december fourteenth


Let’s see…

Our front porch, before the 4 inches!

  1. It snowed about four inches today.
  2. I haven’t knit a single stitch yet (but hey, it’s only 6 PM).
  3. We’ve had the wood stove lit since early morning, and all day long it has smelled heavenly in here.
  4. Nicholas is making roasted stuffed poblano peppers for dinner and now it smells even more heavenly in here.
  5. My sinuses are exploding, making it hard to think, let alone write. (From the weather, not from the wood stove.)
  6. My friend Amy has been baking chocolate gingerbread cookies; she decorated them in her typically awesome style:
    1. Christmas Skeletons (note festive bows!)
    2. Holiday Zombies (perhaps they spent too many hours at the mall?)
    3. She also made some For GrownUp Straight Gals and Gay Gents Only cookies. (Not safe for kids, work, or my mom.)
  7. Your comments were so amazing that I sort of want to just mull them over for a while before we discuss.

Well. Except that I like how Purlista summed up what many of you said:

You’re our invisible friend.

I can totally live with that.

I think feedback is really important in any relationship; as a blogger, it’s really easy to feel as though one is shouting into a big empty cave. (Yes, I realize we are discussing your comments now, despite #7 above. So much for mulling them over.) Back when I was a professional church soloist, I used to describe the phenomenon of singing to a non-responsive congregation as “singing to a life-sized oil painting of a congregation.” Blogging can feel that way, too: You write and you write; you spend time taking photos; you talk about your readers to your husband and your sister and your friends as though they were real…but if no one leaves comments, then it’s hard to know if anyone’s really Out There.

Spinning silk sewing thread

I do like blogging to be a conversation, it’s true. Back when I was doing Knitting Daily three times a week, it was the comments that kept me fresh, it was the comments that gave me new things to think about when I was stuck, it was the comments that helped me keep going during long meetings about the business side of the blog. There was many a meeting when I read your comments aloud to the executives in the room (you didn’t know that, did you?), when I stood up for one thing or another because you had let me know it was important to you by leaving me a comment saying so.

I always felt as though you, the readers, were my co-workers there, in that you helped me co-create what Knitting Daily was in those early days.

Just as you are now helping me to co-create this blog…because all the best conversations are two-way. (Thank you.)

Something Awesome and Awe-Inspiring

I’m sewing, with close supervision from the cats.

Head Supervisor Zoe

That’s seven yards of handwoven fabric, the most gorgeous stuff I have ever seen. No, I didn’t weave it, my friend Lynn did. She wove it out of hundreds of yards of handspun yarn, donated by about 80 people in our internet spinning group. It’s a group gift for someone special; I can’t say more than that in case the recipient reads this blog.

This project has been such an honour to work on; it’s deeply moving to be stitching along and realize that every thread is the work of some individual hand, some person whom I interact with in one way or another. I look at the pink strand that is my current stitching guide, and wonder who spun it, what they were thinking about when they made it, and what they would think if they knew that their pink yarn was guiding my every stitch.

Tim inspects my work closely

I’m hand-sewing the project; the white yarn you see in the photo is commercial cotton basting thread. (The actual sewing thread I am using is my own handpsun silk. Why, yes, I am certifiably crazy.) I’ve done a big chunk of the sewing already; today was the day I Put The Pieces Together. Ooooooh! Exciting.

Especially exciting, as today, I discovered why Basting Is A Good Thing. I spent quite a while, an hour or more, laying out pieces and matching stripes and deciding which side was the Outside and which was the Inside, which edge was going to go Down and which was going to go Up…and then, carefully, making sure everything was perfect, I basted two of the longest seams together.

I finished, snipped the thread ends, shook the thing out, held it up for the cats’ inspection…and discovered I had sewn the Up to the Down instead of to the Other Up, and the Front to the Back instead of to the Other Front.

Upon which discovery, I carefully folded the entire thing, placed it safely in its protective bag, and put it away until tomorrow.

Today’s Random Good

Therapy alpaca visiting the elderly in hospital

from Cuteoverload.com

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Spinning, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to december fourteenth

  1. Lynn says:

    If it makes you feel any better, I put a sweater in time-out today too, because its button band was wonky.

    BTW, send me some of that silk sewing thread – you know, for the documentary document.

    I like out the Karmic Geese change color to match the current cat weight.

  2. RichelleCK says:

    Therapy alpaca?! I love that so very much!!! I have friends with therapy Cardigan Welsh corgis who are utterly amazing (both the friends and the dogs). How special would an alpaca have to be to do therapy work? Wonderful!

  3. Purlista says:

    you were a professional choir singer too?!?!? Must you pull out another amazing talent every single day??!! You are incredible.

    I was thinking that what’s awesome about you is your voice – the how you say what you say (and also, of course what you say, which we all relate to). Now your voice is literal too.

  4. InJuneau says:

    WHAT does the current pink guide yarn look like? Might it be one of the non-existant yarns that didn’t come from anyone in the Far North…?

  5. april says:

    i wish it would snow here. its chilly, but no snow.
    also, i love the therapy alpaca…who knew that was possible?!

  6. donna lee says:

    I think that blogging is at its best a conversation but so often feels like you are standing on a soapbox out in the middle of an empty field.

    And then I wonder if people who get over 100 comments on everything they write, do they read them all?

    I enjoy reading what you share. It makes me feel like I’m right there in the room with you.

  7. Ann Williams says:

    Sandi, I love you, but I want Zoe. She is beatiful!!!

  8. Ann Williams says:

    Opps! That should be beautiful.

  9. Lisa says:

    I have a feeling the recipient would have to be extremely stupid to not have an idea of what’s going on. And we all know that stupid she is not.

    That said, can’t wait to see it! And the great thing is that I’ll get to see it live and in person, I hope!!

    Give out kitty skritches from me as needed, please.

  10. Heather says:

    I heart this entry. Or as my teen would say…. <3!!!!!

  11. Naomi says:

    I love seeing more pictures of the Karmic Geese.

    And I feel I should mention that I’m spinning silk for future embroidery. (Though mine’s a 2ply that’s about the weight of standard 6ply embroidery floss.) You are not alone in the craziness. 🙂

  12. It’s lovely to see the karmic geese in another light/forum. it gives me chills every time I see it. And, as one of the spinners, I can’t help wondering where ‘I’ am and who ‘I’ am next to. I imagine the fabric as all of us, sitting together, arms linked or holding hands. The conversations I might have with my ‘neighbours’! 😀

  13. We called unresponsive audiences ‘Oil Paintings’, too. Glad you are basting, I would totally do the same thing (and have done it with the machine with well secured beginning and ending that defy the seam ripper).

  14. Amy P says:

    I enjoy hearing what you get up to with your “yarning”. For myself I blog because otherwise my thoughts would just zip around in my head with no outlet. And to ask for cake recipes.

  15. Gwen says:

    Oil painting is good. Talking to a wall is how I think of it (interviewing new patient, lots of education stuff – difficult when there’s No Response. Even Angry Response is easier)

    Mmmm, the Geese are lovely!

  16. Astrid says:

    Ooo, ooo! So wonderful to see the Awesome Project taking shape! I, too, am in the conversastion of the cloth, the flock of karmic geese. It’s a grand thing. Honk!

  17. Jerri says:

    I love to read your blog when I am at work and cannot be knitting. It keeps me motivated to know someone out there is working with yarn and maybe I’ll have time in the evening. Thanks for keeping it up daily.

Leave a Reply

