wednesday was here


It’s after 5 PM already. Someone stole Wednesday. BRING IT BACK, please. I need it. (No questions asked. I am quite sure whomever took Wednesday needed it quite badly themselves, but now I need it BACK, please. Thank you.)

The kindness is spreading…

It’s a funny thing, kindness. Once you start trying to include it in your life, you start seeing more of it around you. I suspect that kindness actually inspires other kindnesses to happen; I think sometimes, in our hurly-burly lives, we just forget that it is the tiny things, the little goodies, the easy-yet-hard small stuff that makes life easier and less BigColdScary.

Tim discovers Buddy's heated bed. Mmmmmm....

We see others do Kind Things, and we remember how much fun it can be to watch someone’s face light up at an unexpected Kind Thing.

Thus, this Deep Winter Kindness stuff appears to be catching. (The Deep Winter Fairy is secretly chuckling.) Today, a Rav friend asked me to help her do an anonymous kindness for another Rav friend. Then another friend emailed me about a surprise she wanted to do for someone. Then a THIRD person wanted to do something nice. (My message box the past couple of days has been a very happy place indeed.)

And now Rachel would like to do something nice for all of you. Rachel has contributed a Goodie for this week’s Giveaway drawing:

That’s a photo of the colour of the yarn (or close to it); the yarn itself is actually a skein of Dazzle HT fingering wool, in a pale blue/green, 437 yards, 100% Blue Face Leiscester wool.

Winner of this lovely yarn to be announced on Friday with the winner of the Meg Swansen’s Knitting book. (To enter this week’s giveaway, go here.)

Rachel, that is very sweet of you! (Plus: Very pretty yarn.)

The Hat

The hat I was wearing in Monday’s photo…

…is Veronik Avery’s Short-Row Hat.

And actually…when I say my hat is Veronik’s Short-Row Hat, I mean that my hat IS Veronik’s hat. The actual hat from the actual magazine photoshoot. I bought it at a charity auction back when I worked at Interweave. As I wear it, I like to think of Veronik knitting it.

Some of you said it looks like entrelac. Actually, it’s not, although it does look like entrelac. Here’s a close-up so you can see a bit better the amazing thing that Veronik did here:

click to embiggen

See? It’s not worked brim-up or top-down. It’s worked SIDEWAYS and then seamed up the back.

Once you seam it, there’s a hole in the top where the diamond shapes don’t really meet up, so you pick up stitches around the hole, knit in the round until you’ve made a top, then make I-cord for the bit on the tip.

I love clever knitting.

No stitches for me

I just realized it has been days since I actually knit anything. I’ve knocked two items (#s 2 and 5) off the 2011 Must Finish These Darn WIPs List; I suppose that’s not bad considering we’re only three weeks into the new year. But not knitting for four or five days, well. That tends to make a gal kind of twitchy, if you know what I mean.

Everything else on my list feels like such a big commitment. It’s all charted, or has shaping, or some other complicated thing going on with it. The past few days have been so full of The Wacky that really, I haven’t had the focus to go find the chart, get the project bag, find my notebook, sit down, get up to find a pen or my notions bag, sit down again, turn on the light, find my place, remember what I am doing, and then knit while checking my place every few minutes.

I love charted knitting; I love complicated stuff. But dude. Life itself has been off the charts lately, and my little work world has been full of tech editing and pattern corrections, so when I have time to myself I’m just not in a brainy sort of mood.

So I’m doing The Bad Thing.

I’m starting another project.

I KNOW, I know. I’m the incarnation of knitting evil. I lead other knitters astray, I tarnish young stick-wielders with my rash, wild ways. Here I am, a role model for my community, and I’m starting a new project, despite the full project bags strewn about my living room.

But. It’s MALABRIGO. See?

It’s TEAL. It’s GORGEOUS, and I found it in my stash whilst I was diving for Giveaway Goodies. For a mad, crazy-arse moment, I actually considered having this delicious skein of yarn be one of the Goodies…and then I realized that there way just no way in Places Hot & Steamy that I could be THAT selfless.

I clutched it to my bosom, tripped over a cat toy, and the yarn went flying…straight into Zoe’s paws. Zoe, quite the yarn gourmet, knows a good thing when she sees it. She picked the skein up in her mouth and made a run for it, trying to get to her secret lair with her prize before Mom could pick herself up out of the dirty laundry pile.

It was a merry chase.

The end result?

That’s only half the skein, as I have spent the past four evenings (FOUR. EVENINGS. IN. A. ROW.) untangling the yarn bit by bit, and the rest is now safely wound into a ball.

I am paying dearly for wanting to keep this yarn, I tell you.

It’s going to be a shawl. Possibly a Damson, although I am open to suggestions. Something unusual, but little or no chart-reading right now. I’ve done the Simple Things shawl and loved it, but I’m a weird one and don’t like to knit patterns twice. Ideas?

Beads and Sheep

However, I did weave a bit over the weekend; I also did some sewing; I even did a tiny bit of beadwork.

Those are wee stitch markers I made to pop into a certain trio of packages that went out this week to the winners of last week’s Kindness Giveaway.

I’m finding I’m having waaaayyyy too much fun putting together these packages. I’m even roping Sir N. into the fun! The first week, I was sort of unprepared; I didn’t even have any notepaper on which to write proper little notes to go with the goodies. A trip to Michael’s fixed that:

I found coloured cardstock, and Nicholas wandered off and came back with the sheep cut-out maker thingie. I love the sheep cut-outs! (Tim approves of the resulting wee paper sheep.)

I know how much fun it is for me when folks send things and have done something cute or original with the packaging, or the card, so I am experimenting with making the packages from the Deep Winter Fairy a bit more fun as well.

