facing the queue of doom


I resolve…not to lose my mind in 2011

I hate making New Year’s Resolutions, because I just can’t stick with them very long. The idea of being committed to change in the New Year, however, is really enticing to me. It’s sort of like when you buy a new purse: You swear to yourself it will stay neat and organized, that you will never find a sticky unwrapped mint clinging to the lining of THIS pretty treasure bag, that all your pens will be in THIS pocket and your hair-fixing-things in THAT pocket, your cell phone will always be where it is supposed to be and you will never ever lose your keys, because now, of course, they will be clipped to the super-duper special Key Clip Widget.

We all know how long that particular state of pure organization lasts.

Still, the lure of change, of cleaning and organizing and bring order to the chaos that is my life, that lure is strong and very, very seductive.

For one thing, I’d really like to not be insane in 2011. That’s a worthy goal. Right?

The Chaos that is My Project Queue

For example…let’s take my project queue. My project queue rarely resembles my tidy project notebook on Ravelry, for example. Either I’m working on something super-secret for publication, or I’m making gifts for friends who might peek, or (and this is the most common factor) I just plain forget that I’ve got half a sock in that green bag over there. I have Chronic Startitis, and that’s fine, really it is…but I’d really like to encourage myself to develop at least a mild case of Finished Objectitis, too.

These are ... some ... of my project bags

I’ve heard of various groups on Ravelry making various commitments to their craft for the New Year. There’s the 111 in 2011 group, who pledge to make 111 things this year. (Bonkers. Just Bonkers, if you ask me.) There’s the slightly less ambitious, but still no lazy-bones group 52 in 52 weeks. How about the 12 in 12 months group? Or the 12 Sweaters This Year group? And on and on.

I’m impressed by those groups and their commitment, but I’m not so sure I can do anything that ambitious.

I thought I’d start out by making a list of the unfinished projects scattered around my house. (The OBVIOUS ones, OK, the ones I can find without calling in an excavation crew.) Here’s the list (not counting a couple of super-secret-for-publication projects). The links go to my Rav project pages; the ones without links are, well…linkless.

UFO’s as of January 2011

  1. Karmic Geese (includes spinning the thread and sewing the Thing)
  2. Cheery Fletcher Mittens (have one-half hand’s lining to knit)
  3. Undulating Ribs socks for N. (have foot of first sock and entire second sock to go)
  4. Thick socks for me (personal pattern; first sock done, have to knit second sock)
  5. Baby Surprise Jacket (almost to neck increases)
  6. Hoodie for Liz (halfway through one sleeve)
  7. Wheatgrass Truffle (includes finishing the pattern, the software, and the knitting; done with Back and half the fronts)
  8. Winter Creek Gloves (must knit pattern again in a second yarn for kits)
  9. Tote Bag body (weaving on floor loom)
  10. Tote Bag strap (weaving on inkle loom)
  11. Cashmere Silk spinning on Trindle (25% done)
  12. Pink Cormo spinning on wheel (30% done)
  13. Spinning for N’s brown vest (not done blending fibre yet)
  14. Hat for gift (finished spinning yarn, need to knit hat)
  15. Sweater for gift (knitting top-down, am at armholes)

I’m sure there are more unfinished projects around. In fact, I KNOW there are more. (Guess where? Yup. Go to the head of the class if you guessed In The Studio Upstairs.) I’m kind of afraid to go digging too much right now, however. Let’s just start with that list above. It doesn’t look too scary, right? It looks almost…manageable. 15 projects. 3 spinning, 2 weaving, 9 knitting, 1 combination spinning/sewing.

I’d really like to have all of those be Finished Objects by the time 2012 rolls around. Think I can do that?

Zoe helps to model a finished object from 2010

This does not mean I can’t start new projects. It doesn’t mean that I can’t up and frog one of the above projects if it misbehaves. It just means that by the end of 2011, those 15 projects are gonna be Outta Here, one way or another. Off the needles, done, gifted, in my working wardrobe, whatever. Done. Finis. The End.

What this also means is that I am responsible to YOU folks now for those 15 projects. Yeah, babeeeee. Accountability. Let’s say that during the first week of each month of 2011, I have to report back to you on this blog as to how those 15 projects are progressing.

I’ll try to have photos for all of them by next month. That’s do-able.

The Deep Winter Fairy Thanks You…

I had SO MUCH FUN emailing the winners of yesterday’s giveaways (one planned, one a surprise), putting together their packages, and mailing them off today. I’m determined to come up with more mischief for the Deep Winter Kindness Fairy to spread around. I’m already trying to decide what next week’s giveaway will be. I have a little pile here on my desk….hmmmmm…..

a glimpse of the Deep Winter Fairy?

Giving is good. One of the packages went to Germany, the other went to the state of Georgia in the southern U.S. As I wrapped the goodies, I imagined them being opened in faraway places, threads connecting my little house here in Canada with people half a continent and half a world away.

So next week. Shall I do another spinnerly giveaway, or a knitterly giveaway?

Today’s Random Good

You liked the llamas, did you? Good. But now, the alpacas say it’s their turn to charm you.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to facing the queue of doom

  1. Jan says:

    I’m so glad to read your post. I’m also a chronic starter. I’m not going to count my WIP’s, because I may have to take myself to the fainting couch. I love a new challenge, and those come up frequently. I get enticed by a new yarn, new pattern, or both, and I immediately pitch my current WIP to start a new one. This leads to a freakish number of projects hidden in closets, under beds, well, you get the idea. I feel so much better that I’m not alone.

