the last post on the last day of 2010


Dude, it is hard to get inspired to write two posts in one day, one here and one over on What’s On Sandi’s Needles? But since I get paid to do That Other Blog, I do try and update it regularly. Today’s post Over There is Are You a Better Knitter Now Than 365 Days Ago? See what you think.

Hawk says, "I am not even 365 days old yet!"

No Big Parties Here, but in San Diego…

We’re not big on New Year’s celebrations around here. I think the only time I really have celebrated New Year’s properly is when I lived in San Diego. My friend Valerie has The Absolute Bestest New Year’s Eve parties EVER, and so for the years that I lived there, I had a fab party to go to. And because Valerie is Valerie, and knows how to party, there was always a gathering on New Year’s morning for snacking and eating, then a hike somewhere pretty, then maybe a silly movie (one year, we saw “Dude, Where’s My Car?”), and then dinner at a Mexican restaurant. A really GOOD Mexican restaurant.

random spinning wheel p0rn

I think the thing that makes Valerie’s parties so kick-arse is the people. We like to say that Valerie wants to Collect The Whole Set of Cool People, meaning: She just likes to meet and get to know fab folks. (Well, and she IS a fab folk. There’s that. And she’s married to Fab Folk (hi Robster!). There’s that, too.)

So tonight, I’m sending my shout-outs and Merry New Year Wishes to all the folks at Valerie’s house. Tomorrow, maybe someone there will raise a really fantastic margarita over a plate of awesome stuffed peppers and nod in the direction of south-eastern Ontario.

The Great Project Round-Up

Last year, I went over all the projects I had finished in 2009. That was fun; let’s do it for 2010!

In no particular order…

Baby Berry Hat

One of Nicholas’ graduate students had her first baby just a few weeks ago, so Nicholas and I knit this for the new sprout.
Pattern:
Berry Baby Hat by Michele Sabatier . Yarn: Bernat Satin Solids (green); Bernat Berella 4 Solids & Ragg (purple).

Blume Hat

It’s kooky. It’s goofy. It’s not really worthy of the gorgeous handpainted yarn, so I might rip out the hat and make something worthy of the pretty stuff.
Pattern: Blume Hat by Connie Chang Chinchio. Yarn: Indigodragonfly MCN Sport, colourway “House Drop.”

Winter Creek Gloves

I really like how these came out! It’s the same yarn as I used for the Blume Hat above; and although it looks as though the cuff and the hand sections are different colourways, that is just the bad lighting, I promise. Super warm and an easy project.
Pattern: Winter Creek Gloves by Sandi Wiseheart (to be published soon). Yarn: Indigodragonfly MCN Sport, colourway “House Drop.”

Sinful Scarves

One tiny loom: my new Cricket. One 6-yard warp. Three skeins of sock yarn. Result: Three scarves! A really fun, quick, easy, fun project.
Pattern: None. (Plain weave on a rigid heddle loom.) Yarn: LittleFreak Yarns Magpie Moon LittleSocks in Wrath (grey), Gluttony (black), and Lust (red).

Crazy S Pickup Band


Another easy weaving project, also done on my Cricket loom.
Pattern: from handouts in Sara Lamb’s weaving class. Yarns: Tahki Cotton Classic II (pink); Aunt Lydia Crochet Cotton #10 (green).

Gift from the Tundra Qiviut Shawlette

photo by Joe Coca from Spin-Off Winter 2010

This project is really counts as two projects, given the intense fibre prep and spinning involved. I am such a proud mama of this little lace prettiness.
Pattern: Qiviut Shawlette by Sandi Wiseheart, Spin-Off Winter 2010. Yarn: 2-ply qiviut and silk, spindle-spun.

Simple Things

modelled for you with grace and charm by Oscar the Gargoyle

I love this shawl! I love the yarn, I love the size, I love the pattern.
Pattern: Simple Things by Mary-Heather Cogar. Yarn: Socks That Rock Silkie by Blue Moon Fiber Arts.

Nutkins


Just a great sock pattern in a great sock yarn.
Pattern: Nutkin by Beth LaPensee. Yarn: Socks That Rock Mediumweight.

Bolero


This one was tough. The instructions gave the same pattern for both sleeves, but the sleeves are not interchangeable. I had to rewrite the mirror-image with all sorts of increases and decreases, keeping the lace in pattern. Argh. Still: Cute!
Pattern: Bolero from Feminine Knits. Yarn: A linen/something blend I have wiped from my mind at the moment. Sorry.

