sunday jan. 2


I had so much fun reading all the comments that have come in so far. I’m so glad so many of you popped in to leave a note! It’s always fun for me to get a glimpse at the folks I’m writing this for. (If you didn’t have a chance to enter the giveaway drawing, go here and leave a comment on the January 1st post.)

Unwarping

This blue and white warp has been on my Norwood 4-harness for seven years.

The warp started out as overshot kitchen towels, towels meant as gifts. Nicholas and I were going to weave the towels together; he helped me pick out the weaving draft and warp the loom.

Then we had to move from San Diego to Colorado, and the loom with the warp still on it got folded up and wrapped in blankets and trucked 1148 miles to our new home at the foot of the Rockies. Nicholas and I both started new jobs, life got crazy…and then we moved 1509 miles from Colorado to Milton, a suburb of Toronto. The loom, still folded, still with the warp tied on, once again was wrapped in blankets and trucked northwards. Eight months later, our landlady decided to sell the house out from under us, and once again, the loom was put on a truck for another trek northwards to the town where we live now.

This morning, I took the blue and white warp off the loom. I’d forgotten which draft we had planned to weave, and the threading was complicated, too complicated for me to figure out. I tried weaving a sample, using all sorts of treadling patterns…but nothing looked very good. I started to get an image in my head of blue and white towels striped with green…and that’s when I decided the warp had to be redone.

I’m not going to do the blue, white, and green towels right away. I’m going to do the pickup tote first. But taking off that seven-year warp seems like such a milestone to me that somehow it seemed blog-worthy. I think at some point one lets go of plans that didn’t work out, dreams that didn’t quite fit; most of the time that letting go is below our conscious radar.

I feel like I’ve been slowly letting go of the past seven years. They were good years, don’t get me wrong. But they were years where Nicholas and I put aside a lot of hopes and dreams for the future, because we were Just Coping with the things that life threw at us., such as, oh…Canada.

The obligatory Canadian Basket O' Woollies

The shift from a life lived near the ocean, in a lovely temperate climate, with flowers and sunshine all around, where we could wear sandals nearly year-round, to a life lived in places with snow and no ocean for miles, with months of little sun, where we have to change our entire wardrobe twice a year…that was a huge change for us, especially for me. In San Diego, we could pretty much just dash out the door, or wander outside to take a photo, and not think twice about what shoes we were wearing. In Canada, it can be a matter of life and death what sort of clothing we are wearing if our car breaks down.

But we’ve got the winter thing figured out now, and it’s become habit to check the temperature and weather before leaving the house. We’ve accumulated proper winter gear, and even each lost our first set of mittens. We’ve learned how to cope; now there’s room to learn how to dream again.

The old warp of our lives has finally come off the loom. It’s time to choose a new pattern, to measure a new warp.

Today’s Random Good

Frog biscuits.

Nicholas made them for me last night. They have cheese in them.

Sincerely yours,
the Frog Princess

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to sunday jan. 2

  1. Naomi says:

    Hee, I think I have that same biscuit-cutter. (It came with a cookie recipe on the tag, but I’ve only ever used it for biscuits.) Cheese, eh? Hmmm.

  2. Lynn says:

    Letting go IS the hard part, isn’t it? I still have several unfinished quilts; I think the last quilt I finished was about 15 years ago.

    And I want cheesy froggy biscuits!

  3. molly says:

    dear frog princess: letting go is hard – especially when it’s a big thing that feels like part of ourselves. but we are human. we adapt. and we don’t really lose a part of ourselves – we gain a new bit!
    enjoy the froggie bikkies!
    cheers!

  4. stitchesandwords says:

    Here’s to dreaming. Enjoy the biscuits 🙂

  5. Julie says:

    Thank you for sharing your journey and talking about the letting go. It resonates with me because I’ve been coping with changes within my job for the last 7-8 years and until very recently, I had been ignoring that fact and the dreams that were lost with the changes and am trying to move forward this year with new dreams… trying to figure out what I want now and hoping to be a less attached to all the crazy things that can fill the days and spend a little more time looking ahead and planning for the future. It feels like baby steps, but they are steps and I’ve decided it’s okay if they are small as long as they are going somewhere.