All over the place

This post has been all over the map. I suppose that mirrors how I feel, especially with Nicholas gone. It’s much easier to keep to a schedule when your sweetie is home; N. makes me feel anchored and with his cooking and his steadiness, he’s like a little warm fireplace that our lives center around. (The dog is sitting by the front door, moping, by the way. Has been ever since N. left.) I go to pick up Dr. Cute from the airport in about two hours, though, so I’ll get to find out then how the Big Brain Gig went. (Did they like his TIE? You know, important questions like that.)

Random Good Things

Having a bad day? Click the blue button. (Make sure your volume is up. Don’t click at work.)

Got lots of leftover sock yarn? Stash-busting sock recipe, complete with Excel worksheet. Good stuff.

And finally…This is Ysolda, designer of Damson and lots of other goodies, with a friend’s pup:
Cleo & Ysolda

How can anyone be THAT adorable? (The dog is cute, too.)

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to wednesday was here

  1. InJuneau says:

    I love you.

    That is all.

  2. molly says:

    ain’t kitties grand?

    ps. – i have three of them, and they are all chuckling politely behind their paws…

  3. Naomi says:

    Heee, tiny paper sheep!

    I got some really funny looks when I described it as such at Fiber Night last week, but Haruni has been nice mindless knitting for me this month. The only time it was really too much was the day after I submitted my thesis, when I was still sick and pretty brain-fried.

  4. The universe has ways to keep us from getting too cocky. At least she gave it all back. My pups would probably have stashed some to tease me with!

  5. Rachel says:

    there is a commercial on tv around here that shows how one person being nice to another leads to that person being nice to the next person and so on and so on. I have no clue what the ad is for, I just remember the ever expanding circle of kindness.

    Or, to put it way more succinctly: I believe in living my life by “paying it forward”

    As for the tangled yarn — Zoe must be Burbank’s identical twin born to another mother. She just LOVES to take my yarn and decorate my house with it. It’s why all my projects reside in sealed bags and my stash is cataloged but hidden away in boxes in a closet with a door that CLOSES.

  6. Pat says:

    My Dr. E. left Sunday to return Sunday, and today I heard that he has survived the roads in the mountains of Jamaica. The yarn is gorgeous(thank God for spell check). I must confess that after being inspired to attack my UFPs (6), I totally ripped out one (to be re-re-re-started this year), signed up for a class, bought yarn (I know, right) and have started a hat (to be felted) because I need quick gratification & because I am a wimp in the yarn shop.
    Now to branch into acts of kindness.

  7. karen says:

    Ahhhhhhh, a great way to end the day, a cup of tea and your post. I can just image Zoe having a great time with your wool! Hope you had safe travels to the airport.

  8. Heather says:

    I actually gasped when I saw the picture of tangled yarn, oy! Zoe has very good taste indeed!

  9. melanie teabird says:

    Being a Gift Fairy is fun! Must look into sheepie cutout thingies….

  10. cocokat says:

    Love the paper sheep! Yes, Ysolda is a darling and her patterns are gorgeous. Here are a couple of shawl patterns I’ve been thinking about. Miss Mary’s Shoulder Shawl – http://www.knitpicks.com/patterns/Miss_Marys_Shoulder_Shawl__D10526220.html
    and Alpaca Sox Shawlette – http://www.classiceliteyarns.com/pdf/AlpacaSoxShawlette.pdf. Hope the links work.

  11. GeniaKnitz says:

    Where does one GET the sheepy cut-out thingie? I have a small nephew who would go nuts over that thingie!

    And since I am kind of nuts about him, I needs one!

  12. Pat says:

    Hi Sandi,
    Oh does Zoe bring back memories. I think that I have mentioned that DH and I RV’d for 10 years with 3 dogs and 3 cats. One cat, Sugar, would get into my yarn at night – no matter how I tried to safe guard it _ and would drape it from one end of the rig to the other. It would be over the steering wheel under the table,Etc. I could never get angry with him because it really was funny and he was so darn cute.
    Hope Sir N is home safely and had a wonderful trip/presentation. How could anyone not love his tie?
    Take care.
    Pat

  13. Ba says:

    The sheep are cuuuuute….

    As for shawl pattern, how about one of Romi’s 7 shawls e-book

    http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/sources/7-small-shawls-to-knit

    Or Brandywine.. http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/brandywine-shawl

    Rosemary does great designs. And she is in my knit group. If you are every in Sonoma Co. CA, you need to come by…

    I love your writing. Keep up the good work…

  14. Laura says:

    Oh, Zoe. I am afraid that when I can adopt a cat (this summer, hopefully!) she or he will be just like you. This will be very bad for the two project lounging around on my couch…

    The blue button made my day (but may have scared my apartment neighbor)!

    Hope Sir N returned safely with good reports (about the tie, of course).

  15. How wonderful to hear that the kindness is spreading. It’s better to give than to receive and it’s very contagious! I’m actually knitting up 5 things to send to people in a “Pay it Forward” that I’m participating in right now! =)
    Well I think Damson is a lovely shawl! I have Ysolda’s Whimsical Little Knits 2 and I already had my eye on that shawl. It’s in my queue already!
    Thanks for clearing up the entrelac question about the hat. Veronik’s Short-Row Hat is VERY clever! Thank you for sharing the awesome photos!
    Btw, those stitch markers are cuties! 😉

  16. Bonnie says:

    Ohhhh, the yarn. I’m so sorry. I do feel that I have learned to be more patient due to horrible things that happen to yarn and the time that I’ve spent untangling it. Hooray for patience!

Leave a Reply

