living la vida con queso


(WHAT!? Don’t you live The Life With Cheese? Sheesh. You don’t know what you’re missing…)

This is what it looks like outside my front door.

We’ve had a few days of blissful sunshine, where Nicholas and I went on walks where I dared to let my knees be bare. Apparently, however, Winter is still trying to snow on our parade. Even Buddy, who loves snowdrifts with a snuffly passion, has not wanted to do more than a couple of quick potty runs today.

A little “Thank You” pattern for all of you!

I’ve showed you photos of my super-easy, super-warm, all-stockinette socks in prior posts:

I’ve finally uploaded the pattern PDF into Ravelry!

Warm Toes, Thick Socks Pattern

And: It’s free. Just a little giftie from me to you, to say thank you for being the awesome readers you are.

It’s such a basic, ordinary pattern that I bet eleventy billion other knitters have made socks more or less exactly like these (only in less kick-ass yarn than the Indigodragonfly MCN I used). It’s not “my” pattern, it’s an unvented pattern out of the common knitterly unconscious, if you will. But since not everyone can channel the common knitterly unconscious (and I must say, it gets pretty wild and woolly in there at times), here it is.

Because everyone deserves to have warm toes and a good pair of thick socks.

More beautiful handspun

I got this charming notecard in the mail the other day from Melanie (teabird on Ravelry):

Inside was some absolutely glorious handspun yarn Melanie had sent for the Prayer Flag project.

When she received the fibre, it was nameless, as it arrived in Melanie’s mail as cushioning for her new lovely purpleheart Golding spindle. But it’s not nameless any longer. It’s called Tikkun Olam, after the prayer she prayed as she spun the yarn: “Heal the world.” Here’s Melanie’s own story about the yarn on her blog.

I’ve been making more squares and hexagons; I just realized I haven’t taken more photos yet, so I’ll do that next post so I can include a photo of what the Tikkun Olam knits up into.

More information about the prayer flag project is here, including where to send yarn if you would like to contribute.

Donna says…

I like the blog’s new Spring look very much.  However, I miss the cute & adorable picture of Sandi. Please put it back.  Thank you.

I live to serve. Photo back where it belongs. (Totally cracked me up; thanks, Donna!)

Aaaannnnndd….poof.

I just spent the last bit of time writing; when I got called away, I hit save, like a good girl. When I came back, the blog entry had been replaced by a login screen. “Huh,” thought I, and dutifully logged back into the blog software.

All today’s writing? Gone. Gonity-gone-gone-gonzo. I fiddled and clicked and swore and thought uncomplimentary things at the various possibly involved parties, and still, my blog entry continued to end right after the prayer flag update section.

It wasn’t the most eloquent thing ever written, but I’d written it, and I’d worked on it, and OH RATS. Pooh. Bother.

I want to find a way to call someone the worst name I can think of, just so I can feel better. Unfortunately, I am feeling a bit punchy after sitting here trying to write and then salvage what I had written, so the worst epithet I can come up with is something my mother used to taunt her schoolmates with back in her 1950’s childhood. When she taught this Bad Name to me and my sisters, she said that at the time, it was the worst name any schoolchild could think of calling someone. My sisters and I eagerly leaned forward to hear this juicy, forbidden tidbit of cursing history. Mom, too, leaned forward, and in a lowered voice, said:

“Evil-smelling Bubblehead.”

I don’t think there’s anything left to say after that, is there?

Random Goods

A “bubblehead” is Navy slang for a sailor who has served aboard a submarine. (Somehow, I don’t think this eliminates any of the mysterious power conveyed by the above curse.)

