Good things


A mama dove is making a nest on our front porch!

That’s a photo from a couple of weeks ago, when we first noticed a pile of twigs starting to accumulate there.

However, every time a breeze came along, puff! away went all the twigs, scattering the dove’s nest all over the porch. Every time that happened, Mama Dove and Papa Dove would spend a few days re-building their little nest in the same corner.

During the day, the doves are out and about quite a bit, so Nicholas and I had time to get up on a ladder to investigate. Turns out that not only is the ledge quite narrow; there are several nails and hooks sticking up out of its surface (holiday light supports, we think). Not a very comfortable place to build a nest.

But Mama and Papa are determined that THIS ledge, and no other, is the place to make a home for their little ones to be hatched.

So after quite a bit of discussion with Sir N., I fetched a shallow basket from my (ahem) rather extensive basket collection, got up on the ladder, removed some of the nails and hooks, added a few twigs (and of course, some handspun wool yarn), and in general tried to make things a bit more homey for the Dove family.

We were worried that the basket would smell too much like humans for the Doves, but within a day, both Doves were busy at work building a proper nest.

And, as of this morning, the porch’s corner nook had become quite a cozy little home.

It’s too high up to see into, so I don’t know that we will be able to see any eggs or babies…but perhaps we can rig something up that won’t bother the nesting mama too much. We shall see.

I’ve been making a bit of jewelry again. Here’s my favourite pair of earrings from this current batch:

click to see detail

Progress on the Star Light, Star Bright baby blanket border (try typing THAT five times in a row) is going slowly.

I’m on round 6 of 19; each round is over 1000 sts. Now that I am inching closer to the end, I am eligible to begin the traditional Knitter’s Worry as to whether I will have enough yarn or not. The blanket is white, and it’s the border, and it’s a type of yarn where I don’t suppose dye lots really matter all that much. Especially for white. So I can get more if I need more. But it’s my perogative as a knitter to have this Worry if I want to. (If you want to read more about the border, there is info here.)

I’ve been doing some spring cleaning and organizing, particularly in my craft spaces. I wanted a way to store my various project bags so that I could see them and grab one quickly on the way out the door; on the somewhat contradictory side, I also wanted them out of the way and, of course, tidy-spiffy.

I came up with this:

That’s a post on our living room wall, near the stairs. I installed a few hooks, and poof! Instant project bag organization. Top to bottom, we have: My Lexie Barnes Day of the Dead knitting-tools-and-necessaries bag; Lettuce Knit bag with Socks That Rock April club socks in progress; green GoKnit pouch with WaitInLine simple socks (my pattern); teal GoKnit pouch with Cookie A’s Hedera socks; silver fabric bag with Cookie A’s Twisted Flower socks; and Piddleloop bag with … um …. I can’t remember what project this is. I looked, and it’s a lace project, but I didn’t put any notes in the bag, and it’s not in my project notebook, so am clueless. (Must belong to my evil twin.)

My shawl projects are in bags in a basket below the hanging pouches. And I still have some other projects in small plastic bins on The Project Shelves in the living room.

Whew. I am all blogged out now. I think I’ll go play with something fluffy and soft. Or hard and sparkly. Haven’t quite decided yet. Although…my MomEars hear that TimKitten is getting into some sort of Trouble, so perhaps I ought to investigate the noises he is making first. (Wish me luck.)

I leave you with this visual happy thought for the day:

source

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Animals, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Good things

  1. Lynn says:

    Silly girl.

    What else can I say?

    XOXOXO

  2. MadCarlotta says:

    We had doves build a nest in our eavestrough a few weeks back. Sadly, one thunderstorm later, they apparently re-considered the location.

  3. Debbie B says:

    I love the earrings. While I was reading your post about the doves I was thinking the same thing you typed, I think it is so great that the birds have set up home there and hopefully all will go well with their nest efforts.

  4. Natasha says:

    Love the earrings and love that you are blessed with a dove family… we have one as well in our backyard and it’s sooo sweet. Enjoy!

  5. donna lee says:

    I’m glad to hear your Buddy is doing so well. I recently lost a beloved cat (he had a stroke) and I miss him still.

    We have a tree in the yard with some bird nests in them. I love to watch the smaller birds chase off the Red Tailed Hawk when s/he shows too much interest in their nests.

  6. Heidi Yates says:

    oh my gosh i thought my parent’s crazy cats were the only ones that sat in the sink and drank

  7. Jodi says:

    Hey, you! Look at you all attracting the wildlife and stuff. 😉 They must know how awesome you are, mm? I love the hook idea for the bags. When my basement’s complete, I’ll have to snag your idea!

  8. Melissa says:

    If you’re looking for another storage idea, take a trip to your local IKEA store at their closet organizers. Specifically, look at the shoe organizers designed to hang in a closet from the rod, such as http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/40123457 or http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/90102532. (These are the American Web pages, but the products are available in Canada as well.) I love them for yarn storage, but there’s no reason you couldn’t use them for project organization as well!

  9. I just loved your dove story…I found you because I have a nest also and wanted to know if they nest for a long time or many families of doves use the nest each year.
    By the way, your earrings are gorgeous!
    Come to visit my little nest.

    http://treasureseekers.blogspot.com/2010/08/mourning-dove-nest.html

Leave a Reply

