a winner! plus: a love story that must be told


The Giveaway Llama is pleased to announce that…

HeatherErin of the comments has won the lovely merino/silk laceweight yarn handdyed (and graciously donated) by Rows Red of Bittersweet Woolery. Wooot! I have sent off an email to HeatherErin to let her know, so soon a wonderful bit of yarn can be winging its way to her.

Let’s all give a big WOOT to HeatherErin, and a big thank you to Rows Red for her kindness. I know it’s sad that only one person could win, but there will be more giveaways in the weeks to come, as usual. You just never know when it will be you getting a little congrats email from the Giveaway Llama…

A Note

This blog is about a lot of things. Sometimes it is about Things Yarn and Knitting, sometimes it is about Things Life, and sometimes, wellllllll…sometimes it is about Things Cat. Thanks in advance to everyone who reads through what follows and is not a cat person. (If you’re not a cat person, at least skip down to the Chispas, they’re worth it!)

I promise there will be more fun with knitting and spinning and fibre next time!

The kitten and the llama

One of the comments in particular caught my eye, because it refers to a story I promised you a couple of weeks ago but still haven’t shared. Here’s what Diane said (in part): “Oh, and the Stunt Llama wants out of his contract. He’s really being worked over.” Let’s find out what that’s all about, shall we?

For a couple of weeks in June/July, I went to stay at the house of my friend Diane in California. I gave an initial report way back then; but something happened during my visit that was so charming and weird and silly that I can’t resist telling the tale.

Meet Steve McKitten:

He is Master of all he surveys at Diane’s house. His main job seems to be making as much mischief as possible in as many inventive ways as possible. His other job is to supervise the humans and make sure they do their work properly.

Steve also enjoys greeting guests and making them feel at home by encouraging them to worship him from the moment they walk in the door to the moment they fall asleep. Steve came in to the guest room each night and graciously snuggled with me for a while, purring until I fell asleep.

Or at least…that’s what I thought he was doing. Turns out that Mr. McKitten had something else on his mind.

This is Truffles. Truffles is my travelling companion when I go to places like wool festivals and Sock Summits and long visits with faraway friends. He likes to meet new people, experience new places, and stick his nose out the car window to sniff the passing scenery.

He also doesn’t mind a wee taste of a cold beverage now and then.

In other words, he’s a delightful dude to pal around the world with. And as a bonus, he has super-secret Ninja powers…he’s a Guard Llama. (Spit of death, I tell ya.)

The first day I was at Diane’s house, her husband Chris (pictured above monitoring Truffles’ beer intake) came down the stairs, Steve under one arm and Truffles in his other hand.

This was a bit disconcerting, as I had met Chris all of about two hours prior, and Truffles had been safely packed away in my luggage. Next to my lacy bits, shall we say. Now, that-which-had-been-packed-next-to-my-undertheres was in the hand of a man I barely knew.

A bit awkward, that.

Turns out that Chris, who is truly quite the gentleman, had caught STEVE with Truffles, apparently just after Steve (who perhaps is not quite so much the gentleman) had ferreted Truffles out from amongst my unmentionables. Steve had been dragging Truffles around by the ear, and Chris was wondering if the llama was something Sir Kitten ought to be mangling and applying catspit to.

Steve gave us Innocent Face, as only a cat can.

Thus began a battle of wills between me and Steve. Steve was desperately in love with Truffles, and began to go digging in my bags at every opportunity to try to find his new heartthrob. I solved this during the day by putting Truffles in a bag high up on a shelf Steve couldn’t get to.

However, at night…I sleep with Truffles. Laugh if you must, I hold my head high and boldly assert my right to sleep with whomever and whatever I damn well please (as long as it’s OK with my husband, and Truffles is Nicholas Approved).

Remember those kindly visits by Steve at night to make sure his guest was properly tucked in? Right. NOT. Those were a SHAM, a bait-and-switch, all aimed at getting his little greedy paws on my llama. Steve would jump up on my bed at night, snuggle, purr like a Harley, knead his sweet little white paws, drool a bit just to completely disarm me–and then make a quick dive under the covers where he knew Truffles was hiding. Several times he had Truffles by the ear and halfway across the bed before I caught the little thief.

