early spring photojournal


It’s been five (oops!) six weeks since my last post here–six weeks filled with the good, the bad, the ugly, and the wondrous. In other words: The Usual.

Part of me thinks I ought to simply skip over those six weeks, blogging-wise; I don’t wish to bore folks who might have already have heard allabouteverythingadnauseumhohum. However, the events which occurred were important, and it seems odd to me to just blithely blog on as though they did not happen.

Hence: Grab a cuppa with me and let’s do a quick catch-up post before we move on to the Now.

I did a lot of dishes, with a little help from my friends.

click to embiggen for a glimpse of Dusty’s rough kitty tongue

We celebrated the usual rituals of Spring, with Easter baskets overflowing with chocolate.

Why yes, (since you asked) (you did ask, didn’t you?) Mr. E. Bunny did indeed leave Nicholas’ basket on top of his laptop and my basket on top of my laptop. We’re geeks. Where ELSE would Mr. Bun leave our goodies?

We feasted on a scrumptious Easter brunch, with home-baked cinnamon rolls, fresh yogurt, fruit, and for me, scrambled eggs. Everything was cooked to deliciousness by Sir Nicholas himself, of course.

In particular, I thought it was so sweet of him to make me eggs when he can’t stand them. It was his idea to scramble up the eggs, something he had never done for me before. This weekend, however, he wanted to treat me after hearing my stories of childhood Easter breakfasts, with eggs, and bacon, and a honeyed, moist almond cake made by our grocer’s bakery. (It was called “Australian Tea Cake” and I’ve never had anything like it, certainly not while we were living in Australia itself! We all LOVED that cake.) He wanted to make me a special breakfast with my favourite foods…so sweet. (The man, as well as the food.)

What’s kind of surreal for me, looking through these Easter morning pictures, is that I know what was going on behind the camera that weekend. While eating that lovely meal, Nicholas and I were desperately worried about our happy-go-lucky, three-legged dog companion, Buddy, who suffered major seizures the day before Easter, less than 24 hours after my last post. (Life happens, so quickly.)

The cause, which we did not learn for several days, was peritonitis, a near-fatal case. His intestine wall had perforated all the way through, spilling the contents all over his abdominal cavity, causing grave systemic infection. We got him to the animal ER just in time, and he had emergency surgery in the wee hours of the night. That surgery saved his life; four days in the animal ICU helped him get back on his feet again after that down-to-the-minute battle with the Grim Reaper Dude. (The ER doc said that if we had delayed even twenty minutes, it might have been too late. Eeep. I can’t think too hard about that or I get all shaky.)

Buddy pulled through beautifully, although there were moments when he almost didn’t make it. (No one wants to get a call from the ER vet at 2:15 AM asking about a DNR. NO ONE.) All the vets and the vet techs were simply amazed at Buddy’s will to live, his strength, and his good-natured gentleness through all the nasty procedures.

Buddy’s ICU doctor took these photos of Buddy in his intensive care bed on her iPhone and emailed them to us to let us know that he was awake and alert after his surgery:

Look at that sweet face.

We were allowed to visit him, and even to go right into the ICU unit the first two days. What we noticed immediately was that Buddy was not in a cage, like all the other dogs…he was on a cushy bed in a corner. The vet tech told us that Buddy was just so well-behaved and so sweet that no restraints were needed. I was glad about that; Buddy gets rapidly depressed when caged. Yay for thoughtful vet techs!

Then he came home with us, to rest and recuperate.

And, of course, to have his butt sniffed by Tim, his beloved kitty (see top left above; click to embiggen if you wish).

Our most heartfelt gratitude goes out to the kind and skilled staff of Oakville Animal ER Hospital. If you live in the area and need specialized or off-hours care for your animals, I recommend it highly. (And I am quite picky when it comes to who takes a scalpel to my furkids.) And more gratitude goes to our local vet, Dr. Kerr at North Hill Vet Clinic, who was the one to quickly recognize the gravity of Buddy’s situation. Together with his caring fine staff, Buddy has received stellar aftercare.

The end result:

buddy walkies
Buddy rolls for joy!

And...a happy smile.

A very happy, very healthy Buddy.

In sharing Buddy’s illness with my online community, I have learned so much about friendship and the power of love this past month.  So let me say just this: My friends, I am touched soul-deep by the generosity of heart and the breathtaking support that you have bestowed on me. I bow to the light that is all of you.

I do have a fibre life. I do. I do, I do, I do, I DO have a fibre life.