    Best wishes in journey for finding your new dreams.

  6. Pat says:

    How fitting! a new year a new outlook a new warp(ed) outlook! Finding joy in the where you are and not getting lost in the wake of changes. It seems hopeful and fitting. Not at all like resignation but of rising to the challenge. Our new semester starts tomorrow, and I am trying to get excited. Letting go of plans; good plans; bring on 2011!! Let the games begin!

  7. Barbara G. says:

    There is that old saying about having to close one door before you can open another, it still rings true for me years after I first heard it.
    Also, about dreams, there are some that must be let go of during living, and there are others that just live quietly in the background until the right time in our lives comes to let them manifest.
    Here’s to all dreams, may you welcome in some really great new ones for 2011!

  8. Purlista says:

    Frog biscuits are awesome! Love those. And everything needs to have cheese in it. mmmm… cheesy frogs. Nicholas is awesome too.

    and timely, as I had to frog 50% of my poetry in stitches sweater today 😦 ugh. but it didn’t fit – bound off the armholes just a wee bit too soon. Tiny angelic Sandi sat on my shoulder and said that if it was worth knitting this sweater it was worth knitting properly. As in so I could actually wear it. I already have one entire Poetry in Stitches sweater that could fit two of me. I refuse to make one that fits half of me.

    Re: Canada, look on the bright side – there are much more opportunities for fashionable knitwear there than there are in San Diego. I live in San Francisco where sweaters are desirable most days, but to be honest hats and mitts are really just for show… not that I have a real problem with that.

  9. Wendy says:

    I have so got you beat, Sandi. The warp on my big loom has been on there since 1983! (I did complete one of the 3 blankets 13 years in as an anniversary present for some dear friends.)

  10. Mardi says:

    Ribbit. Ribbit. Ribbi- (chomp!)

    Silence.

  11. Sharon says:

    Wendy, you have me beat too! I’ve had a lovely wool sweater on my needles since 1994. I take it out and work on it every few years. I still love the sweater, but hate knitting it because the charting is so perverse and I had to make corrections.

    I’m going to keep rereading Sandi’s words until I get up the gumption to just frog the first half of the back or turn it into a cushion cover! I know, half the back finished and still a front and two sleeves to go … who am I kidding? If I finish this sweater, then I’d expect to be buried in it! But even writing this, I know I’m not ready to take out that needle just yet.

    Kudos to you, Sandi! You’ve made some big changes in your lifestyle. I hope you start to like living in Canada. I can’t imagine living anywhere else. If Nicholas can find a teaching position on the west coast, you could go back to sandals for most of the year. Canada isn’t all snow and deep cold! DH and I are wearing sandals, even though there are a few degrees of frost!

  12. Pat says:

    Sndi,
    love the frog biscuits. Will Nicholas share his receipe?
    Pat

  13. Pat says:

    Sandi,
    love the frog biscuits. Will Nicholas share his receipe?
    Pat

  14. Suzie says:

    Sandi, this is a wonderful and remarkable post. So rarely do we get such a clear external manifestation of our internal struggles. Hurrah for you, having the courage to unwarp and then rewarp your loom to fit the place in your life where you are right now. I hope that this will lead to many dreams coming true for both you and Nicholas! Your dream of cheesy frogs already has.

  15. Donna B says:

    We used to live near Monterey… we were there less than a year, but the overwhelming beauty of the place left its mark on me forever. I miss the ocean. Thankfully, we live very near Lake Michigan now, which is at least water. But there is nothing like ocean close by. And your loom is a twin to mine, I think. I have never woven on it, because I am scared of warping. I think I need to get over it! And I love the froggies.

Leave a Reply

