friday whooooshed by


I think you all know what this cute face means…

Giveaway Llama in Da House!

I’m really, sincerely, truly glad that today is Giveaway Day…because I have had such an insane-asylum day that I’ve been trying to write this post for an hour and other than the giveaway winners, I got nothin’, I’m telling ya. NOTHING. I think all the Good Bloggy Stuff just got crazified out of me today. So let’s just give some stuff away and we’ll all feel a lot better.

WOOT!! Let the random numbers rollllllllll……….

And the Meg Swansen Knitting book goes to… BECKY G!!


Becky says she is a huge fan of Meg’s, so here’s hoping this book inspires her to knit some really wonderful things.

We also have the pretty BFL yarn that Rachel donated. The yarn is going to…. CASTIRON!!

Castiron and Becky, I will be sending you emails in a bit to work out the details of getting your goodies to you.

The Bow Tie Was a Hit

Nicholas says thank you for all the nice comments regarding how smashing he looked in his new bow tie.

He says that when he went to his meetings and presentations in California, he would catch people glancing at his tie and smiling, so he thinks it was a hit. (The presentation went well, and he enjoyed himself. People in Merced were apologising for the cold until they realized that Nicholas wasn’t shivering, in fact, he was taking off his coat. 50F really wasn’t cold to a dude from Canada.)

And in case I haven’t mentioned it lately, Nicholas is a big sweetie. Lately, when he comes back from business trips, he’s been bringing me little gifties. This time, he nearly missed his flight home standing in line to bring me something from here:

He brought me a fragrant, delicious, freshly baked loaf of real San Francisco sourdough bread.

I can’t show you the loaf…because toooooo late, it’s GONE. Yum, yum, yum. He and I just stood there in the kitchen the night he came home and munched on big hunks of it. The smell brought back such vivid memories of wandering Fisherman’s Wharf, of eating in restaurants where big baskets of sourdough would be brought to you, piping hot from the ovens (the bread, I mean, not the baskets). They say that smell is the doorway to memory, and “they” are absolutely correct. So many good memories of California came rushing at me as I chewed that lovely sour loaf. Mmmmmm.

He’s also a wee bit mischievous, is our Nicholas. Thursday, he went to the grocery store, and came back with this:

That’s a CHOCOLATE BAR. The whole thing is one big huge honkin’ chocolate bar. It says it’s 1000 grams, which is more than 2 lbs of chocolate.

That’s a LOT of chocolate. We’ve been laughing about it ever since. He keeps dragging the thing out of the cupboard and holding it up proudly to say “One Thousand Grams of CHOCOLATE!!” and then he grins like a fool.

He’s wacky. I’ll keep him.

Sheep Cut-Outs!

You like these, eh?

The cut-outs were made with this.

It’s called a “craft punch,” and Nicholas found it for me at Michael’s. (It’s made by Martha Stewart Crafts. Of course it is.)

I cannot tell you how much I love this gizmo whatsit. Sheep cut-outs! And the bonus sheep confetti that it makes is just enough to make one want to get some glitter paper and start punching away.

But I shall try to control myself. At least for now.

The Crazy That Was Today

Today was INSANE. I did a bunch of tech-editing, but mostly, I feel dazzled by what I didn’t do. I didn’t finish my Knitting Daily post (sorry, sorry, working on it, but sorry). I didn’t knit. I didn’t weave. I didn’t sew. I didn’t do chores, didn’t take a walk. I didn’t even really write anything Grand and Wunderbar for this blog entry.

But then I think about it…and I realize that I held a couple of friends’ hands today when things went haywire in their personal lives. I made a nice sock pattern All Pretty for some lucky knitters, and I made a designer and a yarn-dyer happy (woot!).

Sometimes we measure our lives by the wrong yardstick, methinks. And sometimes, days like today perhaps, sometimes maybe I ought not to be using any sort of measurement at all to try and evaluate whether or not I did “OK.” What does that mean, anyway, to “do OK”? And who gets to be the judge of what is OK and what is not OK, when we’ve done A Good Job of Things and when we ought to Try Harder?

The things on my list didn’t get done. Big deal. I’m late on a writing deadline. Oh well. I’ve been on time lots of other times; I’ve gotten tons of things done other days. Today, though, a couple of friends, a designer, and a yarn dyer needed me…and I was really glad to be able to be there for all of them.

Random Good

That is one of the gobsmackingly gorgeous photos from the Hubble telescope. Take a look at that website for some just absolutely stunningbeautifulprettyohWOW imagery. Our galaxy, she is a beautiful neighbourhood to live in, yes?

If you’d like to see what happens when a yarn dyer gets hold of those photos and a few pounds of sparkly yarn with real silver in it, then check out the Stellar Sock Club from Holiday Yarns. Jen, the dyer, clearly has stars in her eyes… (oh, come ON, I had to say that!)

OK. Wait a minute.

When I was doing the random numbers for today’s winners, there was a bit of a hiccup in things. Somehow, I came up with two sets of random numbers, and I just had to go with one set because, well, that’s the way it is…right?

