december seventh


Warp without end…amen

For some reason, all my projects right now seem endless. The two-scarf warp I put on my little Cricket loom? Both scarves are woven and hem-stitched on the loom; there’s still warp left. I’m well into a third now. I measured. I swear I did. Twice I measured! And yet…I’m still weeeeeaaaviiiiing. (Endless Warp. The Warp That Time Forgot. The Warp That Fell to Earth. Warp Area 51. Bride of Warpenstein. Frosty the WarpedMan. Creature From the Warped Lagoon. Jurassic Warp…ok, I’ll stop now.)

Scarf #3, black weft

The hoodie I am knitting for my sister? Someone save me. I must have started those sleeve cuffs at least eighteen times, seriouslyforrealnokidding. (Santa Cuff is coming to…no? Oh. OK. I’ll be good.)

The sweater I am knitting for Jen? My Bob, the woman is Not That Big, and there’s enough stitches on this thing to use it as a car cover. Ripriprip, rippity rip rip.

The Secret Project I am making for someone who reads this blog? The. Yarn. Didn’t. Match. Itself. I tried to convince myself it matched, and then I consulted the cats. Tim, he of the one-eye, sniffed my knitting and gave me the ISmellStinky Face. (Cats. Cats and their OPINIONS.) So I heeded the wisdom of my betters, and ordered morebetterdifferent, and…they are Out Of Stock. Until January. END of January.

Tim, Emperor of The West Table

The other Secret Project I am helping to make for someone who probably doesn’t read this blog but you just never know what she might do? I keep sewing, and sewing…and sewing.

The thread I am not using for the project I am not doing

Thus, I put my nose to the grindstone and did a couple of hours of weaving this morning…and look!

It’s the End of the Warp As We Know It.

I’M SORRY; I COULDN’T STOP MYSELF.

News From The Studio

Nicholas is totally behind me fixing up the studio, by the way. He keeps suggesting a trip to IKEA for furniture; I even sort of know some of what I want to get. But I need to measure…oh heck, who am I kidding. The room is gargantuan. I could buy a half-dozen storage whatnots at IKEA, and still have space for more. We probably can’t even afford to buy all the IKEA furniture that would fit in that room upstairs.

I want to start with some of these:

The ever-popular EXPEDIT

And a few of these:

LEKMAN bin (WTF? $20 in Canada, $10 U.S.?)

I also think I need to organize the bins and boxes in the studio a bit better. That’s the part that’s daunting me: Going Through Stuff. There’s some boxes that don’t even belong in the studio; some that need to be sorted; some that need to be inventoried so I can make intelligent decisions on what goes where.

It’s all so daunting. A lifetime of crafting, boxes of everything from quilting materials to soap-making molds, from lampwork beads to elk hide pieces.

I don’t even know where to start. The task just seems far too big, too overwhelming.

That’s how I got into this in the first place, of course: Not knowing where to start, as though there were a Right Place and a Wrong Place to start. If I start in the Wrong Place, maybe the whole mess will only get more firmly tangled, as though I am pulling and pulling on the one thread that is wrapped around the rest.

But there is no Wrong Place to start. There is only Starting, and Not Starting. I’ve been doing the Not Starting technique for a while now.

Wait. Wait Right There. Don’t Go Away…I’ll be right back.

OK, here it is: The First Step. I went into the studio, and grabbed the first box I saw. I’m going to unpack/sort it tonight after dinner.

Zoe promises to supervise.

Tuesday’s Random Good

My friend, Lynn, has been extremely supportive of my blogging. In fact, she told me she would poke me if I didn’t blog more. So, out of gratitude, and because I know she loves cardamom, and because Nicholas ate the batch I had baked for her, here is an absolutely delicious recipe. I got it from (ready for this? here we go!) my ex-husband’s father’s sister’s husband’s mother. Apparently, it’s a Swedish family tradition, because the entire clan was very, very proudly Swedish. (Thank you, Uncle Per!)

Cardamom Cinnamon Bread

2 scant cups sugar
2 scant cups flour
1 scant cup milk
1 egg
1-1/2 TB melted butter
1 tsp baking powder
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ground cardamom

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Mix all dry ingredients, then add liquids and egg. Grease and flour 2 small loaf pans; fill 2/3 full. Bake 35-45 min, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Advice: Make lots.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Studio, Weaving, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to december seventh

  1. Lynn says:

    Hmm, I think I’m missing cardamon, but I have everything else… adds cardamon to shopping list. Thanks!

    Also? Your daily blogging might be poking ME into blogging again. Or might not.

    And: I’ve learned to organize when the mood strikes, and to ignore messes the rest of the time. But when the mood strikes – zowie! Progress!! Rapid progress!!

  2. April says:

    Okay, so in the vein of terrible puns, I saw your warp…which was taking a ton of time…and all I could think of was “Let’s do the Time Warp again!”

  3. Liz says:

    re: organizing. I kind of just pick an end of the room and start. Right now the house is like one of those little block puzzles where you have one open space and you have to shuffle all the blocks through it hopefully in the right order to make a picture.

    Yeah, that’s taking a while. 🙂

  4. Lab Cat says:

    For organizing you have to what Liz but have a plan where everything is going to go and not just sweep the disorganized mess from one end of the room to another.

    Starting anywhere is good.

    My Dad used to supervise my room tidying and he would make it a fun time, but his trick was to shove things in drawers and close the draw. Et voila a tidy room!

  5. Kirsten says:

    “And I feel fiiiinnne.” Oh, sorry about that. That *was* an R.E.M. reference, wasn’t it? I feel the same way when weaving a scarf while I’m making it. Then I’m done and I’m always surprised it took less time than knitting one.

  6. naomi says:

    Does that mean You Feel Fine? 😉

  7. Ginger says:

    LOVE those ikea shelves…have them all over our house…fyi those plastic cubes that fit inside of them scrape the brown shelves up pretty badly…the white might be fine, but wouldn’t want to have you fix your studio and end up with scratched shelves…felt on the bottom may fix…we bought the kids cloth cubes at target, but i’m sure you want to see your beautiful yarns, etc…good luck! and thanks for the cinnamon recipe! yum!

  8. Bonnie says:

    I also have those Ikea shelves and love them. I have the 5′ set in the yarn (formerly “guest”) room. I was able to buy a set of two drawers for needles, buttons, etc., and I bought a couple of red doors to hide unpleasantness behind (such as the scratchy hat I can’t bear to part with and yet can’t wear). The rest is open and displays my yarn in all its wooly glory. Get thee to Ikea!

  9. stitchesandwords says:

    All of your warp parody titles are making me grin. Good for you on getting started — bit at a time, and you’ll get somewhere. Good luck, and toes crossed.

  10. Pat says:

    Start in one corner, work for 15 minutes. Then either be done (congratulate yourself on meeting your goal) or work longer (congratulate yourself for exceeding your goal). Set a timer for 15 minutes, so that when it rings you know that you are at a decision point. Either way you win!

Leave a Reply

