batts and cats and a giveaway (OH MY!)


I am one of those storytellers who apparently does not tell stories in strict chronological order. I haven’t posted the second half of my Sock Summit adventures, nor have I finished telling you tales of my stay in California. I think, sometimes, a story needs time to ripen, or an experience needs time to be mulled over, before it gets told and more or less put into the concrete that is the written word.

All of that is maybe really just a nice way of saying: Hey. I’ve been busy, OK? (laugh)

Well, well. Look who’s here…it’s the GIVEAWAY LLAMA!

Giving me a bit of a smooch there, she is.

Last spring I went to the Cummington Sheep & Wool Festival in Massachusetts, and I had a wonderful time hanging out with friends, watching the sheep, and talking to vendors. One of the vendors, Rows Red of Bittersweet Woolery insisted that I choose a skein of her hand-dyed laceweight as a giveaway treat for you lovely readers. And here is what I chose:

Sweet Nothings Silken Laceweight (click to embiggen)

That’s 875 yards of lovely 80/20 merino/silk laceweight in the colourway “Avalon”, with love to you from me and Rows Red!

To enter the drawing for the yarn, leave a comment on THIS POST by Sunday night at midnight EST. Monday morning, I’ll use Ye Olde Random Numbre Generator to choose one of the comments, and that person wins the yarn. WOOT!

Batts in the Belfry

I’ve been playing with my drumcarder (Strauch Finest, love it) more than usual lately, and last night I made some of the prettiest ones yet. I started with a braid of hand-dyed merino from Diane of Schafenfreude Fibers; then added some bombyx silk from Chasing Rainbows in blues and greens, and some tussah silk in purples from Robin Russo of The Spinning Studio. I divided the braid and the silks into 6 batches of a little over 21 grams each:

Then, I fed each batch to my drumcarder–twice.

Results (the best batt IMHO):

This colour is pretty darn accurate on my monitor

And the first three all together:

Then, I decided to add more purple to the last 3 batches so that they have about twice as much purple in them as the other three.

OK, so I’m obviously still practicing what I learned in Franklin Habit’s Photography class at Sock Summit. I went and bought some lights, and getting the colours right is really hard! The middle photo is the least accurate of the three, methinks, at least on my monitor.

I wanted a colour that would echo the inside of an abalone shell:

And I think I got pretty close. Hence, the batts are called Abalone, and I really love them. They ended up being about 80% Merino, 20% silk, give or take.

There’s still big streaks of unblended silk in each batt after two passes through the carder. I have to decide if that’s what I want or if I want another pass to blend it all more thoroughly. Opinions?

And how do you feel about me adding a bit of sparkly stuff, just a wee bit?

Tim says he doesn’t care about the Abalone batts because he’s too busy guarding the Shetland fleece that Lynn gave me for my birthday.

The pillowcases contain clean unprocessed fleece, and the plastic baggies contain batts.

But the story of the Shetland fleece is a story for another day.

Don’t forget to leave a comment for the Giveaway Llama!

Chispas
We haven’t done these in a while… 

Wondrously tiny sculptures. And I mean REALLY TINY, as in they are each made in the eye of a needle.

A crafty security camera. (It’s crocheted. And yes, you can mount it and everything.)

How to make Darth Vader out of a carrot. (You’ve always wanted to know this, right?)

And finally, and quite inexplicably: A TARDIS corset. For those intimate moments with your own Doctor…

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

139 Responses to batts and cats and a giveaway (OH MY!)

  1. molly says:

    beautiful ‘abalone’! you’re one talented woman!
    and a friend of mine was recently given a tardis cookie jar for her birthday – what better thing to hold more on the inside than the outside would suggest than a cookie jar! also, it arrived a month late, so i guess it was a ‘tardy tardis’…
    cheers
    molly

  2. Melanie says:

    Your abalone is beautiful. From what I can see on the screen, I wouldn’t card it again, the mix of fibres is just so right. That laceweight is soooo me. I would so love to hold it and stroke it and spend eons deciding on the perfect pattern for it. I have those colours all through my house.

  3. Sarah says:

    Oooo yummy batts! And avalon is delicious.

