has it been that long? Oy…


I plead Invasion of the Boxen:

boxen heap

Yesterday, we packed 46 boxen….FORTY-SIX. And we’re not done yet. I feel like I am breathing cardboard box dust now. Ew.

But the good news is that we get the keys to the new house tomorrow! We were a bit worried, because the tenants in that house said they needed a few more days…and we didn’t know how many “a few” would be. But all’s good now.

Except that we get the keys on Monday. And I leave for Sock Summit on Wednesday…poor Husband.

I am glad that I found the box for my wheel, so I can pack it safely for the trip. Apparently, the cats are also glad I found the box.

zoe tim wheel box

I’ve got so many things to do before Wednesday that my head feels like it’s going to explode. (Or is that my sinuses whinging about the weird weather and the box dust? Can’t tell. Doesn’t matter. Head very ‘splodey.) It’s the kind of weather where you just want to shout at the sky: “Go ahead and STORM already! What are you waiting for? An ark?”

OH. And another reason for the big gap in blog posts: Alabama! We spent a week in Mobile at a family gathering, partly to bid farewell to Grandma Rose, and partly to give all the various folks a chance to finally meet me. Eep! I finally had everyone’s names and relationships figured out at the end of the trip, but there were a few hilarious moments where I just gave up and pointed at someone and blurted out “Wait—Who are you?”

Yeah, baby. I was brought up with class.

We stayed at my in-laws’ home, and it turns out that Manny, Nicholas’s dad, has a killer expresso machine and can make a REAL cappucino:

perfect cappucino

Or is that a macchiato? I don’t know, but it was delicious. (Also pretty.)

We had popovers with Marilyn’s (mom-in-law) homemade strawberry jam:

popovers and jam

I think I ate…several…of those wonderful treats.

Then there was the sunset cruise taken in honor of Rose:

raising the sails 1

A real sailing boat! Schooner Joshua, the official sailing ship of Mobile. I loved every minute of that cruise. The crew let me help hoist the sails (HEAVY!) and the captain invited me to steer the ship part of the way back into the harbor. That was awesome. And I stood at the bow (front) of the boat and just let the rolling of the waves rock me, and the music of the ropes against the masts and sails sing to me.

cruise end

It was a perfect day.

Oh, and my sweet little…cousin (?)… Micaela agreed:

pretty micaela

As for the knitting content, I worked on the Star Light, Star Bright baby blanket all week long. (I blog about that project on over on Knitting Daily, What’s on Sandi’s Needles?)

The important part about that knitting project? Sam, Marilyn and Manny’s cat, totally and unreservedly approved of it.

sam approves

The Cat Seal of Approval For Knitting. Doesn’t get much better than that.

OK, time to go add to the pile of Boxen. I’m packing my knitting and spinning stuff LAST, obviously… but I am managing to squeeze in some fun now and then. Here’s my latest spindle project, bamboo and merino from the Spunky Eclectic Fiber Club–it’s called Beach!

bamboo merino spindle

Love, love, love it.

Now, off to pack. Have tape gun, will survive the move!

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to has it been that long? Oy…

  1. Molly says:

    I’m glad packing is so fun, and you had fun in Alabama! (And I’m always amused to be reminded that Alabama has coastline to its name.)

    Looking forward to seeing you Wednesday afternoon! Barring delays (HA, but at least I’m flying through Phoenix, not O’Hare), my plane lands at ~1pm Pacific time.

  2. Naomi says:

    Your Beach Day looks great! Good luck with the move, and would you send your packing mojo here when you’re done with it? I have less than two weeks left…scary.

Leave a Reply