Wrong. The whole time I’ve been writing this post, I keep looking over at the other two names, with this niggling sense that Something Ought To Be Done Here. And then I realized…they were both Rachels. TWO RACHELS, and both of them had written sweet, wistful comments about really needing some magic from the Deep Winter Fairy right about now.

Please. How is a blogger supposed to resist that?

She can’t. Rachel L. and Rachel “thewriterach,” I’m going to be sending you each something. Trouble is, I haven’t figured out what yet. I’m going to go look in my magic cupboard and see what the Deep Winter Fairy has for you, and I will report back tomorrow with photos, OK? Until then, I will send you emails to get your snail mail addys.

And that, my friends, is that.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. UFO wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 3 cats, 1 dog, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to friday whooooshed by

  1. KrisS says:

    Congrats to winners, and much love to Sandi – I’m glad you were able to accomplish *different* things today! Also, props to Nick for always providing you with good eats :D

  2. Natalie says:

    The giveaway llama keeps getting “Llama llama duck” stuck in my head and it makes me giggle.

  3. donna lee says:

    I think holding a friend’s hand trumps any and all other plans/deadlines. I have days where knitting/spinning/sewing doesn’t happen. Not too frequently because it brings me peace of mind at the end of my day. Being a social worker, people need my help all day and that little bit of knitting time can save my sanity.

    Hoping you have a more peaceful day tomorrow.

  4. april says:

    i like reading how smitten you are with N. it makes me happy. i have a sweetie, too. wouldn’t trade him for all the yarn in the world. anyways, i know you are happy to have him back home with you. he looks so cute in that picture with his hair messy and his bow tie on.

  5. Becky G says:

    O my… thank-you Thank-you Thank-You! I am just beside myself… I’ll treasure the book, remembering your kindness and generosity. As I mentioned in email, I go to teach 2 more first time knitters tomorrow morning @ a local cafe… and will sing the praises of the warm knitting community. Peace & grace to you & yours. B

  6. OK, stuff didn’t get done on that huge masterlist. But neither did you sit on your arse and mope. As my hub says “You dun good
    today, girl”
    I love your magic cupboard!

  7. molly says:

    don’t get in a swivet just because the ‘things accomplished’ weren’t on your original list – it was a day full of accomplishments!
    and chocolate, lots of chocolate!
    what a lovely man, to bring you bread and chocolate!

  8. Rachel says:

    You really are the sweetest (and I’m not one who is liberal with superlatives). Bless you!!!

  9. Pat says:

    I agree that on the scale of importance you have done a lot, today. The post is full of happiness and smiles! Congrats to the winners. I so appreciate your generosity on the blog, sharing the works of others. Peace and blessings to you and Dr. N.
    That is some whopping candy bar.

  10. Ba says:

    There is nothing, NOTHING, like San Francisco sourdough bread. Crunchy crust, soft interior, tangy goodness….

    nomnomnomnom….

    See, if you move to Merced, you’d be 3 hrs away and I can visit and bring sourdough and Sonoma co cheese and we can do fibery things together….. sigh Best wishes for Sir N. to find a position that is best for him…

  11. Naomi says:

    Totally not surprised the sourdough was gone before it got photographed. You should see how fast baguettes disappear around here, and that’s even with the bakery a mere three blocks away!

  12. Kitten With A Whiplash says:

    As a native SFer, I know we have an awful to be proud of. Still, if all we had was our incredible sourdough, it would still make us famous. And I’m willing to bet that Dr. N gets a lot of smiles from folks, bow tie or not. He looks like a very friendly, charming dude.

  13. Laura says:

    Sharing kindness with friends and strangers. What a great post. Thanks, Sandi.

  14. Jerri says:

    In a week it won’t matter that you didn’t knit today or meet your deadline what will still matter is that you took the time to be there for the people in your life. You did the important stuff and that is what counts.

    Wow what beautiful colors thank you for sharing.

  15. Rachel says:

    Oh, oh, oh wow. I really don’t know what to say!

    I will be responding to your email just as soon as I can breathe again.

    THANK YOU!
    the other Rachel, aka “TheWriteRach”, aka FlyKytten on Ravelry

  16. stitchesandwords says:

    A-men on judging our lives by the wrong yardsticks … thinky-food in there for me, very definitely. I don’t know who all the people are whose hands needed holding yesterday, but all the good thoughts I can send are going outwards toward them. It’s meant an enormous difference when folks have done that for me (nudge, nudge), and I want to pass that on.

  17. NancyN says:

    Thanks so much for the Hubble link. I’ve been lost in the Orion Nebula for a few hours now. Amazingly beautiful.

    Congrats to all the winners.

  18. Castiron says:

    Wow! Thanks! I’m looking forward to seeing the yarn!

  19. Becky G says:

    Meg’s book arrived, with lovely & happy inscription by Sandi on behalf of the great and wonderful Give Away Llama,sweet sheep cut out, and book mark, and fun stitch marker & various & sundry other loveies. Many thanks, and what great inspiration. Thanks again Sandi & your Llama. B

Leave a Reply