  4. Barbara Bonn says:

    Sandi–
    This was the first time your blog actually appeared in my email (because I just signed up for it today, I reckon). Love the blue and purple batts. Love the Chispas. And love the first picture I’ve ever seen of a cat that, given the proximity of two pillowcases full of fiber, did not choose to nest in them. Good cat!
    BB (aka Filatura)

    PS. You asked about sparkly in the batts. To my eye, it’s great against deep and bright colors — the more sparkle the better. But with paler colors, a little goes a long way. But that’s my eye(s).

  5. Madison W says:

    i used to have a giant abalone shell just like that one! i was just thinking the other night that i have no idea what happened to it, and i would like to buy another one soon.

    also, i counter the tardis corset with the dalek dress: http://woolforbrains.blogspot.com/2011/07/so-wow-i-thought-since-this-years-dress.html

  6. Barbara Rall says:

    That is beautiful yarn and I would be very honored to be the recipient.

  7. Barbara says:

    I can’t believe you asked the question about the sparkle? I think if you look closely at the shell you will see tons of sparkle there.

    so, my answer is YES YES to the sparkle!

  8. lorraine says:

    that lace yarn looks so yummy! i love when llamas have giveaways!!

  9. Lisa says:

    Your Abalone batts are beautiful!! Way to go!

  10. InJuneau says:

    Oh, those batts are beautiful! Well done. I’m usually not one for lots of sparkle (though there seems to be quite a bit of fiber in my house that has it), but I think future abalone batts might need some.

    Those mini sculptures are amazing!

  11. Gloria19 says:

    Abalone doesn’t need sparkle unless it’s the tiniest amount of almost clear,
    subtle glimmer. Beautiful batts. Tim iz smrat.

  12. Carol says:

    Love the abalone yarn–if I win may I have the llama instead of the avalon yarn?

  13. jezikhana says:

    Pretty batts! Sparkle is good if subtle. Over sparkle is bad. You like sparkle, so add sparkle if you want too! Easy Peasy!

  14. Jesh says:

    baaaaattts

    no seriously. those are amazing.

  15. Darlene Appleby says:

    I really really want that yarn. Me thinks you need to card it one more time to blend the colors some more.

  16. Sandy says:

    Gorgeous batts. As always, your blog makes me smile

  17. irene says:

    Lovely batt, and yes, I think you have the colour just right. I would leave it the way it is. As for the yarn, beautiful, and that’s a lot of yarn there! Enough for a featherweight?

  18. Helena Dias says:

    The color is gorgeous but then blue is my favorite color. Wish me luck.

  19. RainKatt says:

    Those batts are amazing. I firmly believe there can never be too much sparkle, but that’s me. I walk around in public wearing sequined tank tops and silk haori with subtle shiny paint and embroidery. At the same time. 🙂

    I suspect if you add the amount of sparkle that feels right to you, they’ll be fabulous. (I’ve been stalking you since you mentioned these on Twitter, and only got here now because I’m finally home from work, yay!!)

  20. Kassia says:

    Beautiful!! (both the yarny giveaway and the batts) 😀

  21. Suze says:

    Your batts are beee-uuuu-teee-ful! Truly. What a great combination of colors. And the giveaway yarn is lovely too. I’d really like to add that to my stash!

  22. Diane says:

    To my eye, the silk is sparkle enough for those batts – and leave ’em streaky! The shell is streaky and so is the batt. Nicely done m’dear. Oh, and the Stunt Llama wants out of his contract. He’s really being worked over. 🙂

  23. Rachel says:

    Pretty pretty batts – and giveaway yarn!

  24. Amber says:

    Love your mixed batts! The Abalone is wonderfully colored.

  25. BayDancer says:

    The abalone is lovely. I think it glows on its own, and sparkle would just be gilding the lily, er, abalone.

  26. Janise says:

    I am so glad you are blogging again – I enjoy them so much! The giveaway yarn is gorgeous!! And so are your batts – love the colors you combined.

  27. ellenspn says:

    Sandy, those batts look wonderful!!!!

  28. Cocoonivus says:

    We’ve missed you, Sandi!

    Your batts are lovely. The abalone shell is an amazing inspiration, and I think you did a marvelous job of interpreting the colors into a medium so different from the source material.

    I’m going to cross my fingers that I win the laceweight yarn – another beautiful colorway, and I love lace!

  29. Heather says:

    Beautiful llama, beautiful yarn, beautiful batts!

  30. Your scale is getting a workout! I love mine, very useful.

    Abalone…the colors are beautiful!

  31. I love having you “come to my house” via google reader. The Avalon giveaway skein is mighty purty — thanks for the opportunity!

