexpected kindnesses lately. What I show you below may seem like mere gifts (mere? what a lousy word in this context), but each gift was sent at the perfect time–in each case, a time when an expression of caring and thoughtfulness was exactly what I needed. So these were no mere gifts…these were acts of friendship, come straight to my post box. Let me show you the tangibles, and the intangibles will then become more clear.

These tangibles are, as they say, “in no particular order”…

Tsarina Lisa sent me her own blend of rose-grey alpaca, kid mohair, and silk, in a colorway she did just for me called “Grandma Rose”:

lisa batt

It’s the softest cloud of fluffy you could ever imagine.

I had mentioned on a forum thread that I lusted after a little rose spindle at Jesh’s etsy shop, and before I knew it, that very spindle came wrapped in blue fibre with a sweet note from Lisa and Jesh.

lisa batt jesh spindle

Even the underside is pretty...

Even the underside is pretty...

My friend Sarah in the UK sent me this–purple alpaca and some to-die-for chocolates. (Note that there is no longer any actual chocolate in those wrappers. All gone, and so very tasty…)

sarahw choc alpaca

In the same package from Sarah was this incredible handpainted silk:

sarahw silk

A secret pal sent me a “spare” Bosworth spindle because I have been wanting one for months and my two spindles on order with the Bosworths are on a waiting list. So seen above spinning the purple alpaca and again here is the spare-that-is-now-mine, a featherweight in canary wood:

fw canary bosworth

I am sure I have forgotten someone…but coming home from Knitter’s Connection to find all these goodies awaiting me was just so very lovely. I felt hugged long-distance!

Oh, yes: And Rachel sent me a song when I really, really needed it. And yes, it was the perfect song.

I am so blessed.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Spinning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kindnesses

  1. nuffelbutt says:

    Bummer, I mispelled myslef! Oh, well. Anyhow, just buzzing by to say hi, go Team Suck Less, and good luck on the house-hunting!

Leave a Reply

