Zombie-like, post-Sock Summit


I got back from Sock Summit at about 1:30 AM EST Tuesday morning.

It is now Wednesday afternoon, and I’m still a bit of a crispy critter. However, I am a crispy critter with pictures and videos to share from my time at the Fabulous Summit of Sockness, so I feel I ought to at least try and post a sort of visual journal for y’all.

Don’t forget that you can click on any of these to get a bigger image.

The Oregon Convention Center is beautiful. (Note Sock Summit banner on the light pole at left.)

Portland’s public transportation is awesome. (Mostly, I wanted to show another shot of this shamelessly lovely city.)

There is a huge, beautiful Buddhist bell in front of the Convention Center. I ate lunch on a bench facing this bell, knowing that in another day or so it would be the site of something wonderful. (More on that Something Wonderful later.)

I flew into Portland late last Wednesday, and was lucky enough to share a hotel room with three amazing yarn peeps.

Astrid Bear, dyer/owner of Damselfly Yarns:

Lisa Grossman, the alter ego of The Tsarina of Tsocks:

And Syne Mitchell, past editor of WeaveZine magazine and current teacher of things weave-y and wonderful:

Why yes, they are all wearing a tiara. Mine, in fact. I took three tiaras to SS to sell (I sold two!) and one to wear and there is nothing more fun than getting one’s friends to pose for photos wearing a tiara.

Except asking them to pose holding Truffles, the Guard Llama, at the same time.

Truffles had quite the adventures this July, and I know I promised you the story of how a small kitten named Steve fell tail over ears in love with Truffles…that is still to come in a future post, I promise. (There’s even a video. It’s adorable.)

Besides accompanying me to California and being adored by Steve McKitten, Truffles also was my travel companion to Sock Summit…where he was a huge hit.

That would be none other than Franklin Habit showing Truffles a little love during his class on Tessellations. I took two of Franklin’s classes, the Tessellations one (which blew out a few of my circuits, it was extremely clever and inspiring and made my brain WORK) as well as his class on Photography for Sock Knitters.

Here’s my best photo from that class:

That’s a Swhorls spindle by Jesh, with fibre from Spunky Eclectic in the Nightmare colourway. The spindle whorl, by the way, is nylon, and was printed–yes, PRINTED–on a 3-D printer to Jesh’ specs. She gave me that one for my birthday…and it has sparkles in it.

I highly recommend the spindle, the fibre, and, of course, Franklin’s classes. That man is SMART, and he explains complex topics clearly and well, and he’s funny as hell in the process. Anyone who wants to take better project or blog photos ought to run, not walk, to the next session of his photography class. The Tessellations class was a wonderful introduction to a new way of seeing patterns and motifs, so hopefully Franklin will be teaching that one again as well.

Truffles made friends wherever he went.

That, my dear readers, is the esteemed and revered Anna Zilboorg, placing a wee sock on Truffles. I took her cuff-down Free Sole Socks class, in which we all made tiny socks with replaceable soles. At some point, Anna spotted Truffles sitting on the desk next to me, and then quick-as-a-wink, with a determined–and slightly mischievous–grin, she was fitting the sock to his hoof.

(The sock was made by TsockTsarina, who later made three more socks for Truffles so that all his feet would be warm come winter. Very kind of her.)

I made new friends (Truffles had wandered off to nibble a flower, methinks).

Kassia and Mary Kay

And, of course, we all practiced for the FlashMob Yarn Dance during the Opening Night Reception on Thursday:

It’s true; Cat Bordhi stole the show in that one. (And yes, it is also true that it took me a while to get YouTube to Obey Me. Woo! I won that one.)

Here’s the actual Sock Summit Flash Mob performance. (I’m dancing my heart out behind the speakers on the left of the screen; if you look closely you may see my purple top and my BRIGHT teal yarn.)

That video courtesy of Knitter’s Review.

There’s going to have to be a Part Two for my Sock Summit adventures. Till next time, may your heart soar as high as yarn and fibre can take it.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Zombie-like, post-Sock Summit

  1. tsocktsarina says:

    Sigh. Good times. I heart my roomies.

  2. Lovely pictures. Some day…..

  3. Gloria19 says:

    Thanks for sharing. Sounds like a fantastic time.

  4. Portland sparkles when the sun comes out! Love that we had a week of perfect weather for Sock Summit. And I love that picture of Anna and Truffles!

  5. Astrid Bear says:

    Hearts all around! Bestest roomies ever.

    By the way, that dove had at least three different neckwarmers during the course of the weekend.

  6. abetterjulie says:

    This was great! I can’t wait to get to go.

  7. Gail says:

    Makes me wish I knit socks!

    Looks like it was a fabulous time! what fun!

  8. teabird says:

    Everyone should wear tiaras and carry llamas, always!

  9. molly says:

    marvelous – marvelous – MARVELOUS! thank you for sharing!

  10. Lykkefanten says:

    I’m living vicareously through your post… can’t wait to see more pics, as it looks like an absolutely fantastic time!

  11. Mandie says:

    Every time I try to blog SS I fail to even come close to capturing it. Last time I never did manage it but I am going to try harder this time. ❤ you Sandi! It was great seeing you again.

Leave a Reply

