Happy Chocolate Egg Day


Dudes! The Peeps Rolled the Stone Away!

Easter is one of those holidays that has been so mangled by the media and Hallmark that it is barely recognizable any more.

I love this quote from Conan O’Brien, which was circulating Twitter today:

On this day, Jesus broke free from the giant chocolate egg and led his bunny army to victory against the Nazis!

Of course, this does not explain the need for a new hat, nor for the Easter Parade, but poor Conan cannot be expected to have an explanation for all the finer points of theology.

Egg Hunt

One of my favourite parts of Easters past was the Basket Hunt. My mother would hide our brightly decorated and filled with goodies baskets somewhere in the house, and first thing on Easter morning, the three of us girls (and my stepbrother Steve, for the time he lived with us), would rabble around the house searching for the baskets.

Mom would be in the kitchen, or sitting at the table with a cup of coffee, offering helpful hints: “COLD….brrrrr, your fingers are turning blue. Warmer….warmer…..Ooooooh, there’s smoke coming out of your ears!”

As an adult, I’ve done variants of this with friends and partners, just because there are few things more delightful than a treasure hunt with chocolates as the hidden gold. This year, I came downstairs to find an empty Easter bucket on the table, decorated with bunnies and chicks.

“But it’s EMPTY!” I lamented to Nicholas. “What did you do, eat the treats that the Easter Bunny brought me?”

He laughed, and turned the bucket over, and told me to read the fine print. Listed on the bucket were the former contents of the bucket: 7 foil-wrapped bunnies, 2 foil-wrapped chicks, a couple of chocolate lambies, two giant plastic eggs filled with chocolate, and several foil-wrapped eggs in bright colours. On the bucket it said: “Enjoy your Easter Treasure Hunt!”

Yay! Suddenly I was seven again, and there were wonders to be found in hidden places.

He told me everything was tucked away in our backyard, so off we went.

Some things I found right away…and a couple of them, I had to really look for.

Yet the last egg, a big red one, eluded me. I went round and round…our yard isn’t that big.

Finally, Nicholas hinted that there MIGHT be a big red egg in our clay firepit thingie. I looked…and no egg. We checked all the places he had used to hide things not even an hour beforehand…and no big red egg.

It was then that we realized that the Ostara Squirrel had taken a little something for herself.

We went inside laughing, hoping that the poor critter didn’t make herself sick, to sit down to a lovely brunch cooked by Sir N: whole-wheat muesli pancakes with blueberry maple cinnamon sauce. (To die for…)

Inklings

I spent a chunk of the weekend weaving the inkle-woven straps for my tote bag. I’d been putting this off, because the first set of straps were so filled with Mistakes of the Early Beginner’s Mind that I was a little hesitant to be humbled like that again.

But I gamely warped up the loom again, and started weaving…only to find that the Beginner’s Mind was still at work. The thicker pattern warps were meant to be doubled, to emphasize the patterning…and I had done only single pattern warps.

I decided these would simply be Narrower and Subtler.

They’re done, except for stitching the ends and pressing. Then all I have to do is find some nice lining fabric for the bag and sew the whole thing together.

Meanwhile, my inkle loom and I are going to continue negotiating our relationship, in the hopes of me being actually able to weave something correctly someday.

Chispas

This house was Peeped for Easter. More than 900 of the little squishy dudes covered the lawn when all was said and done. (Now, that’s friendship for ya.)

Royal Wedding, Bollywood spoof version. That said, I am going to be out of town for the Wedding, but you better believe I’m recording it on my DVR. I stayed up all night to watch Will’s mum get hitched; no way I’m missing the next gen show.

Maybe you couldn’t care less about Kate and Wills, because you’re preoccupied with the coming Zombie Apocalypse. Be prepared with this handy Bug-Out Kit shopping list from Amazon. (They did not, however, include a folding shovel, which I hear is essential for chopping off heads and also burying the remains.) I love that Amazon feels strongly enough about Anti-Zombie Preparedness to make this list available.

And for those of you who think the Really Truly Dark End is near…a Lego Lovecraftian House.

That’s all I have for today. Go eat something chocolate so you can keep up with the kids and their Easter sugar buzz.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. UFO wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 3 cats, 1 dog, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Chocolate Egg Day

  1. Sandi, you and Sir Nicholas crack me up! Did you find any remains of the red egg?

  2. Jerri says:

    Happy Easter!

  3. Jane G. says:

    One of your greatest gifts is your ability to reclaim the child in yourself. It keeps you creative, funny, loving, engaged, curious, generous, empathetic, kind, and loving. The best part is that it makes you a great teacher… in all kinds of ways. Thanks for the smiles.

  4. Cathy-Cate says:

    I’m sure the squirrel was very happy that the Easter Bunny came for her! Hmm, there are too many rodents in that sentence, methinks.

    Thanks for the smile, and for the wonderful tidbits at the end!

  5. Wendy says:

    Thanks. I did the chocolate. Just like you asked.

  6. molly says:

    we have always loved easter hunts at our house – for the little kids, for the big kids, and now for the big-kids-with-their-own-little-kids! and they always, always share the treats with me!
    cheers
    molly

  7. Seanna Lea says:

    But Cthulu is my friend! I have seen the Lovecraft lego house a couple of times and it always fills me with joy each time.

  8. Pat says:

    What an eggscellent idea for a basket! I may have to borrow that for next year!

Leave a Reply