  32. Rachel says:

    The batts are gorgeous — very definitely abalone. I’m in agreement with Barbara, I don’t think sparkly (much as you love it) will pop in the pale colors.
    The Avalon is beautiful. And it’s good to see you blogging again, I’ve missed it.

  33. melanie says:

    The abalone is perfect – no glitter, please! Let the delicate colors be the stars…

  34. Amy P says:

    That laceweight is beautiful!

  35. georg says:

    If that batt doesn’t sparkle, you didn’t make it. Nope. Won’t believe it.

  36. andrea says:

    Tim is doing a wonderful job of guarding the fleece as always. the Silken skein you are offering would be perfect for a free knit along escapist mystery shawl over on hugs for your head. with plenty left over. so happy your back. knitting Daily is not the same anymore without your ray of sunshine in my in box a few days a week. please post more.

  37. Oh, my! is right. That is so me, must be meant to be (I hope). Love the batts too, really need to have another go with my drum carder.

  38. Karen says:

    What a beautiful color. You are truly an inspiration. I would say no to the sparkle, the color is enough!

  39. Jan Smiley says:

    Ooooh, pretty batts. Maybe I’ll get my drumcarder out to play a bit….

  40. Ercil Howard says:

    Dear Sweet Sandi,
    So nice to hear your voice from the blog! I love the batts… and the abalone is fabulous. YOu have evoked the inner abalone… Amazing! 😉 I like the streaks too. 😉

    Dear Givaway Llama, I have been a good girl this year and I’m re-organizng my whoooollle house so I can have a studio for yarn and fiber to live in (with other tools). I would love to adopt the skein of yarn (or the batts… are those adoptable?)

    love , Ercil

  41. crunchymommy says:

    Very pretty – I’d love to win that, please! ;0)

    And I love your Abalone batts. I think wee bits of sparkly stuff might be quite lovely, and abalone-ey.

  42. Jo says:

    I love the batts, but I also say please no sparkle. However, if you really feel a need to sparkle–then I think you should wear the tardis corset. Just saying.

    J

  43. Karin says:

    Abalone doesn’t need sparkle, but the lucky recipient *might* add a few scattered seed pearl beads…..oooh!

  44. I’ve missed you – but busy is good!

    Love the batts – just the right amount of swirly color to my way of thinking.

  45. I have always thought that my preferred colors matched yours pretty well, and I have to say, the Abalone batts are BEAUTIFUL! (I love a little extra sparkle, but I am also one of those people who buy shiny yarn even when they don’t know what to do with it, so you might want to take that into consideration!) Avalon is lovely, and it would be a great addition to my ever increasing stash of laceweight yarn…thanks for the giveaway!

  46. Carol Ann Burden says:

    I also have missed you but appreciate the fact that wonderful things are percolating in that lovely head of yours!! I appreciate you considering me for the Avalon – what gorgeous yarn … my imagination is fired!! Can’t wait for the next entry about the Sock Summit!! Thanks for filling us in on everything!

  47. Mardi says:

    Pretty pretty abalone! But I hafta say…the carrot thing…some people just have too much leisure time.

    Wonder what they would make a Wookie out of?

  48. Sharon says:

    I don’t care how you tell your stories, just keep telling them. I really enjoy your blog. Memory is strange and sometimes we rearrange things to make sense of them.

  49. April says:

    The yarn in beautiful!

  50. nestra says:

    While I think that the unblended silk bits could be pretty, I do think that sparkle is required! Everything could use a bit of sparkle.

    And the yarn is lovely.

  51. Wow! Those abalone batts make me wish I knew how to spin!! You are surrounded by so much yumminess!

  52. Margo says:

    I think the abalone batts look good the way they are, I’d skip the sparkle.

  53. Elizabeth Vindedahl says:

    Wow you did a good job with the colors in this yarn. It turned out beautiful!! I liked reading about your inspiration. : )

  54. Maryjo says:

    lovely yarn, and I adore the soft colors! Thanks to both of you for being so generous!

  55. Tamara says:

    Oh yeah, beautiful free yarn?? And I just found you again after months of combing (no pun intended) KD for you–it must be fate!

    LOVE the carrot Darth–sites like those (and yours) always remind me that one can do absolutely anything with one’s life if you do it with passion and gusto.

    If we’re still voting–I say leave the sparkle on the tiaras. And I must say, having seen your VT pics with the tiara going around the table–everyone looks better wearing one!

