Random Bits ‘N Smidgens


1. The house has been sold, to a young couple who seem very nice. I wish them much joy.

sold sign

2. We have to be out of the house by August 31. We have been looking, but we haven’t found a place yet. I wish us much luck.

3. No more house showings!!!! Hooray!

4. I have joined the Tour de Fleece. (No, Mom, I am not going to France to ride a bicycle. Hear me out.) The TdFleece is a three-week self-challenge to Spin Every Day, and Spin Better. I have joined Abby‘s team, Team Suck Less, where the goal is simply put: To Suck Less At Spinning On July 26th Than I Do Now.

My Ravatar for Team Suck Less

My Ravatar for Team Suck Less

5. The Tour de Fleece follows the same dates and schedule as the Tour de France: July 4-26, with two rest days, and one “sprint” day, July 22. This is the day the cyclists are going uphill for some horribly long distance, so on that day, we spinners of Team Suck Less have pledged to spin a mile, 1760 yards, in that 24-hour period.

6. Fish will dance and pigs will write sonnets before I am able to spin a physical mile of yarn in one day, so I am trying to come up with some sort of personal spinning goal that is in the spirit of the One Mile Challenge. (Stay Tuned.)

7. Since I am now in Canada, I am thinking of starting on Canada Day, July 1st, which is tomorrow. This is to make up for the fact that for a few days during the last week of the TdF, I will be in Alabama visiting Nicholas’s family and will have limited spinning time.

8. In preparation for this TdF, I have been inventorying my spinning supplies and realized with a shock that I now have SEVEN handspindles:

spindle collection

Left to right: Experimental bottom whorl made of Corian from Desko Spindles; featherweight canarywood Bosworth; Planet Sheep (no longer made); a lovely Maggie; Fox Den polymer clay; experimental bottom whorl made by yours truly out of polymer clay; Jesh rose spindle.

Closeup:

closeup spindle collection

Oooo, pretty!

9. Yes, it is pouring here, as you can see from the photo of the SOLD sign above. (I got drenched just taking that one photo from the porch.)

clouds

10. More shall be revealed. That’s all I can say until July 1st. (Big day, July 1st.)

rainbow

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Bits ‘N Smidgens

  1. nuffelbutt says:

    PS – I love the red shoes in your title bar.

  2. lroth217 says:

    Congrats on everything. Moving – well – we know how that is. All these changes mean you can talk to your sister more??? No?, didn’t sound like you’d be any LESS busy. lol Just remember I love you tons even though we don’t always get to chat!

Leave a Reply

