the 28th day-in-a-row of blogging


I’ve now written a blog post every day for four weeks solid. If you had told me a month back that I would be able to do this, I would not have believed you. Maybe it’s like anything else: You just keep going, and sooner or later, you have a knitted cardigan, or a woven strap for a bag.

I’m not sure where this is all going after Twelfth Night (which I have decided will be my last day of blogging-every-single-day), but I wanted you-who-read-this to know something…

To you, the Readers

Dear Anne, Suze, Fiberlicious, and all of You-Who-Read,

Anne, Suze, and Fiberlicious, I re-read your messages to me just now, and I wanted you to know that I was really touched by what you said. Each of you said, in some way or another, that you missed my writing on Knitting Daily. Each of you took the time to figure out how to contact me, and then to write me and tell me that somehow, my writing had made some sort of difference to you and your life.

Tim helping me hang a quilt

That’s the greatest compliment a writer could ever ask for. Well, I suppose that’s the greatest compliment anyone could ask for, no matter what it is that we do in our waking hours. We all dream of Making A Difference. Hearing from you, and from others who have spoken to me, or written to me, or left a comment on the blog…well, I thought you ought to know that your words make a difference to ME.

On days when I’ve felt like I’m “not doing anything important,” on days when I have felt as though what I do isn’t, somehow, “enough,” I’ve remembered things that you, and other readers, have said, and it has kept me writing. More than that, really; it has kept me challenging myself to explore, to think, to craft, to create, to make, and then to find a way to write about all of that. I’m not saving the world, I’m not curing cancer, I’m not even making very much money…but through all of you, and the things you say and write, I am learning something important about making stuff, and about writing.

I don’t know where this all is taking me. Mostly, I am just very grateful to have your encouragement, your support, and your thoughtful commentary and feedback along the way.

(How does three times a week sound, starting January 7th?)

Progress: House Stuff

This is another wall quilt I purchased on Etsy, and we finally got it up on the wall:

That one is by carmenjass of Minnesota. It’s beautiful work, and the fabrics are vibrant batiks. Want a close-up? Sure you do:

Progress: Weaving

I’ve done all but about 40 picks (throws-of-the-shuttle) on the first strap of two for the pick-up bag. This was taken when I was only about half-way done:

I spent some time adjusting my camera, trying to get a better shot of the True Colours. I don’t think I’ve figured it out yet, but here’s another attempt:

The green is GREEN, not yellow. The pink is FUCHSIA. Weirdly enough, the other two colours are actually about right.

Looking at this now, I think I’m not beating the weft firmly enough. Or something else is wrong, because I don’t think it’s supposed to look like that. I think the weft is supposed to show that much, and I think it’s too, wellllll…too flat. Not enough bumpyness, if you will. I think the weft is supposed to pull more tightly, so that it disappears more and the thick warps stick up as bumps more.

Heck, what do I know. I need to go look at some pictures.

Colour-deafness

I think it’s funny that my phrase “colour-deafness” hit such a chord (oh, sorry!) with everyone. I was thinking about that phrase after I posted the blog entry last night, and I realized it was a bit ironic. Ironic as in: I’m one of those folks who actually can hear colours. They make sounds for me, like brown is a bit like an oboe, and green is higher and lighter-sounding. It’s called synesthesia, and I thought everyone was like this up until about ten years ago. I was working as a computer nerd at UC San Diego, and one of the grad students was explaining his research project to me…and I was a little shocked at why he would be studying “people who hear colours” as though that was unusual. I asked him why he didn’t study folks who DIDN’T hear colours, actually. That’s when he looked at me, smiled, and asked me what sound blue made. He explained that not everyone could answer that.

Can you hear this orange? (a little pendant I made)

Kinda weird, thinking about my phrase “colour deafness” now. I used to be a musician, one would think that if I can hear the sounds colours make, then I would be able to choose which ones go together…right? Blows my mind, because I never thought about it that way. I thought the sounds were, I don’t know…not part of the “colours going together” equation, somehow. I thought you kind of had to close your ears when you chose colours…because…Dude. Seriously. Some of the colour combinations out there? Seriously hard on the ears.

Random Goods

Today, you get two: A Pretty, and a Geeky.

Pretty:

Speaking of colours, the sky made some nice ones here last night.

Geeky:

Doctor Who Nesting Dolls. All 11 Doctors. They fit inside the TARDIS.

Because it’s bigger on the inside…

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to the 28th day-in-a-row of blogging

  1. april says:

    I don’t know if i can stand only 3 times a week , but i understand—you have a life and this blog thing could be overwhelming plus we don’t want you getting burned out.

    I have never thought about ‘hearing ‘ colors. i guess i don’t hear them because i have never thought about it, but i absolutely love colors and your sunset picture made me think about how i feel when i see a sunset. or a sunrise because we have been having absolutely beautiful sunrises lately…anyways, i feel almost mesmerized by the colors sometimes, like i can feel it in my heart. even the sunlight in the late spring and early fall the way i see it through the trees affects me. the odd thing is, while i adore bright, bold, even muted colors, i almost always wear browns of some shade.
    what does this mean?