  56. Susannah says:

    Hi there. I’m new to Wiseheart Knits, but am ever so glad that I discovered your fun blog! I think I’ll add my voice to those who said that the abalone batts are perfect just as they are. The laceweight is lovely too. So happy I found you!

  57. scheusie says:

    Wow those abalone batts are gorgeous. So is that lace weight yarn!! just gorgeous dahhhhling!
    hope I win, I know exactly what I will make!!!

  58. Kathy says:

    So HAPPY to see you have a new post–I’ve missed you terribly!!! The humor in your writings is always such a refreshing day brightener for me!! I, too, love abalone shells and you did a wonderful job of recreating that in the yarn. I think it’s good just as it is; I would not add sparkle to that already beautiful color–leave that to the tiaras. And, as for the give-away skein—it too is beautiful. Being currently unemployed, it would be an extra special treat to win such beautiful yarn to knit with to help soothe my soul

  59. Deborah says:

    I think you really captured the look of the abalone. Nice job. I would love to win the yarn. Looks lovely.

  60. I am new to spinning, weaving, knitting and anything else to do with yarn. I don’t know how I got this link, but I’m thankful for your talent and humor! As far as sparkles (or I like to call it bling), I think it is fine the way it is. To much and it distorts the texture of the fibre.

  61. Christine R says:

    Gorgeous stuff!

  62. jennybookworm says:

    I vote for adding sparkle – that would seem to echo the shell even more that what you’ve already done – very pretty! I’d love to get my hands on that laceweight to knit up into something gorgeous!

  63. Janet Statuti says:

    I love the laceweight and the batts and the cat. I don’t have any of these. I know the cat stays home but I would be glad to adopt the laceweight. Please, lovely llama be kind to me.

  64. Francesca says:

    You picked a beautiful skein. Love the blues. 🙂

  65. Jen says:

    Beautiful beautiful colors! All my favorites!

  66. btownknitter says:

    I love the abalone fiber and the inspiration. I’m not much a sparkle kind of girl, but the shell most definitely has sparkle so I say add the bling.

  67. Bonnie says:

    That’s so generous! Thanks for having the giveaway. I’m really going to have to stop reading blog posts that contain gorgeous pictures of anything spinning-related. Spinning is a rabbit hole I’m worried I’ll blunder into.

  68. Mary says:

    I’m terrible about starting stories or giving a little blurb, intending to finish it later then getting distracted.
    Love the yarn and the batts. Can’t wait to get my hands on a drum carder! Should get to use one Saturday at a workshop then hopefully get my own in a few months.

  69. Pat says:

    As much as I enjoy your blog, living life instead of sitting at a keyboard is a better choice. How does a llama kiss feel? The yarn is beautiful and your batts are beautiful! Taking my knitting to the next phase is tempting but as I am such a slow knitter, I cannot possibly add another craft or another step to the process.

  70. faithellen says:

    Glad you’re back with us! The engineering behind the TARDIS corset is being done by a good friend of mine — I love that it’s everywhere!

  71. Angela says:

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful lace yarn!!

  72. Lina says:

    Your abalone is very beautiful! Those are my favourite colours.

    And thanks for being so generous with the giveaway.

  73. Meredith says:

    Oh, great random number generator, please choose me! I have no laceweight yarn, none (oh, did you say I would have to take a polygraph? Maybe I might have a little bit of laceweight yarn. Oh. You want absolute truth? I actually have (ahem) three tubs of laceweight yarn. But a girl can always use more, right, oh great random number generator??)

  74. Pat S says:

    Add sparkly? Absolutely! You must stay true to the shimmery qualities of abalone.

    Those batts are beautiful.

  75. Cindy says:

    Love Rowsred’s yarn; her blog is pretty good too. I’ve been contemplating another lace project and this would be perfect. I think you got the abalone colors just right, and a little bit of sparkle would look really nice, IMHO. Lately I’ve been processing some Sheltand fleece with wool combs, and it’s coming out nicely. I hope you enjoy yours just as much.

  76. K Bossmann says:

    What a beautiful and kind llama (and generous to boot!)! I think you should just use the batts the way they are….just gorgeous! Maybe add some beads for sparkle?