After a few nights of this, Diane and I decided that Steve really needed a llama of his very own, if only to give poor Truffles a decent night’s sleep once in a while. I ordered a Truffles Stunt Double off the interwebs (www.douglastoys.com, if you too must have one, look under Farm Animals).

Enter The Stunt Llama.

We weren’t sure if Steve would be fooled by the switch or not. Our concern was unfounded. I managed to capture the touching first moments of a lifelong bond on video.

As you can hear in the background, by about Minute Three we were concerned that Stunt Llama would not make it through Minute Five without losing his head, or possibly a foot. But survive he did…and then, Steve stole Truffles one last time, perhaps thinking that he should start his own herd.

Torn between two llamas…loving both of you is breaking all the rules…

(sorry, couldn’t resist)

All in all, however, Steve was clearly delighted with Stunt Llama, and from Diane’s comment, is continuing the relationship with great enthusiasm.

I will say, however, that on the last day of my visit, Steve was once again searching my luggage for his beloved Truffles.

It was a very moving moment when the two said their final goodbyes.

THE END

P.S. Like the larger photo size? Hate it? Let me know! 

Chispas

Giant panda Yun Zi REALLY likes his birthday cake at the San Diego Zoo.

An astonishingly beautiful bit of yarn-bombing. I like how the journalist obviously doesn’t know the difference between knitting and crochet and hedges bets by referring to the artwork as both.

Unusual wedding photos. Scroll down. No, really, just do it.

See you next time! And thank you, thank you for reading along with my adventures, and for all the wonderful comments! Keep them coming, I love to hear from you folks. You’re the best!

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to a winner! plus: a love story that must be told

  1. Suzy says:

    Oh, how I wish any of my 3 cats were that enthusiastic about anything but their food! Steve and his llama obsession are adorable 🙂

  2. Darlene Appleby says:

    I love the larger pictures and Steve. Makes it much easier to see what’s going on.

  3. Barbara says:

    looks like someone rubbed catnip all over the stunt Llama.

  4. Melanie says:

    WOOT!

    Love the stunt llama. Need a little one…

  5. InJuneau says:

    Awwww!

  6. HeatherErin says:

    Thank you SOOOOO MUCH! I’m just absolutely tickled!

  7. Saragl says:

    I second loving the big pictures!

  8. Nancy Leong says:

    Adorable story and LOVE the bigger pictures 🙂

  9. Kimberly says:

    Thank you so much for sharing, this made me LOL! Cats do the darndest things, you just have to love them 🙂

  10. Diane says:

    *sigh* That’s our boy. 🙂

  11. Jekka says:

    That is one impressive bit of llama wrassling. I’d better not let Llama Llama see it — it might be too upsetting.

  12. Gloria19 says:

    Thanks so much for sharing the video. Steve is a hoot. Made my day.

  13. Seanna Lea says:

    Wow. I really love the yarn bombing pictures. Normally it can look very kitschy, but these looked very clean and beautiful. Awesome!

  14. Wormbeast says:

    Will the Llamba be the High Llama in Shangri-La when he grows up?

  15. GeniaKnitz says:

    Love the big picture, and that Steve McKitten is one Gorgeous Cat!

  16. andrea says:

    i to love the bigger picture size. Steve is the sweetest baby i’ve seen. i love his colouring and how is is full of such energy. love the yarn bombing. the spider webs are amazing.

  17. Donna says:

    (1) WOOT and congrats to HeatherErin! (2) I LOVE the larger photo size. (3) Steve-of-the-Innocent-Face is handsome, adorable, and very entertaining. Thanks for sharing!

  18. wendolyn says:

    love the big pics. makes it easy to fall into those fetching kitty eyes.

  19. Pat S says:

    Steve is one cool cat – and I had to order a llama for my cat. Let’s hope he loves it as much as Steve loves his!
    Love the large pictures.

  20. HeatherErin says:

    I just wanted to come back and say that the yarn arrived this week, and it has been the absolutely highlight of the last two weeks! It is completely gorgeous, AND my kids were so excited by the other goodies you slipped in that that’s all they could tell their father about when we chatted over the phone for about two days!

    Thank you so much for the lovely, lovely yarn and sweets!

  21. deltadawn says:

    Oh my – just fell deeply in love with Steve, and am now considering a Llama for my new boyfriend Luc and my girl Bluefish!

Leave a Reply

