third of december


Fixing the door

In every home, there’s one or two unruly spots, places that seem to hold a charge. These spots appear to argue with us, to remind us of some corner of our own hearts with which we have not made friends. These spots are difficult to organize, hard to keep neat, or a nightmare to decorate.

For me, one of these trouble spots is my studio. I struggle with organizing it, I struggle with what to do with it, how to arrange it, what to keep in it and what not to keep in it. The battle isn’t truly about my studio, of course; it’s about my own crafting life, my life as a person who needs a studio. The fact that I really do need a studio isn’t up for discussion; anyone who has walked into any apartment or house of mine for the last three decades is instantly confronted by evidence everywhere of the passions of my hands and heart.

high on a studio shelf

The problem seems to be what sort of studio I need. Do I need a place to bead, to sew, to weave? To actually create? Or do I need a storage room for all my tools and supplies? Do I need a solitary room, where I can close the door and submerge myself in creating, or do I need to provide workable spaces throughout my home, because my crafting is inseparable from the rest of my life?

my studio worktable

All of these thought ran through my head as I went about fixing the 120-year-old studio door hardware. (Thank goodness for the internet. It’s really true that you can find ANYTHING you need to know, if you just know how to search for it. In this case: keywords “repair antique doorknob” did the trick.)

The workings aren’t truly repaired; I think they are worn out and need replacing. But they are working, and workable, for now.

Today’s Random Holiday Cheer:
Christmas Treats for Tigers

My friend Jen knows I like weird photos of animals, so she suggested I google “tigers under water.” Dude, GREAT pictures like this one:

definitely snack time

from photobucket.com

In keeping with the season, however, I also found this unlikely tidbit: Zookeepers in Wales apparently give donated Christmas trees to their tigers for tasty tiger snacks.

dailypost.co.uk

Now I know why my cats are always chewing our holiday tree: They know in their hearts they ARE really tigers.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Studio. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to third of december

  1. Susanne says:

    Yeah for fixing the doorknob! Clearly what you need is a flexible setup for your studio. Because otherwise you would exactly know what you need…

    I do have a room of my own but it’s also where I teach piano and such, so it isn’t really a private room. Therefore my sewing machine lives in my husband’s closet and only gets pulled out when I sew, and I use the kitchen table for sewing. On the other hand my spinning stuff is set up in my studio/office/room. I always pack everything away, except for the wheel.

    My knitting is scattered around the house and follows me wherever I go but there is a place to neatly hang up knitting bags in the kitchen. So, whatever works.

    (That doesn’t mean that the wheel doesn’t get lugged around the house all the time, by the way.)

  2. Pat says:

    I almost had a writing room. My crafting space, which was my scrapbooking/cardmaking space is total chaos in a dark corner of the basement. The writing room became the space of my oldest son who despite ridiculing the dark warm red color, chose this space for his “temporary” return to the parental nest (2 years ago). He’s a relatively good guy and presently I lack the mental energy to write. Kudos to you for your accomplishments! I cannot even maintain a blog much less articles and books. Right now I “write” lectures and handouts, exams and reports.

  3. Patricia says:

    Workable spaces throughout your home sounds like you. I don’t see you closed away in a room telling yourself “Now I must create.” You seem the type who gets an idea from something you see in your surroundings and works on it right then and there. Besides, a home with crafts visible and ready invite us to pick up our needles, spindle, hook, or other tool whenever a little time offers itself. What better way to be creative and fulfilled?

  4. Tamara says:

    @Patricia–Hear! Hear!

    Ah-MAZ-ing pic of the tiger under water–ridiculous!

Leave a Reply