  77. Holly says:

    I so enjoy your adventures and reading your Blog postings. Cute pic of you and your Llama friend, do they hum like Alpacas? Love your Batts, you’ve captured the Abalone color beautifully, look forward to seeing your creation — >j<

  78. Caryn says:

    Ohh, I love the batts! I REALLY want a drumcarder now, I only have handcards.

  79. Sandy Strickland says:

    I would defintely add sparkly to the abalone. I love sparkly!

  80. Rami says:

    Oh my, I would love a skein of that lama lace 🙂

  81. Pat says:

    Oh yes, like bubbles, glitter, and chocolate, it is hard to imagine there being “too much.” I vote for adding sparkly!

  82. Rachel says:

    Oh, I love the colors on those batts! And the llama is adorable. Thanks for offering the give away!

  83. Jennifer says:

    Your abalone fibre is beautiful. That lace yarn doesn’t look so bad either!

  84. marilyn says:

    It’s a beautiful yarn, I would love to win it!

  85. Yana says:

    I found this blogpost through Google+, when Maryjo Ordway reposted it. Yay for generous knitters giving away yarn! 🙂

  86. I would blend them one more time and then decide on sparkly. They are just gorgeous 🙂

  87. Lindsey says:

    Oh man! Both the yarn and the batts are lovely- cant wait to see some of it spun up 🙂

  88. All lovely! I have a Strauch Finest, too– LOVE it!

  89. Kathyann says:

    I would love the yarn, really enjoy reading your blog.

  90. I love the Abalone! You’re making me want to learn to spin (not for the first time).

  91. celebration says:

    I was at Mass Sheep and Wool and don’t remember seeing that vendor (although there was so much to see that I could have easily missed something). Your batts are gorgeous.

  92. courtney says:

    Beautiful batts. And the lace weight is gorgeous.
    I saw a post on google plus about the giveaway and l love your blog.

  93. jessi mccormack says:

    Oh what beautiful yarn! And batts! I just want to pet it all! And gods luck with all that fleece, mad jealous over here

  94. Gina says:

    Lovely yarn! And lovely batts! So much loveliness.

  95. Emily says:

    Please pick me, giveaway llama! That yarn is gorgeous!

  96. Alisha says:

    That yarn wants to live with me and become http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/evas-shawl I can just feel it.

  97. Suzy says:

    That abalone is beautiful, as is the “giveaway” lace yarn! BTW, I found your blog via google+ and am adding you to my blog list!

  98. Yana says:

    That yarn looks scrumptious! Thanks so much for doing a giveaway. I put a post up about it on Google+ so hopefully you’ll get lots more contestants and future readers from there.

  99. Mary Beth says:

    I love the Abalone!! You did a great job marrying the colors! I found this on Google+. are you on that site?? thanks!

  100. Yana threw out this link on google + I think a little sparkle would be amazing… great work!

  101. Love your blog. I learned about it through my Google+ Knitters’ Circle.

  102. Lisa Roman says:

    Love this yarn, it’s gorgeous! Also, great blog! Google+ members recommended!

  103. Anna Johnson says:

    I love your yarn and those colors! I also love the abalone!! Did anyone mention your kitty cats???? From one cat lover to another…yarn and kitties always go together!!!

  104. HeatherErin says:

    That really is incredibly lovely. I’m coveting!

  105. Sheila OKeefe says:

    I want that lace weight yarn! It’s one of my favorite colors and would match my eyes. So pick me, pick me! (please?)

  106. Bonnie Martin says:

    Saw a mention for this on Google+ Sandi. That Security camera is a scream! Think I can make it in laceweight? Sign me up!

  107. Annika Peloski says:

    I love the colours that you’ve chosen for the batts! You really got what you were going for with that one. Photography isn’t easy, I’ve done if for a living and I can still royally screw up colours. that’s what Photoshop is for!

  108. Oh that looks like it knits up like a dream! I love those colors too.

  109. Barbara Greene says:

    Wonderful goodies again! Your colorway is really great! Of course, I would love to play with the wonderful colors in that yarn as well! It is so nice to hear about your adventures in Portland, I await for the time when it has “stewed” enough. Thanks for your words.

  110. kokorimbaud says:

    How pretty the colours are! This would make a fantastic shawl to blog about 😉

  111. kokorimbaud says:

    How pretty the colours are! This would be perfect for the victorian shawl I’m planning *dreamy eyes*

  112. Meghan says:

    Those batts are *amazing*. I think that they’re perfect just as they are.

