Changes


pretty_yarnThe formal announcement went out yesterday: I have stepped aside as editor of KnittingDaily.com.

It was a difficult decision for me to make, but in the end, I am very happy with the changes this will bring about in my life. I have truly been hungering for more time and energy to focus on my writing, my own design work, and my family and friends; so to everyone who has asked me “Is this a good thing?” the answer is a resounding “You betcha!”

There’s a new editor now, Kathleen Cubley, and I’ve had the chance to get to know her a little bit by phone and email. She seems the perfect person to take over the reins, and so as I say goodbye to my full-time job as editor of KD, I can do it without any guilt or worry about what will happen next. Knitting Daily has been my baby for three years, but it’s come to a point where it no longer needs me quite the way it did at first, and so I’m on to new things.

Thing New #1, of course, is this blog. It’s so freeing to be able to write about my own crafts and my own experiences; I did not realize how much I had missed it. I find I have more ideas for this blog than I have energy in my fingers to type them up!

Thing New #2 is the blog I am doing over on the Knitting Daily site: What’s on Sandi’s Needles? That blog is an extension of the little tidbits I’d been writing near my editor’s photo on each Knitting Daily post–readers seemed to enjoy those little knitting bits quite a lot, so I’m expanding them into a weekly knitting blog on KD that will be more in the style of the older posts I wrote back in the beginning. This one goes up every Wednesday, my friends; and that blog will NOT be included in the Knitting Daily emails so you’ll have to go directly to the site to read them.

Thing New #3 is the amount of time I have to work on my spinning and knitting. I have a page of notes and a bunch of photos to post about my first day in the Tour de Fleece–remember, I started yesterday!–but that’ll have to be another post later.

So I’m delighted about the job change. I’m still tying up loose ends; I’m doing some contract work, but mostly, I am trying to adjust to have a bit of (dare I say it?) Free Time. It won’t last long, this Free Time thing; there will be other contracts and other jobs and projects, so it feels very fragile, very precious…very fleeting.

I think I’m afraid to acknowledge that if I wanted to go take a nap, right this minute, I could do it–at 3:30 PM.

There’s no fires in my email inbox. The phone is quiet. I have things to do, but…It’s been a long, hard few weeks making this transistion happen, and maybe a nap wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world for a brand new freelance writer and craftster.

Time to recharge the batteries, methinks.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Changes

  1. sarah says:

    Just to wish you happiness and luck again 🙂

Leave a Reply