  2. Sylvia says:

    Sandi, when you wrote Knitting Daily, I read every word of every post. I do not anymore, and I have enjoyed getting my “sandi-fix” every day this month! However, I think 3 times a week is much more sane.
    One of your gifts is to let your Self come through in all of your writing – I think it’s one of the reasons people respond so positively to you, because you are so genuine, and we simply don’t get so much of that in our world today. Thank you for sharing yourself and your family with us all!
    I have never heard colors … I’ll have to listen now and see if I do.
    Thank you for these 28 posts.

  3. Many years ago I met a blind man at a party. We discussed color as sound for over an hour. He told me at the time no one had ever tried to explain it that way to him before.

  4. Barbara says:

    Sandi, the band on the inkle loom is supposed to be completely warp faced – – so you are correct in that it is not being beaten tightly enough but also not pulled tightly enough
    at minute 3 of this video you can see the way to pull the weft thru

  5. LynnH says:

    I am a musician as well as an artist. I do not hear colors, but I love the concept.

    A five year old asked me once “Lynnie, what color is music?” I’m still stumped but I love pondering the idea.

  6. cocokat says:

    Sandi, I am certain there are many more out there in fiber-land that your blogs and knitting-daily posts have touched.

    Though I learned to knit first at a very young age, crochet was my first love (self-taught). As time went on, I picked up knitting again and made several very nice things. Your blogs, however, helped me understand that mistakes happen to all of us, and they can be fixed. And that there is sooo much to learn. I’ve been challenging myself ever since. I sincerely miss you on knitting daily and when your posts here stopped for a while, I worried you wouldn’t be back.

    I’m so glad you’ve made a 28-day record! But don’t burn out. Three a week would be wonderful. Fewer if necessary. Just, please, please, don’t stop!

  7. audrey says:

    I really like your postings, they are so real, and personal and I learn something from them. And, it is absolutely impossible I think to blog every day. I tried every week, and am making every month….(which doesn’t really work, so maybe I’ll try for every week…)

  8. Ann Williams says:

    Sandi, I am with post #2. Enjoy your post. Don’t know one thing about weaving except to say that I think your strap is beautiful. Keep writing whenever you feel like it!!!

  9. Patricia says:

    Sandi,

    You are a lady of much wisdom, humor, love and joy, who has blessed us with daily posts during the holiday season. Thank you for being real in a world that often asks us to show only the “nice.” Sharing with us your struggles and fears allows each of us to do the same with each other. I hope you continue to blog on a regular basis however often is comfortable for you. Be blessed in the new year and continue your crafts and writing with joy in your heart.

    In the Ravelry SweaterWise KAL forum you said you thought you’d found your calling…helping us to love ourselves as we are and to express that love in the way we portray ourselves. You’re doing the same thing in this blog, just expanding it to include our emotional selves as well as our physical selves.

    Thank you for all your shared love,
    Patricia

  10. Pat says:

    Sandi,
    Daily is best but I’ll be happy if three works for you.
    Glad that others feel as I do about Knitting Daily – we miss you.
    Pat aka westies

  11. fiberlicious says:

    There’s a fascinating documentary about a man who sees numbers as shapes and colors. Way cool – just like you!

  12. molly says:

    in re.: hearing colours – i ‘see’ music as colours. i didn’t realize that other people don’t until i had a director who did the same thing and none of the rest of the choir did…sadly, i don’t ‘hear’ colours…
    and three times a week – or however often you can happily manage – would be marvelous. of all the things in this world which we can share, our ‘selves’ are the most precious – thank you.

  13. Susanne says:

    What Sandi said. And I very much love to read your blog however often you choose to write it. If colors are sounds for you that should definitely go into how you choose them to go together.

    I have been reading quite a few people saying that they are not good with color, and that has left me a bit stymied. I just use color however I please, and I have no idea if I have a good sense of color or not. I do know that I like them brighter than most people, and more of them together than most people but other than that?

    I also find that I don’t like knitting with different colors as much as I like looking at knitwear with lots of colors.

    How does one stop to be a musician?

  14. Linda says:

    I so love following your blog, and was glad to find you after Knitting Daily. Heck, if it wasn;t for your post on grafting with knitting needles I still wouldn’t have kitchnered toes!
    Even tho I am mostly a lurker, I love reading your posts and have learned so much from your writing.
    Thanks.

  15. Midge says:

    Sandi,
    I have never written to you before, but I read your blog every day and am sooooooo glad you will try and keep writing more frequently! Your daily writings were a wonderful Christmas present! Thank you!
    Midge

  16. Catherine says:

    Hi Sandi – I am so happy to read someone else’s experience with synesthesia. Like you, I didn’t realize my “ability” to mix up numbers and colors was unusual. I like your version though – to hear colors. Mine is limited to numbers and letters. Each is a particular color and appears in my mind in a certain arrangement. My color sense, though, is more visceral. When I see a pleasing combination of colors I feel a warmth and a flip in my gut. If the combination is unpleasing to my eye I get a sensation in my mouth of having just bitten down on a piece of aluminum foil! Not good…

Leave a Reply

