december eleventh


We just returned victorious from a trip to IKEA.

I got the white one for my studio

It’s two Saturdays before Christmas, so I thought N. was nuts for wanting to go there, but what the heck. We got in the car, and drove through crazy traffic, and walked bravely into the maw of IKEA, holding hands and being silly at one another.

We had a grand time. We sat in chairs, we commented on Things Ugly, we admired Things Pretty, we considered and compared and planned for this house and dreamed of a future home of our own.

In short, we did all the fun, good things that IKEA is perfect for.

In the end, we came out with two matching desks for our home office (his and hers, awwwwwww…).

Alve and a friend came home with us today

We’re inordinately pleased with ourselves, as we have been dithering for years over buying desks. Currently, we both work at the dining table, which means that we don’t get to use the dining table for actual dining.

Easter breakfast...with laptops

(We sit in front of the TV with trays. Blergh.)

Sometimes the llama eats treats with us in front of the telly

We do clear the table for special occasions, but still. We used to have a second table for eating at, and we would decorate it according to the season, and light a candle at each meal, so that our own “family dinner time” was special. Having desks for work things means we get our dining table back, and I think we’re looking forward to having even ordinary meals be candlelit and celebratory again.

Autumn Harvest High Tea

At the advice of a friend who is a professional organizer, we didn’t buy any furniture for the studio just yet. We looked, though, and realized once we saw the Expedit shelves in person, that there was No Way those heavy big pieces would fit up our narrow 120-year-old staircase. Good to know. Useful information. One Must Always Consider The Stairs.

Zoe guarding the staircase

We even made it to Michael’s for the wonderful sale on frames; I got a nice frame for the photo that Naomi sent me, and a few frames for Various Items I may or may not have purchased as gifts for Sir Nicholas. (Ahem.)

Today’s Random Good

(Interesting how much you folks like this little series of Random Goods I am doing…I like it too!)

My mother’s grandfather, my great-grandfather, was a painter; Mom has several paintings of his throughout her home. My favourite works of his, however, are not his paintings, but the letters he wrote to my mother during World War II, when my mother was about five years old. He used coloured pencils, and illustrated the text with simple drawings. Mom has several of these framed in the upstairs bedroom.

Dated May 1944; by Ray Kramer (click to enlarge)

I can only hope that the things I create will be equally cherished some day.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to december eleventh

  1. Mireille says:

    What’s it like to have a dining table used for dining? Even ocassionally?

    In my house, it’s not the stairs you have to beware of, but the 24 inch doors. Yep that’s right, 24 inch doors. I purchase nothing wider than 16 inches. I do own one chair that I had to take the door off to get into the office, I may leave it here when I move next!

  2. I have the Expidit shelves in my living room. Because it is so big and heavy we had to assemble it next to where it was going to live. It can go up that staircase in pieces, out of the box, with 2 people carrying the pieces. But it would take several trips. Since we just got it in Aug I don’t know if we will ever be able to take it apart to move.

  3. molly says:

    don’t you feel like a grown-up – having a dining room table upon which to dine?
    and i think that the things are that are most lovingly remembered are not our ‘great works’ but rather the little things that we do which please ourselves and their recipients…the ‘love in the moment’ things, like your great-grandfather’s letters to his wee granddaughter.
    please keep up the random goods – they remind us to look for them in our own lives!
    cheers
    molly

  4. Naomi says:

    Too many things to comment on! But I love the photo of Zoe. When I was a kid in WV, we had a house with big newel posts like that, and my cat loved to sit on them. Especially the one on the middle landing, so she could look down at the entire hall.

    Thanks for the lovely memory, Sandi.

  5. april says:

    yay for you getting desks….that is so fun.
    the letter from grampa almost made me cry. so, so sweet and very cherished. thank you for sharing that

  6. Karen says:

    Ahhhhhh IKEA…..the things you miss, I used to live in the GTA, Ikea was always close. Now I live in eastern Montana,the closest IKEA is more than a days drive away. But no fear, my daughter lives in Portland, we always make a trip, if for nothing else just to browse!

  7. stitchesandwords says:

    That is a lovely, lovely letter. Congrats on getting new desks, and yay for reclaiming your dining table for dining!

  8. Anne says:

    I was going to comment to suggest taking the Expedit pieces up to the room prior to putting it together -but that has already been suggested!

    Then I wanted to ask about the Lama in the Living Room – sounds like a good title for a Mystery!!!

    So wonderful that you have this old letter – thanks for sharing!

  9. Mardi says:

    I’ve never been to IKEA, but your post makes me want to go with S for the first time. I’m not at all sure we would handle it in the stellar way you two did. And that letter is just beautiful.

  10. MmmYarn says:

    We ignored the dining table for years, too, preferring instead to sit cross-legged at the coffee table for meals.
    We have 2 of that same IKEA desk also, his and hers. Seven years later, they are still wearing well. I put bobbin lace doilies I picked up in Belgium under the glass top of mine. I tried knitted swatches but they are too thick.

  11. Donna says:

    Re Anne’s comment above: Not being snarky, but this is the second time today that I’ve seen “lama” used in a fibery context and it conjures up such delightful, sweet, funny images of Tibetan monks! Thanks for that.

Leave a Reply