Listed in thesaurus.com as synonyms for “evil-smelling”:

Main Entry: rancid
Part of Speech: adjective
Definition: rotten, strong-smelling
Synonyms: bad, carious, contaminated, curdled,decomposing, disagreeabledisgusting,
evil-smelling, feculent, fetidfoul, frowzy, fusty,gamy, high, impure, loathsome,
malodorous,moldy, musty, nasty, nidorous, noisome,noxiousoffoffensive, olid,
polluted,putrefactive, putrefied, putrescent, putridrank,reeky, repulsivesharp,
smellysour, soured,stale, stinking, strongtainted, turned,unhealthy, whiffy

Wait. “Whiffy”?

The Category is: “Sometimes I post food links because it’s what I really want Right Now.” The Answer: Cupcake Fondue.

I just spent ten entire minutes searching for a cupcake photo. I had to yell for Nicholas to come and get me before I fell into Google.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Prayer Flag Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to living la vida con queso

  1. Cari says:

    Thanks for the laugh! And, yes – we used to say whiffy wooffee. (Wooffee was an acceptable euphemism for fart. A whiffy one was particularly rank.)

  2. InJuneau says:

    We totally Live the Life with Cheese!

    Yarn (plus!) to you one of these days, I promise.

  3. Yes we MUST have the cute photo or Sandi didn’t write it!

  4. Rebecca Gordon says:

    I want to go beyond living La vida con queso. I want to live una vida de queso – a life of cheese!

  5. molly says:

    when we were in school, ‘whiffy’ described something with a particularly pungent aroma – i.e. rotten sneakers. eeeeyew!
    and what a stroke of brilliance – to use a bit of fleecy goodness to cradle a spindle on its journey to a new home!
    cheers
    molly

  6. Seanna Lea says:

    Cheese. Yeah, cheese!

    I used to have waking dreams (like nightmares) of explaining in my cruddy French what a bagel sandwich was to the various Quebecois that came to visit my town over the summer. … du fromage et du jambon… I’m sure they were wincing the entire time as I butchered the French I could do just fine while in school!

  7. LabCat says:

    Whiffy is a British English word – I used it often back in England. According to my Chambers English Dictionary:
    whiff (n) is a sudden puff of air or smoke from the mouth; a slight inhalation; a puff of a smell; a slight blast; a small amount esp. of something causing a transient sensation. Whiffy (adj) of the same. (Probably partly Middle English from weffe)

  8. melanie says:

    “Evil-smelling bubblehead” is a great epithet. It has rhythm and you can dance to it…

    Thank you for showing my yarn….

  9. Meg says:

    I can think of a number of people I could call evil-smelling bubbleheads right now – thanks for the curse that will make me smile when I use it 🙂 What a lift it was this evening, after a hard day, to open my e-mail and find your post. I felt like a friend was visiting and making me laugh. Thank you for brightening up my evening!

    I wistfully look at the prayer flag yarn and wish I could send some, too. I may get persuaded to learn spinning, one of these days….

  10. Heather says:

    Thanks for the sock pattern! I actually didn’t have one for DK weight yarn and now I don’t have to use my brain to come up with one either. Thank you!

  11. Wendy says:

    Cupcake fondue – what a cute idea. But we definitely need to offer a choice of chocolate icing…

  12. Allison says:

    I LOL’d when I read that… “Evil-smelling bubblehead,” and it immediately reminded me of an incident a few weeks ago in my classroom. I am an intervention teacher (I teach kiddos who are below grade level in Reading and/or Math) and I share a room with a wonderful teacher. She had a group of kindergarteners working away and two of the boys were razzing each other a bit. I guess one if them ran out of things to say, and I heard this little attitude-filled voice quip, “You a fish momma head!” I had to bite the inside of my cheek to keep from giggling uncontrollably.

  13. Donna says:

    Not sure where I’ve been or what I’ve been doing (other than knitting with my Gift Llama yarn!), but today I’m catching up on your blog…and I’m delighted to see that the Cute&Adorable picture is back where it belongs. Thank you very much, dear Sandi. “I live to serve” cracked ME up! I often refer to myself as “servant of the people” but the truth is it’s all about enlightened self-interest.

Leave a Reply

