Knitting Content? What’s That?


I’ve been so consumed with the Tour de Fleece and house-hunting that I have neglected to post anything resembling knitting content here for a while. Let’s remedy that, shall we?

Progress has been made on the little Vintage Frock for Niece-to-Be in Illinois:

frock part 2

As you can see, I got smart this time and inserted a lifeline:

frock lifeline

This pattern is tricksy. It’s got a lot of repetitve elements to it, so you can get lulled into thinking that you’ve got it memorized, that you are its master…and then it shifts everything eight stitches to the left and you have to rearrange your mental maps and I can barely get my mental maps folded up correctly let alone rearrange them at will.

The other tricksy bit about this pattern is that the patterning is on every row, wrong side as well as right. This means that you have to keep mentally switching the symbol meanings every time you turn your work–the symbol for ssk is now ssp, and the symbol for knit is now purl, and so on. This gets easier with practice, especially as you learn to see the pattern as a whole rather than as a series of stitches. By this I mean: Once I began to realize that all the decreases on this side of the center line were ssk on the RS and ssp on the WS, and all decreases on that side of the center line were k2tog on the RS and p2tog on the WS, then reading and knitting the pattern got a lot easier.

Maybe that sort of logical association comes easily to other folks; but it took me a while to figure out that if I had worked an ssp in the previous row at this spot, then I needed to work an ssk in the current row at this spot.

ssp and p2tog are mirrored around a vertical axis, like flipping open the pages of a book; ssp and ssk are one hand’s image up against itself on the mirror itself.  In other words: Put your palms together, thumbs facing you. Left hand is to right hand in this position as is the relationship of ssp to ssk and p2tog to k2tog. Open your palms up from the center, like a book; that’s the relationship of ssp to p2tog and ssk to k2tog.

I hope that isn’t completely and totally some sort of coffee-induced hallucination. It seems right. Anyone out there have a better way to say it?

I think I just made my own head hurt. Maybe that’s enough knitting content for today.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Knitting Content? What’s That?

  1. Georg says:

    It’s things like this that make me scared to write patterns for other people- my brain naturally already knows that ssk on one side would be ssp on the other. The only time I’ve had trouble reading someone’s patterns is when they didn’t do that flip and I thought I still had to. What would seem obvious to me is probably not going to be obvious to whomever follows my pattern, and I’d hate to lose them.

Leave a Reply

