all things great and small


A wonderful, full-of-Big thing happened to me yesterday:

I got to touch the Olympic Torch as it was borne through the small town where I live on its journey westward.

That’s me. That’s the Torchbearer (Nicholas was so excited that he snapped the photo a second after the Bearer turned away!).

And that’s the Olympic Torch, moments before the runner came down Queen Street to pass on the flame.

And I, the most unathletic person on the continent, got to touch the Torch, thus becoming in a very real way a part of the 2010 Olympic Games.

(click to embiggen)

Touching the torch: My hand is below TorchBearer's red mitten

The flame comes to our town!

When that flame is lit in Vancouver…well, I don’t even quite know how I will feel. But I know that moment will be meaningful for me in a way it never has been before. I’ve seen the flame passed from one person to another, I’ve seen the joy and the hope and the excitement the Torch leaves in its wake, and there’s something big afoot here, something so much larger than small, wrangler-of-things-woolly me, that I am awed and moved.

But I tell ya…I may not know how to feel or react, but Nicholas certainly knew. He went home and made an Olympic Torch salad for us for dinner:

Yes, it is silly, but it’s human and it’s a way of incorporating what we had just experienced: Something big expressed in Nicholas’ medium of choice, his art, his craft.

Isn’t that what we are all trying to do: Live our little human lives, and then, when something big happens, try to express that in our craft of choice? Love, joy, beauty, wonder, hope. All these things drive us to sing, to dance, to write, to weave, to knit, to laugh.

Little human beings. Big lives. From this comes all that is good (and some that is bad)…

Is it time for a random photo yet?

There is a land behind my computer, a land I seldom see, a land inhabited by furry beings who purr and sometimes whhaap me with a stern paw if I venture unbidden into their land:

And finally, some knitting pr0n:

That’s a little neckerchief I did up in Dream in Colour Smooshy. I love it. Click to embiggen. It’s all Estonian lace and stuff. Sooo nifty and so tiny and it took me three and a half days!

Dream big. Live small. Joy will come.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. UFO wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 3 cats, 1 dog, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to all things great and small

  1. Abbie says:

    That is just awesome. I put my dad’s name in to be a carrier when the torch came through the US before the Salt Lake City games, but sadly he wasn’t picked. I’m glad to know somebody who got so close!

  2. Sandy says:

    I remember when the torch came through Decatur to Atlanta in 1996. It was such a thrill to see and be able to share with our two little boys. We now have our names on a brick in Olympic Park. Come down to Atlanta some day and I’ll show you!

    The neckerchief is beautiful.

  3. Mary says:

    Hi Sandi,
    You have such a joyous spirit. It is inspiring. I love to read your blog. The neckerchief is a thing of beauty.

Leave a Reply