Farmer’s Market Cardigan


I wear this ALL THE TIME. (So does Nicholas, actually. We fight over it a bit.) The collar was a bitch. The pockets were a bitch. The yarn was lovely in the skein but pills like hellya. Would I make this again? Maybe. In a different yarn.
Pattern: Farmer’s Market Cardigan by Connie Chang Chinchio. Yarn: Dream In Colour Smooshy.

And that’s it. Those are the ones I finished, anyways. There’s a pair of mittens I am nearly done with:

Pattern: Fletcher Mittens by indigirl (lining is my own design)

There’s also a pair of nearly-done warm socks for me and a similar pair nearly done for Nicholas, a half-completed EZ Baby Surprise Jacket to go with the Berry Hat above, and my WiseSweater KAL sweater. There’s also a lovely Damson shawl that would have been done in July if I hadn’t run out of the one-of-a-kind handpainted yarn. Ooops. I really want to do that one over…with enough yarn this time.

Farewell, 2010

This was a year of opening doors, and of learning to walk through them. This was a year of imagining, and learning how to bring my imaginings to life. From hosting my own Ravelry group to hanging art on my walls, from starting to weave again to getting my first article published in my beloved Spin-Off, from stitching handwoven fabric made by dozens of hands to designing an intricate lace shawl, this year was filled to the brim with firsts, beginnings, adventures, laughter, challenges, and most of all: Good People.

I think 2010 is the year I started to Collect My Own Set of Fabulous Folks. Thank you, each and every one of you, for teaching me, learning with me, laughing with me, and just being yourself.

Today’s Random Good

winter kisses are good kisses!

Besides the llama photo, how about this:

Sitting on my desk are three videos and a couple of books, all either knitting or spinning-related. They are brand new in-the-wrapping goodies, and I am going to be giving these away during the months of January and February as part of our season of Deep Winter Kindnesses. Stay tuned for a chance to win, oh, say… a copy of Maggie Casey’s video, Start Spinning; or Abby Franquemont’s video Drafting, the Long and Short of It; or whatever else I can come up with.

The Deep Winter Kindness Fairy is In Da House!

Thank you, 2010, for all that you brought us, for all that you taught us.
Welcome, 2011! May you be kind, and funny, and nurturing, and full of grace and love.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to the last post on the last day of 2010

  1. Purlista says:

    Happy New Year Sandi! Thank you for sharing your year with us – the highs and lows. I know all of us shared the same feelings at various points along the way.

    I hope to keep hearing lots from you in 2011!

  2. georg says:

    I love you in all the best possible ways. May the new year bring you new joys.

  3. Ann Williams says:

    Sandi, you have brightend the days of an old lady. THANK YOU!!

  4. Rachel says:

    Random Act of Kindness — you have brightened my life with your words. You have inspired my knitting and my life.

    It was wonderful to put a face and hugs to words on a screen. Thank you — you and Sir N have touched my life

  5. stitchesandwords says:

    Well done, intrepid blogger. Beautiful work, fearless crafter. Happy New Year, and all blessings be yours in 2011.

    Much love, Cris

  6. Barbara G. says:

    May your new year of 2011 be full of happiness and fun crafty projects too!
    I have only recently discovered your blog here, after missing you on that other knitting web blog. I have missed your cheerfulness and great humor, so I look forward to 2011 and hearing more words of wisdom from you.
    Thank you very much, Barbara

  7. molly says:

    thank you so much for sharing with us. it’s been an act of kindness that has enriched us all.

  8. Lynn says:

    Happy New Year, dearie, to you and Nicholas and all the furry ones!

  9. GailR says:

    Happy 2011 to you and yours. May you continue to collect good firsts, add to the existing ones and continue to add a bit of joy to the lives of others.

  10. Suzie says:

    Wishing you and Sir. N. all good things in 2011. Through this blog and Ravelry, it has been a pleasure to begin to get to know you. I look forward to more in the year ahead.

  11. astrbear says:

    Happy New Year, Sandi! Thanks for taking the time to share your journeys with us, both fibrous and personal.

    Astrid

  12. InJuneau says:

    Happy New Year to you and all of yours, from somewhere way west and a bit north of you! Thank you for all you do and say and share and teach.

  13. cocokat says:

    Happy New Year Sandi, Nicolas, and all your furry friends.

    I love the project round-up for the year. I’d been thinking of going over all the projects I’ve done this year. More than ever! You turned me into a fearless knitter!

  14. Patricia says:

    Happy New Year to you and Sir N. You have brightened my life immeasurably with all you have shared of yourself and your knitting expertise. I look forward to continuing the journey with you in 2011.

    Patricia

  15. deb says:

    Just want to thank you for all your words of knitting wisdom. I dearly love knitting and now would love to learn to spin.

Leave a Reply

