second of december


Hello, again!

I’ve sort of made a little deal with myself. If I put it in writing, I’m sure to jinx it; if I post it here, then I’ll feel stupid if I can’t follow through. But accountability is A Good Thing.

So: I’m doing a Blogger’s Advent Calendar. Each day of December: A new blog post. Doesn’t have to be earth-shaking, doesn’t have to be long, doesn’t have to move you all to weeping or the giggles. It’s just got to be Something.

Advent, for those of you without a Catholic background, is the time of preparation before the celebration of Christmas. Traditionally, one marks off the days and weeks using some sort of countdown device: those chocolate boxes with 24 sweets in them, a fabric calendar with 24 pockets, a small tree with 24 ornaments waiting to be placed upon it.

The idea behind preparing for Christmas is an ancient one: Preparing for the return of the light, preparing for the new year, preparing one’s home and one’s heart for the guests that winter might bring to one’s door. While Lent (the preparation before Easter) is a time of cleansing one’s soul, Advent, is more about cleansing one’s hearth, the charism of hospitality, and making room in one’s family life for visitors–in many spiritual traditions, making room for The Visitor, whether that be Christ, God, Goddess, or simply The Holy.

I’m ready for a change in my life. Of course, I have a few ideas about what I’d like that change to look like, but life has surprised me so many times that when I start feeling as though a life-quake is coming, I’ve learned to set aside my preconceptions and see what the universe has up its tricksy, starry sleeve.

gift from a friend

Thus, it seems a good idea to do a bit of preparation. Tidy up. Think some thoughts. Do some writing…make room for visitors, virtual or otherwise.

The strange and wondrous world of Advent Calendars

Thank you, Google Images

Advent calendars aren’t just for religious folk. There’s an advent calendar for…welllll…lots of all everyone, as a young friend of mine would say. For your edification and amusement:

Bacon Advent Calendar (I am speechless.)

Punk Rock Advent Calendar (even punkers love Christmas)

Dr. Who Advent(ure) Calendar (whooo! He’s The Doctor!)

Lego Pirate Advent Calendar (An entire marketing committee came up with this one.)

Biotechnogiosity Advent Calendar (I have NO idea)

Playmobile Unicorns in Fairy Castle Advent Calendar (outta the way, me first!)

Scottish Advent Calendar (really. click. you must.)

Cookie Sheet Advent Calendar (clever!)

iPhone Advent Calendar (geekery!)

Perl Advent Calendar (more geekery!)

Hello Kitty Advent Calendar (I cannot make this stuff up.)

DIY Crafty Boxy Advent Calendar (pretty!)

Allll-righty then. Onwards. Yes, I realize I promised more News From the Craft Studio today. Let’s try for tomorrow…

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Family, Studio, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to second of december

  1. Lisa says:

    But…but…where’s the Fiber Advent Calendar???

  2. Lynn says:

    Did you see Amy King’s Advent Calendar? She posted yesterday, I think.

  3. Magi says:

    Love the Scottish one – definitely doable

  4. craftmonkey says:

    Google playmobil unicorn magic advet calendar, and you shall find the one my son and i are opening each day. I am so thankful he has not yet begun to care about boy toys vs girl toys! Although i do suspect those poor princesses shall be relegated to a fate of being rescued by the knights and vikings he already has

Leave a Reply