  113. Teri says:

    Beautiful colors – yummy yarn!

  114. Mandy Lemmi says:

    You have a very cute kitty there.

    And those are really beautiful colors all together. The blend is lovely.

  115. kate says:

    I think you got the abalone color spot on! Lovely!

  116. NancyN44 says:

    If you want sparkle, add sparkle. I think just a little bit of glimmer would add that abalone touch; something that just catches the edge of your vision. And the Avalon yarn is beautiful. I’d love to knit something with it.

  117. Virginia says:

    love the batts and using the idea of the abalone shell for inspiration.

  118. Seanna Lea says:

    Please count me in. I live in Massachusetts and have never made it to Cummington.

    I think you should leave the batts as is (in terms of how blended the silk is), though I’m all for adding more shiny to the batts. Yum!

  119. Gail says:

    I am currently knitting a Brandywine out of Bittersweet (Rows Red) yarn “Guilty Pleasures” – which I bought when she was at the the NJ Sheep and Wool (Garden State Sheep and Wool, I think they call it.) Lovely colors!

  120. Lizzie says:

    What beautiful colors (wish me luck in the giveaway!)

  121. Judi says:

    Love your abalone, would be a wonderful complement to the shawl I just finished with KP gloss ultramarine. Or vice versa. And abalone and ‘marine’ just sort of go together, you know?

    Gorgeous, gorgeous. Thanks to Yana for linking up on google+ . . .

    Now to look at those tiny, tiny sculptures.

  122. ikkinlala says:

    Gorgeous batts!

  123. Eva says:

    The lace yarn looks beautiful (and so does your abalone fiber!), I’d love to turn it into a shawl.

  124. mia says:

    I’m not big on sparkle, so I’d leave it out. I don’t think I’d try to blend the silk in more, either– just leave it as pockets of sheen.

  125. Linnet says:

    Both the abalone and the avalon are beautiful. I’ve been knitting 25+ years but somehow have only recently found myself venturing into laceweight, so the avalon would be great for me!

  126. Lindy says:

    Just a little sparkle – you know you want to! I was sent her from a posting on Google+ by Yana. Lots of knitters there!

  127. Deb says:

    Love the color of the yarn and I love knitting lace…..

  128. Heather says:

    So pretty! Your creations always amaze me.

  129. Rachel says:

    I love your batt! I’m totally envious of your wheel, too. 😉

    Lucky girl, to take a class from Franklin!

  130. Lori says:

    Your batt is beautiful! and…I don’t know which is funner: the crocheted security camera or the Tardis corset. LOL!

  131. KathyR says:

    Your batts are lovely…and inspiring!

  132. Sandy Barton says:

    A giveaway llama? Sweet!!!

  133. Your bat’s are wonderful. They should spin up quite lovely. Many thanks to you and and Rows Red for the giveaway.

  134. teresa says:

    Very pretty lace…. wow can already see a Pine and Ivy….

    have a great day

  135. Tina M. says:

    As always, it was great to see you, and I’m still kind of surprised that you remember me every time. How exciting to see my yarn up on Casa de Wiseheart! Thank you for the kind words, both from you and everyone else, this humble small time dyer is very squirmy happy! I hope whomever wins the yarn enjoys it. 🙂

    Your batts are GORGEOUS, and hope you went for the sparkle. I think a touch of sparkle makes many things in life better. Unless it’s my cat. She’d probably rip me a new one if I tried to make her sparkle.

  136. Arla Schmaltz says:

    You are a very talented lady!!! From the first time I read your articles on Knitting Daily, I have appreciated your down-to-earth style of writing and common sense and humourous approach to knitting and fitting stlyes to different body types. Now that you are “free-lancing” I can honestly say that I have come to appreciate what you have to say and show us even more!!!
    As for the batts, they are beautiful just as they are…if you choose to make more of them, add some glitz and glam to those…I am one who likes to use the plain jane and then the glitz and glam to accent…
    The abalone colours match perfectly (at least to my eyes) with the shell’s interior…
    over the years I have learned to go with my first instincts for the first time around…then should I choose to change anything, I’ll do it on subsequent projects of the same pattern….
    Keep up the good writing, carding, spinning and crafting…you ( in my mind, at least) could become a national treasure… 🙂

  137. Ne-knopka says:

    pretty colours !

  138. Linda says:

    Avalon is delicious, as is your abalone!

Leave a Reply