During Buddy’s stay in the hospital, and during the days when he was recovering at home, I had to find ways to keep my mind calm and my fingers busy.

I began to fill the first bobbin on my brand new Schacht Matchless wheel.

I bought her at The Spinning Loft at the end of the Sara Lamb weekend (read wonderful accounts of Sara’s fun class from bloggers Beth and Ayse).

I adore this new wheel! However. She may be Matchless, but she is also (still!) Nameless at this point. The wheel in the background above is Lizzie, my Ashford Elizabeth, which was my first wheel, gifted to me about eighteen years ago. My second wheel is off-camera to the right: a Lendrum DT named Lucy. So the new wheel needs a name…

I’ve got a little contest going on Ravelry to name the new gal, actually. Folks there have generated a list of nearly 70 ideas; I just have to get my new girl to agree to wear one of them! (And yes, there is a prize for the suggester of the winning name. No, I am not telling what the prize will be, although it is, of course, something nice.)

In other fibre news:

I started spinning a glowing blue AbbyBatt on my Wildcraft spindle.

I LOVE this spindle. Those are real rose petals and lavender buds, suspended in resin. The AbbyBatt (from abbysyarns) is merino, Tussah silk, and pygora (a type of goat known for its silky fibre). I’ve been sitting outside on the front porch steps during the first bits of spring sunshine, spinning that amazing blue stuff, watching the flowers twirl themselves into galaxies and new universes. Good medicine for a worried, tired mind.

I’ve been knitting a lot more than usual, probably also out of worry. There’s the Farmer’s Market Cardigan, an Interweave Knits sweater which I’ve been blogging about over here. Then there’s Damson, a simple, graceful shoulder wrap by the ever-talented Ysolda Teague.

That’s a terrible photo, mostly because it looks like The Blob. Also: You can’t see the sparklies! There’s (real) silver filaments in that yarn, making it sparkle like a deep plum/rose sunset with the stars just starting to peek out.

The yarn is a test skein from a new indie biz: Shameless Twist. (It’s so new that the site isn’t quite built yet.) The twisted mind behind Shameless is Jodi Euchner, an indie yarn dyer (that link goes to her current shop) and crochet designer. She’s just getting Shameless Twist off the ground this spring; but IMHO? Look for big things from this gal. Her colours are rich and her yarn bases are, well….shameless.

Meanwhile, the kitties have been catlike. Here is Zoe, showing her disdain for all the attention The Dawg is getting:

If you click on that photo, the bigger version shows that Zoe is sticking out her tongue at All Things Dawg.

And I think that is as good a place as any to end the Spring Catch-Up Post.

Now, if you will all kindly set your time-travel clocks for The Present…

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Animals, Family, Knitting, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to early spring photojournal

  1. limijas says:

    Wow, I had no idea you were going through all that. I am soooooo happy Buddy is back to good. So awful to go through for all of you.

  2. Abby says:

    Yea for Buddy! I’m so glad everything worked out well for him and you two. And that vet group sounds absolutely awesome. Most have procedures and that’s just “how it’s done”. Good on them for realizing a cage isn’t always the best place for a recuperating pooch.

    I won’t enter the Ravelry contest but that wheel just screamed the name “Sadie” at me. Could be because that was the name of my beloved great aunt and Lizzy and Lucy seem like more “old-fashioned” names too.

    I look forward to reading which name you choose.

  3. Natasha says:

    My stomach dropped when I read about Buddy’s ordeal; I can imagine what a nightmare! I have my own fur kid and things like that are what you pray don’t happen. Thanks for the good vet references, though, in case it’s ever needed.

    He looks so happy, I love the pics of him on his back; I knew my Daisy was better when she finally rolled over for a tummy rub. 🙂

    Hope you’re doing well, too and glad you have such a wonderful husband!

  4. Nancy says:

    Oh wow – I’m so sorry to hear all that Buddy and the rest of the family have been through these past 6 weeks. How wonderful that he has recovered his health and playful spirit. Whew!

  5. Glad to hear that Buddy is on the mend. What a sweetheart! Give him an extra pat on the head from me. 🙂

  6. cocokat says:

    I am so happy to hear Buddy is ok. I’ve been through fur-kid emergencies too (bee sting on cat chin, cat eat string from roast – we’re now vegetarians; that was probably the last meat we cooked) and worried my way through the night.

    Hugs to Buddy and you, and that wonderful, thoughtful hubby!

    Ysolda- I love Elijah – made three of them. Going to buy her pattern books shortly.

Leave a Reply

