llama surprise


Remember last week, when I gave away a skein of TARDIS yarn by Indigodragonfly, and I said, “Stay tuned, because I have something else up my sleeve..”?

Well, I have conspired with Certain People to get that other thing out of my sleeve and into the Giveaway Llama’s little paws (hooves?). Wanna know what the Something Else is?

DSC_0039

HA! It’s a second skein of that gorgeous TARDIS yarn! You all loved it so much that I asked Kim if I could have a second skein to give away. Wooot!

So drumroll please…..let me reach into my magic randomizer to pick another name from last week’s comments….and the winner of the second skein of merino/cashmere/nylon sock yarn is…Magi! Congratulations, Magi, I will email you later today so this yarn can come to live with you.

Wooo! That was fun. There were just so many of you who left wonderful comments last week, and fell in love with the yarn, that I figured it would be great if another skein showed up to be given away. So thanks to Kim for helping me make this happen.

chilly; thus chili!

I used to make killer chili, back when I lived in California. It was one of the few dishes I could actually make, and make well. Nicholas is such a great cook, however, that I really haven’t made chili in years.

This week, however, it has been cold and grey and rainy and snowy and slushy and icky, so somehow the idea of a big pot of red chili bubbling on the stove seemed like an excellent one. We went shopping yesterday for ingredients…and Nicholas had to pry the canned beans out of my hands at the store, saying that it would really be OK if we used dried beans, really. I reluctantly agreed to let him teach me the ways of chili from scratch, and let the canned beans go back on the shelf, with one last longing look back at them over my shoulder, just for old times’ sake.

We got home, and he showed me how to wash and soak the beans.

I am not a dried beans kind of gal. I am a canned beans kind of gal. He bakes triple chocolate ganache treats for special days; I head for the boxes of cake mix every time there is a birthday in the family. But he’s an incredible cook, so I figured he was probably right and I could learn to do the whole dried bean routine in the name of Better Chili.

I just spent the past hour chopping onions and garlic and browning them in oil and herbs. Now the beans are in the pot, covered with water, with a single dried chili pepper bobbing around in there to fire things up. (Nicholas said three dried chili peppers would be fine. However, Nicholas always insists that the seasoning is mild, just as I am flapping around the house with flames leaping out of my mouth. I say one pepper is plenty.)

As I am chopping and sauteéing, the animals come by to investigate this new phenomenon of Mom Making Food. Dad makes food, they know that. Dad is the FoodMaker. Mom is a Food Eater, just like them, so the sight of me in the kitchen playing with Dad’s toys is an Event, because perhaps I don’t really know what I am doing and perhaps this means I will drop more goodies on the floor than Dad does.

Tim decided he did not approve of his counter being used to chop onions. This is the counter Where Tim Eats, people. That’s what that counter is FOR; any other use constitutes a violation of The Feline Code, apparently. Tim anxiously hovered about and meowed until I set the world right again by feeding him on his counter once I was done chopping things.

This brought Dusty out from his nap corner to investigate, as Dusty thinks all cat food is HIS cat food.

It’s just another day in the Wiseheart house, in other words.

Cormo’s end

I finished spinning the endless cormo singles!

That bobbin is FULL. I weighed it and subtracted out the weight of an empty bobbin, because it just seemed to be way more than 4 oz on there. But the scale assured me that there were only 4 oz. Dude, that’s a LOT of singles.

I wound half the singles onto another bobbin, and am about to rewind the second half before plying them. I’m kind of excited to see how the yarn turns out; I’m also curious as to the final yardage. I promise there will be a full report later.

Nicholas just told me that the chili smells amazing already, and we haven’t even added half the ingredients yet. He’s going to make blue cornbread to go with it. Maybe a pumpkin pie, too, just to be completely decadent.

So THERE, winter. Take THAT.

Random Goods

My nickname in elementary school was Sandi the Snail. (It just was. Not sure there was a reason!). So when I saw this wee knitted snail, I actually squee’d out loud.

Need some baby kitty magic?

3 days old. Photo by Susan Hill of Montreal. (You may squee now.)

And finally…I think we all feel like this some days:

I think that’s a cat.

For now, I think I hear Nicholas messin’ with MY chili, so I’d better go see what he’s up to.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to llama surprise

  1. As someone who didn’t know you could buy beans in cans until way into adulthood, I am giggling at most of this post. And I feel like the wrinkled hairless cat!

  2. molly says:

    *squeeeee* from here! even the wrinkled hairless cat is kinda cute…in his/her own way! but the babies – oh, they are just plain darling…
    (note from her kittikidz: NO MORE KITTENS HERE…WE LIKE IT JUST FINE THE WAY IT IS! although she could feed us more often…..)
    cheers
    molly

  3. Lab Cat says:

    It must be a beany kind of day as I made re-fried beans for lunch. I use dried beans all the time as I find canned beans too salty and slightly overcooked.

    Your cormo looks great.

  4. Meg says:

    Those kittens are SO cute!! There are times when I think that I wouldn’t mind having another litter of kittens in the house. Then I whack myself upside the head for thinking it!! Besides, the mama and daughter from that litter would never allow it!

  5. Rachel says:

    Those baby kitties are one of the things I will miss most as I leave the vet tech world. There is nothing more heartwarming than to see/hear/feed those tiny creatures.

    And your Cormo singles look amazing! Someday I hope to be that good a spinner. Hearing you’ve been doing this for 18 years gives me hope 🙂

  6. Magi says:

    Thanks so much Sandi – I haven’t won anything since I was in grade school 🙂 Today is a bean type of day here too – Boston baked beans!

  7. SueB says:

    Thanks for another great blog! Just seeing your cats almost makes me wish we had one again. Our big boy Boots developed mouth cancer and we had to let him go. As much as a hate a litter box, they are great entertainment! We loved out big boy! Jealous that I didn’t win the yarn. Beautiful! Congrats to the winners! Hope to maybe see some pics of what they make from it!

  8. Ba says:

    O.M.B that snail is The Cute!!

    And when I make chili, I call it Ba’s So Mild How Can You Call It Chili Chili, for I is a beeg chile pepper whimp….. but my chili is good and hearty….

  9. Lisa says:

    The cat needs a bra. Desperately.

    And Stringtopia counts as Special Days. Remind Nicholas of that, will ya?

  10. Wendy says:

    Ha ha! Sandi, where do you find this stuff?

  11. Seanna Lea says:

    The baby kitties are so adorable. I love their stretched out little toes!

  12. Caryn says:

    I think that is indeed a cat, but I’m not sure.

  13. Donna says:

    Congratulations to the winners of that gorgeous yarn! And now I’m so hungry after reading this post about chili that I must put down my knitting and my laptop and actually go into the kitchen and cook something. I loooooooooove chili, and I am most definitely a dried beans kind of gal. I usually cook them in the pressure cooker with whole cloves of garlic. Yum! And blue cornbread is another favorite. By the way, I think that strange-looking cat might be a Sphynx. The comment about it needing a bra absolutely cracked me up! Love the picture of Dusty.

  14. Heather says:

    There is lots more snail squee-ness (and general squee-ness) in Mochimochiland.com. Anna does a whole Tiny Things series.

    Here are more tiny snails from the Mochimochiland group on flickr: http://www.flickr.com/search/groups/?q=snail&w=347915%40N23&m=pool

Leave a Reply

