december sixteenth


Snapshot

Weather:
Frightful. 27°F, falling wet snow, muddy slush on ground

Currently on my Kindle:
World War Z, An Oral History of the Zombie War
by Max Brooks

Currently on my iPod (music):
Songs of Joy & Peace
by Yo-Yo Ma

Currently on my iPod (audiobook):
The Windup Girl
by Paolo Bacigalupi

Currently in my DVD player:

Torchwood, Season One

On my home planet, we call this…

…a “tape dispenser.” Apparently the Galactic Translator widget for WordPress was on the blink yesterday and for some Earthlings, certain syllables got translated as “stapler.” I think the hamsters of Taurus 3 have upgraded all the necessary software, so now, once again, the word “stapler” ought to read as “tape dispenser.”

No one ever said that blogging on an alien planet would be easy. I mean. Getting Photoshop to work on my spaceship terminal is just a pain in the tentacle.

The Box of Big, Part Two

You all recall the Big Box which came in the post, a box which I am not allowed to see, feel, shake, rattle, nor roll, as it is Part One of Three of my gift from Nicholas:

I asked for guesses of what could be in it. The most popular guess was loom, followed by I Don’t Know But I Want It, and an elliptical.

It was the reply from Lynn, however, that made me stop and tap my appendages on the nearest gravitational surface.

The Box: None of my doing. Nope, none at all. I had absolutely zippo to do with it. (You’re not convinced, are you?)

Hm. I’m not sure if I am convinced or not. Nicholas has been known to conspire on special gifts in the past. He loves, absolutely LOVES, having a secret. And he loves surprising me, and has done so in the past…such as last Christmas, actually. Hm.

OK, let’s vote:

There is a distinct lack of crafting here

I’m stuck. I don’t know why, really, but I am. I have a Secret Thingie to knit for someone, and the handwoven fabric to stitch, and spinning to do, and gift batts to make, and of course, the ever-present Sock To Knit…and I’m just stuck. I’m doing my writing. I walked the dog. I keep the woodstove fire going (who knew that was actual WORK?). I did the online shopping and the gift-sending.

But I’m not knitting, and I’m not crafting, and I’m certainly not baking or decorating, as I want to be.

It’s one of those situations where you wonder what is REALLY going on with yourself. What is it that is blocking me from doing things I enjoy? Yep, I have an ear infection; yep, I’m achy; yep, it’s cold. But heck, those aren’t exactly show-stoppers.

I get in these moods, where I am restless and can’t seem to settle into the state of mind required to craft, or bake, or whatever. It’s as though my mind is off doing something without me. Yeah. That’s it. It’s not as though I want a nap, or I feel foggy, or anything like that.

My mind is on a wander in some other landscape. My mind is working, but it forgot to leave a note to tell me where it was going and when it would be back.

Interesting. There’s also a sense of waiting, a sense of sifting through…sort of like you feel when you have dumped out all the puzzle pieces onto the table, and you’re going through them, turning them right-side up, sorting by colour, searching for the edge and corner pieces…but you don’t have the photo of the finished puzzle, so you don’t know what the whole picture looks like. You know what the colour scheme is, you know some of the elements (oh, look! a bicycle!), but you aren’t even sure of the scale, the perspective, the size of the final view yet.

That’s what it’s like. My mind is literally puzzling something out…wonder what?

Something bigger than that box, methinks.

Today’s Random Good

2010 Toronto Santa Speedo Run (click to embiggen, you know you want to get a better look...)

Grownups who are silly in public to benefit sick children.

I would like to point out that the run took place last weekend in below-freezing temperatures. There are Santa Speedo runs for charity in Boston, Miami, and other cities as well.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to december sixteenth

  1. stitchesandwords says:

    Scarves. Lynn definitely should be making scarves. Especially once she posted pictures of them on Ravelry.

    I don’t know what the restless can’t-settle-to-any-crafty-work feeling would be either … Need a change of pace? A change of scenery? Have you been using up more than usual of your creative-energy on writing, so there’s less available for making other things? Maybe you’re just using a bigger percentage of your energy, period, what with extra winter and holiday chores, so there’s not as much to go around in general? Is it a winter thing, something that usually happens in December, or when it gets cold, or when it’s snowy, or whatever? Maybe you just need a bit of a break, and you’ll be back to your regularly scheduled programming in a day or so? Just some ideas for pondering. Maybe if you acknowledge the stuck-feeling and ask it what’s going on, it will tell you about itself? (A technique I am trying to learn to use with anxiety-feelings and down-in-the-dumps feelings, maybe it can also work on stuck-feelings.)

  2. Torrilin says:

    Keeping after a wood fire is bloody exhausting! It is very reasonable to be more tired with that on your plate.

    Also, the poll has a grave error, and only lets me do two tickyboxes. So there’s a missing vote for the first option. Also, it’s missing an option expressing delight that it’s a tickybox poll. WHAAAAAAAA!!!

    I am dealing with my stuckness by working on Travelling Woman a row at a time, since it’s closest to done. I needs the needle it’s on. Ok, sometimes it’s even as little as a repeat within a row at a time. I’m partway through row 17 of the last chart, so I am REALLY close to done. Every stitch forward is a good thing.

  3. Lynn says:

    Heh.

    Hehhehheh.

    I’ll never tell.

    (but can I have the hairy-chested one on the right?)

  4. Mary Howard says:

    Dear Sandi,

    The creative life is hard, satisfying but hard. It is not easy to manage your time every day when it is not scheduled for you. You are amazingly prolific and the things you make are beautiful. Give yourself a break and lots of self-praise for the many lovely things you have completed. Drink lots of warm drinks and get over that ear infection. You need chocolate!

  5. woolizard says:

    You may be feeling a bit squirrelly, but your writing is still enchanting.

  6. btownknitter says:

    I have no idea what’s in the box, but I did want to let you know how much I enjoy reading your blog. I lived in Scarborough from 1988-1990 and often think of my time there. I’m a native Californian, where I returned after I moved from Canada, and our winters here lack the necessary wickedness. Heavens, just last week we had highs in the upper 60’s. It was awful. Really. The photos and news of the snow make me miss it, well except the shoveling of it. Thank you for keeping my memories alive.

Leave a Reply

