Results Thursday!


Hooray! The Giveaway Llama is now IN DA HOUSE!

There were over 80 comments on the January 1st blog entry. (I read–and loved–each and every one of them, thank you.) I popped the list into an online random number generator and it gave me a list of (oddly enough) random numbers, which I then matched to the numbered comments.

Congratulations to lucky number 72: Calendula! She’s the winner of the Start Spinning DVD by Maggic Casey. WOOT!

Here’s sweet comment #72 from Calendula:

Dear Sandy,
I read your blog regularly – but I hesitated a lot to write a commentary because my English is not so good (my dear husband thinks it’s not too bad). I love your blog and your topics and I dream to start spinning quite for a while, maybe your giveaway could be the beginning?

Calendula, your English is perfect. And I’m very happy to help your spinning dreams come true! I’ll be emailing you shortly to get  your mailing address so I (and the Deep Winter Kindness Fairy, of course) can send you the DVD.

Let’s all give a big warm round of applause to the new spinner-to-be, Calendula!

The rest of you: Well played! And STAY TUNED, because the Deep Winter Fairy and the Giveaway Llama have a few more goodies up their sleeves (or actually, on my desk). I’ll be announcing the next giveaway within the next few blog entries.

Blogging Change

I’m in denial. Today is supposed to be the last day of daily blogging for me, but I haven’t quite come to terms with the change yet. I like the daily routine; I like the structure writing daily gives to my world. I really like the way that daily blogging has helped me to listen, to focus, and to sort through some of the pesky things that get in my way (and apparently, get in YOUR way quite often, as well). The feedback via the comments has been nothing short of gobsmacking, sometimes.

I’ve been thinking how to keep some of those good things and yet make more room in my day for the other projects I need time for. Shorter entries? Writing every day but only posting every other day, choosing the best of what I write for the blog?

I’ve never fit into a blogger’s box very well.

For example, to have a successful blog, common wisdom (and marketing theory) says that one ought to concentrate on a single main topic area. You know, like knitting. And common wisdom and marketing theory also say one ought to keep the entries short, say 300-500 words, max. Oh, and you are supposed to have your posts ready-to-publish first thing in the morning.

Anyone notice how those rules are So Not Sandi? I do write about knitting, but mostly I write about life, which is a big basket full of things from cat puke to llama farms to snow shoveling and, yes, knitting/spinning/yarn/beads and tiaras.

My posts, no matter what I do, are around 750-770 words. Consistently. I don’t try for a certain length, it just happens.

And I write in the mid-afternoon, because I Am So Not A Morning Person.

By every formal measure of blogging success, my blog shouldn’t be successful. But it is, by my measures anyway. I will point out that those rules above were the ones I was supposed to follow at Knitting Daily as well: keep it short, keep it focused, and send it out early; I never, ever EVER could follow those rules and when I left KD, I had nearly 300,000 readers signed up. Thus apparently: Rules schmules.

So what happens next in Wiseheart Blog Land?

I’m not quite sure. I think I’m going to keep listening to the little voice inside and do what it says. (Not the little voice that tells me to clean all my guns and eat a bunch of Krispy Kremes, OK, the other little voice. Sheesh, you guys.)

Thus: New Blog Schedule Starts Tomorrow, Friday, January 7th. Let’s say it will be AT LEAST three times a week. If I feel like doing something extra, I will. You can sign up to get an email notification of new entries (go to home page, scroll down till you see Email Subscriptions in the right column), you can use RSS to have the new entries entered into your blog reader (on the home page, scroll till you see the green RSS icon in the right column), you can follow me on Twitter (@sandiwiseheart) where I post links to new entries, or you can just wander on by here at your leisure and catch up any time you feel like it.

Thank you so very, very much for sharing the last 37 days with me. Your comments and your companionship has been great fun, and the things you have said have helped light my way. HUGS!

Today’s Random Good

I thought we needed a second Kindness Giveaway Right Now. So: The pretty in the photo is superwash BFL, hand-dyed in a very cheerful colourway by Amy King of Spunky Eclectic.

As a surprise Deep Winter Kindness, I’m sending out a bit of that fibre to the second number on today’s randomly generated list, #38…Shirley!

Here’s the comment Shirley left:

Hi Sandi,

I missed you so much at IW that I found your blog and have been a silent reader ever since. I started spinning exactly one year ago but would love to have the spinning DVD.

Shirley, it’s been lovely to have you here, silent or not. Thank you so much. (I’ll send you an email shortly, too.)

See you tomorrow, everyone…and then onwards, into the undiscovered country that is our shared future. (We’re taking the llama along, just for fun.)

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Results Thursday!

  1. naomi says:

    Here’s hoping the Giveaway Llama kicks the Drama Llama out of your house.

