almost warped


My little 4-shaft loom is almost warped. (This is the pick-up tote from Sara Lamb’s Woven Treasures.)

After doing paperwork and email and other little chores this morning, I decided it was time to warp the loom. However, because I hadn’t warped this particular loom in a loooooong time (oh, say, seven years), I had to dig up my reed hook (brass tool on the left side of the loom) and heddle hook (wood-handled tool on the right side of loom).

That search took me about an hour and a half. It was a productive hour-and-a-half: I also found my wee video camera, and some fibre I’d been looking for, and extra shuttle bobbins. Once I found the reed hook (with two of its siblings) and the heddle hook (with three others), I filled up a mug with all these weaving necessities, stored the video camera in my desk drawer, and put the fibre where I can find it when I need it.

Being organized feels good, even in these early stages. And reclaiming my favourite tools, so long after packing them away, that feels good, too. More puzzle-pieces of self popping back into place after the past few years of chaos.

Lightbulbs

I like threading the heddles on my loom. I have metal heddles, and they make a lovely noise as they move around on the shaft frames.

I like the sensation of organizing the threads, and of creating a pattern as I put each thread in its proper heddle. I love having the threads slide through my hands, I love my hand-turned heddle hook.

One thing I really loved about this particular warping session were the mind-tingles I was getting from re-learning something I’d known but forgotten + learning a few new tips along the way + the sudden lightbulbs that would go off in my head now and then as I got bright ideas of my own for how to make the warping process easier.

I think my favourite lightbulb was this one:

I can take the front beam off, just by removing four screws.

I’ve been reading up on looms, because…well…someday I might want an 8-shaft floor loom, right? (It’s good to start one’s research early.) Many of the loom websites talk about how their looms have removable front beams to make threading the heddles easier (otherwise, if the front beam stays in place, you have to sit in front of it and reach over and around it to thread the heddles and it can give you sore shoulders, plus it is hard to see the heddle eyes). I’ve been threading this loom for oh, I don’t know…ten years before I stopped weaving? Let’s just say ten years. All that time, I’ve been suffering cramped shoulders and a sore back and problems seeing the heddles, because the front beam was in the way. I groused about not having a removable front beam.

Until today, when I looked at those four screws and realized I DO have a removable front beam.

It’s as though all my crafting and yarn knowledge and fearless knitting and whatnot has had time to simmer in my brain so that when I need to find a craft workaround of some sort, the lightbulbs are ready and waiting to go off. It’s happened several times in the course of warping this project, and it amazes me each time.

The reed has also been sleyed.

All that is left is to tie the ends onto the front apron rod and get it tensioned properly.

Today’s Random Good

It’s good to be good at something.

Tim, 3:00 PM EST

Tim, 5:30 PM EST

Tim is really good at napping in tiny fuzzy ball.

P.S. Blog entry? What blog entry? I don’t see a blog entry here…

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to almost warped

  1. molly says:

    it is good to be good at something – and it’s even better to be good at something you had forgotten you were good at…
    and turn out to be even better at it!
    cheers!
    molly

  2. molly says:

    oops – forgot to preview….meant to say ‘turn out to be even better at it than you were before….’

  3. Lynn says:

    Hey, I’ve been sleying my reed and threading my heddles today, too! Great minds…winter time…the yarn calling…

  4. Heather says:

    Tying up loose ends, finding lost tools and organizing all in one day? Yea you!

  5. Mary says:

    The colors on your loom are beautiful. I am not a weaver, but you make it look so tempting.

  6. Naomi says:

    Heee, Mel’s pretty good at that, too.

    And thanks for sharing the removable-front-beam revelation.

  7. Carrie says:

    Thanks for writing more often again. I loved reading your writing on Knitting Daily and I love reading it here too. It inspires me to go make something! I couldn’t resist casting on for fingers-up mittens last night – even though I have a tricksy sweater in progress.

  8. Lisa says:

    Sandi, the colors on your loom are bee-u-tee-ful! (I love purples and dark pinks – my Big Winter Coat is a fuchsia color) and I look forward to seeing pics as you make progress on your tote project. Last night I worked on a scarf project on my rigid heddle loom. I love the process of weaving.
    Went to a sewing class (actually, it was a class about learning how to use your machine better and take care of it and trouble-shoot problems) and I had ah-ha moments during the class, which has inspired me to sew more and learn more about sewing. I can’t wait! I love expanding my knowledge about things. Ah-ha moments and light bulbs are exciting and inspirational!
    Have a great day!

  9. stitchesandwords says:

    Yay for new weaving tricks! That’s good enough to ignore the transgression of an extra blog entry. (Blog? What blog? I don’t see any blog here, no posting, nothing to see, move along.)

  10. Vicki says:

    Blog entry? why no…you are just sharing your joy and excitement about your discoveries. Why bottle up all that excitement and satisfaction. Sharing with those who REALLY get it is sooooo satisfying.

  11. Jerri says:

    I agree with Carrie, thanks for writing again more often. Reading your posts is always encouraging and makes me stay busy with my yarn projects.

  12. Teresa says:

    People keep showing those cute little drop spindles and I have to keep reminding my self that I don’t spin (and on a tight budget and can’t afford new stash and equipment). Someday.

  13. Gail says:

    ooh — something I have been wanting to learn how to do …. now you are tempting me. Fair Isle, that is –

Leave a Reply