  2. Laura says:

    I love this. This is a 2011 idea I can get behind. Finishing (or frogging)…so, completing!…all my WIPs. Including that scarf that is really pretty but never seems to get done because the complex cable work just doesn’t appeal. Yeah. Including that one. That would be awesome.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Pat says:

    Hi Sandi,
    Love alpacas but adore llamas — What can I say? My unfinished projects are in needlepoint. Could keep an army going for years with those. Am doing pretty well with my knitting and quilting. Right now, I’m working on scarves/hats and quilted doll blaankets for grankids american GIRL DOLLS. Quick, week long projects and then back to a very special quilt project – a memorial quilt for the 22 y/o son of a friend who was killed in Kandaharlast moth. That will be my focus until it’s done.
    Think that I will make a resolution to complete 2 needlepoint project by 2012 – in addition to my knitting and quilting.
    Oh and really learn to use my espinner so that I can spin the fiber from the llamas that we took care of. That should keep me off the street and out of trouble ๐Ÿ™‚
    Pat

  4. InJuneau says:

    After a couple of years of being good and having one spinning project on a spindle and maybe one knitting project going, I’ve lost control. There are two wheel spinning projects going, three spindle ones (gotta finish making the plying ball for one so I can actually ply it), and at least two knitting ones on needles plus other little ones I need to do to finish holiday gifts. I will strive to work through them all this year, as well as knit the DH a sweater and myself a cowl and prob. spin for and knit one for my sister. We’re in this together, I think!

  5. Deb says:

    Life is to short, so I have become a chronic starter too. I am down to only 3 WIP and have dug through my stash for 2 new projects to start. As InJuneau says ” we’re in this together”. Love your blog and will read whatever you write and whenever you have the time to blog. I also followed you from KD.

  6. molly says:

    i would really REALLY like to finish the christmas knitting projects from 2009…not that i haven’t finished a few others things since, but those ones prey on my mind….

  7. Yay for the alpacas! I just have to say I adore alpacas! By the way… a knitterly giveaway would be awesome! All I need is another project to add to my queue, or more yarn to add to my stash, or another book to add to my endlessly growing knitting library! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Pat says:

    Brave Sandi,
    I admire your commitment to finish. I am almost persuaded. Let’s see (market bag, socks 1, socks2, afghan, baby sweater). 5 projects…hmmm. You can do it!!!!

  9. Rachel says:

    I too suffer from the “ooh shiny must start now” syndrome. That and things for me get moved to the bottom of the queue. I have at least 6 projects on my needles now, 2 different spindles in play (and I’m just learning how to spin!)

    My resolution is to continue with HealthMonth (yes, you hooked me in). I like being accountable. And to finish what is on my needles before starting yet another project. One can only live in hope that somehow I’ll change.

    as a side note: the Deep Winter Fairy has dragonfly wings? Why am I not surprised?

  10. april says:

    you have some good goals. i would like to finish a few things, too.

    also, i enjoyed how happy you were to give things away…..”there is more happiness in giving than in receiving.”

    have a wonderful evening.

  11. Ann Williams says:

    I have lots of wips also and I only knit. You are so brave, Sandi.

  12. Castiron says:

    Go for it!

    I have a slew of WIPs, and I don’t expect to finish them all in the next year, but I’m at least working on all of them regularly. As long as nothing’s getting buried, they’ll all get done eventually.

  13. Carole says:

    Well, I’m glad to see that I am not the only one with a dozen or more UFOs, including the Wheatgrass. I really really love that project, and I keep wanting to finish up other things so I can focus on it. I’m starting to believe that that day will never come. Time to just get busy with it! Must post my other two FOs that I just did. It’s been nuts the past month or two, yes?

    Carole (ravelry: 3strands)

  14. Shirley says:

    Finishing your 15 UFO’s in 2011 sounds like a reasonable goal to me. You can do it! (I cannot imagine finishing 111 projects – yikes!)

    As the Georgia winner of the Deep Winter Fairy giveway a few days ago, I feel a connection to the winner in Germany also. I lived there for 3 years and enjoyed everything except the extremely cold weather. That’s another thing you have in common with the Germany winner and for a brief time I will too when a major Winter storm visits us next week.

    Good luck with your projects!

  15. GailR says:

    I have 17 knitting projects going on, 17 stitching projects and I won’t count the spinning. I think I may select 3 of each to concentrate my efforts and then add another as each is finished. If I try for all 17 of each, I know I won’t finish much of anything – 3 – yep I think I can do that. Thank you for the encouragement.

  16. woolizard says:

    I don’t know what it is, but your blog is getting more and more wonderful the more you write. It was wonderful before, but now it’s more so. There are so many topics resonating with me, and it’s soothing to the soul….especially when it makes me feel “somebody else feels this way, too!”

    What is it about finishing, anyway? Why are we ashamed of started items that aren’t finished? Imagine if we never started anything ever again until something was finished. “Sorry, honey, we can’t have a second child until the first one is finished…you know, reaches the age of consent.” Or you only cooked and ate one component of a meal because you can’t start the next one.

    Okay, maybe it’s not the resonating as much as the providing a springboard for some loony thoughts. And did you notice I did not include my number of unfinished objects? ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Mireille says:

    I’ve decided to work on finishing my projects, and more importantly for me, posting the finished objects to my project page on Ravelry. Maybe I’ll even have something from my handspun out there by year end now that you’ve sucked me into the world of spinning.

    Thanks for the inspiration, and for helping me to be a braver, and therefore better crafter.
    And since you never know till you ask … Got any tips for housework?

  18. Bonnie says:

    I think that’s a great goal for 2011! I look forward to reading about your progress on those 15 projects

  19. Tamara says:

    I’m afraid I’m completely and utterly all about the alpacas! I had no idea they looked so much like Ewoks!! Gah!

Leave a Reply