  2. I love those llamas!!!!

    I a also hoping you continue to be moved to write daily, as i love to hear from you every afternoon! However, I understand that life has it’s own priorities too

  3. Liz says:

    They say there are rules for blogging? Fie on them I say. Who are they anyway?

    I hear you on the not a morning person thing too. I can be vertical and moving before 10 am, but don’t expect any actual thought processes.

    Seriously, blog in your voice, because that’s why I keep coming back.

    And listen to that little voice that tells you to clean all your guns – dirty armaments are the devil. 😉

  4. donna lee says:

    There are blogging rules? Who said so? I blog when I want about what I want and if I’m the only person who reads it, then so be it. I can only be myself and I am determined to be the best me I can be (on any given day that “best” bit changes quite a bit).

    Write when you feel like writing. I’d bet that that’s when you do your best writing anyway.

    Weaving looks so complicated. And I DO NOT NEED ANOTHER FIBER ADDICTION.

  5. molly says:

    ‘common wisdom’ is so, well, common and you, my dear, are not.
    blog when and how you will – we’ll follow you all the way!
    cheers
    molly

  6. pat says:

    Hi Sandi,
    Blogging rules – follow your own instincts. They are great. OH PLEASE, don’t leave the llama behind. 🙂 They become very depressed when lonely. That is a really cute llama. Does it have a name?
    Seriously, I love your blogs and will wait for each new one to arrive. You add to my life.
    Pat

  7. Michelle says:

    I just read an article in Wired about the trend of longer blogs–and suggested 1,600 as a good length. So, there you go, your blog is now too short! Aren’t rules grand?

    I’m glad you’re blogging more at whatever length and however often you choose!

  8. Melanie teabird says:

    what Naomi said.

  9. Laura says:

    I come back–and will keep coming back, whenever you post–because I enjoy hearing your voice and thinking about what you say. You’re a gifted writer. If we can do anything to encourage that gift in you, then I hope you’ll let us know. Sometimes encouragement means giving space, so that you have less things to write and more time to focus. Sometimes it’s just being around when necessary.

    I love getting encouragement from you. Today it was in the form of those fantastic llama pictures. I needed the smile those produced so badly!

    PS: on the “time” rule: who cares? It’s not like we’re all in the same time zone anyway. I’m in Seattle–your early afternoon is my morning!

  10. Lynn says:

    Yay for more Sandi blogging, whenever it is and whatever it’s about!

    And a random hug, just cuz….

  11. Patricia says:

    Sandi,

    I love that your blogs cover whatever topics you’re thinking of, instead of focusing on one structured idea per blog. Life is all about going with the flow and you do that in such a winning, loving, wonderful way that I look forward to reading everything you write, at whatever time of day you post it! Keep up the great writing and sharing your journey with us. You are an inspiration to many of us.

  12. Ashley says:

    I’ve really enjoyed reading your daily posts – the cat photos, life musings, and funny stories (Pappers? That story just *killed* me.) have been such a bright spot in my days. I’m glad you plan to keep writing regularly!

  13. RichelleCK says:

    Just wanted to say I love your blogs and the fact you talk to us like your friends. This is a big good!

    And I also wanted to check in on Buddy. Hope he is doing better now!!!

  14. april says:

    sweet giveaways!

    i will read your blog if you write 7 days a week or 1 day a month. you’re a joy to read. i love that little email reminder every day, but hey!- i will read whenever you write. you still have to knit, weave, write patterns (our little ravelry KAL), and everything else a girl has to do in a day!

  15. Barbara G. says:

    Well, so far, I agree with everyone else! Your blog is yours, do it your way! I have really loved the topics and the wanderings, they are just like life and your thoughts are a joy to read! So, keep doing this please, whenever it pleases you to do so and I will stay tuned!
    Plus I love looking at your wonderful pictures of cats, llamas, your home life and of course your fiber projects.

  16. Nancy says:

    A belated thank you for everything, Sandi. The glimpses you offer into your life and your creative processes are enjoyable and the kitties are so cute!

  17. Karen says:

    I love your blogs, I love your pictures, I love hearing about the strange Canadian things.

    I look forward to your blogs how ever often you write.

  18. meg says:

    If you thought it would be ok I would be happy to send your new spinner some wool roving … I have pounds and pounds of it. Just let me know. And Happy new Year!

  19. GinkgoKnits says:

    Rules? Charm and talent trump rules everytime (having adorable pets also helps).

  20. Tamara says:

    I know you know even more about this now than you did then, but people hunted and searched a found you after you left KD and after you left WOSNs, because they wanted to hear you! You weren’t the corporate voice urging them to buy more stuff, as KD has sadly become. You were just you, and very valuable just that way.

    Also, I’m fascinated by your using a raddle and putting the lease (sp?) sticks into your cross BEFORE you get near your loom? I’ve never seen that in a direction before but it seems like it might be helpful. I’ve never warped my loom before–trying to now–so I hope you have more pictures on your progress!

Leave a Reply

