A winner and a lemon


Folks, we have a winner for the beautiful Cornflower blue laceweight yarn hand-dyed by Schafenfreude Fibers:

I counted down to number 57, and it was Carole! Here’s one more peek at the lovely prize yarn:

Congratulations Carole (3strands)!!

Now, I see that the comment count has grown since I ran the random number search, but the Rulez say the cutoff is midnight, so there you have it. But…you folks who commented too late might want to keep an eyeball peeled for the next giveaway.

And since I’m going to SOAR and Rhinebeck where all SORTS of amazing yarn and fiber goodies are to be had, one never knows what the Giveaway Llama will come up with next time.

Of course, if anyone has any requests or ideas or colour prefs, you can leave me a comment. Can’t promise anything, and of course I can’t promise you will win what your preference was, but since I am going to be positively overwhelmed by choices in the next few weeks it’s always good to have a little bit of guidance.

And now for the Lemon…

That’s my adorable, wonderful apple green VW bug (taken last December, clearly!).

Today I drove around the city for a bit, then stopped at the local Walmart on my way home to run another errand. Got out of the Walmart dog-tired…and the car wouldn’t start. Again. For the umpteenth time this season.

We’ve had the battery replaced three times, the sparkplug wires done twice, the tests run and the chins scratched thoughtfully and now, it’s deadibones again.

I’m supposed to drive 8.5 hours to Vermont on Saturday, then 3.5 hours to New Hampshire on Sunday. Then, a week later, I drive an hour and a half to Massachusetts, then a few days after that, I drive several hours to Rhinebeck, then three days later, I drive 9 hours back to my house.

I don’t know if I trust a car that breaks down this much on that kind of trip. ARGH.

We’re looking into car rental costs. BOOOOO.

We’ll see. Maybe a miracle will occur.

Meanwhile, our car is in the hands of the good folk at Canadian Tire. Send them good car fixin’ mojo, would you?

I’m so tired I’m falling asleep here at the keyboard. How about an adorable cat photo to tide you over until the next post?

That is Tim, being Tim. There’s actually a video of him rolling around showing his cute belly (he has a striped vest pocket!), but I’m too tired to do the tech wizardy required to upload it.

Till next time….Maybe my photo assistants will have some really great yarn photos for you then.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A winner and a lemon

  1. molly says:

    rest well – travel gently – HAVE A BALL!
    report back to us on al the lovelies you will see!
    cheers
    molly

  2. Melanie says:

    Congratulations, Carole,

  3. Purlista says:

    Drive safely Sandi – hope you make it there and back with no issues.

    Carole, I am so jealous, but so happy for you! Have fun with that lovely yarn!

  4. Sharon says:

    I used to have a VW that didn’t always start. Have they checked for a bad spot on the starter or lose connection with the alternator? Good luck.

  5. Pat says:

    Hi Sandi,
    Sorry about your car. Sounds like you have a fun trip planned. I share your feelings about flying – avoid it whenever possible. Loved the llama picture from the other day. Take care and stay safe on your trip.
    Pat aka westies
    P.S. Great Tim Pictures

  6. Marea says:

    Happy Wednesday,, Sandi. I’ve shared your ignition/no-go woes. Mine turned out to have been small woodland creatures chewing on the tasty wires while it was parked in their area of my rural yard. One even decided to nest in the glove box while we were having snowstorms. Still, several years later, finding deteriorated (translate to short circuits) wiring as the road vibrations moved them to a new potential…. The plug-in-to-the-computer analysis never finds it, only the true old-school mechanic.

  7. Caryn says:

    Sending car fixin mojo. Here’s hoping the problem is an inexpensive fix so you:
    #1: Have plenty of money to spoil yourself at Rhinebeck and SOAR.
    #2: Don’t have to get a rental car. The reasoning is simple. See #1.

  8. Seanna Lea says:

    After having a car break down on me on the way to Western Massachusetts, a trip of only a couple of hours, I fully endorse the idea of getting a rental. I know it is expensive, but the cost if you car breaks down in the middle of nowhere is huge!

  9. Megan Olhasque says:

    Congratulations, Carole! I’m finishing up some rather bulky cardigans and have decided some lacy scarves ( to go with the bulky cardigans) are next on the agenda. So I’m suitably green but absolutely delighted for you.
    Sandi, if at all feasible, I wholeheartedly agree with the rental car idea. If nothing else, the peace of mind of knowing that, if something does go wrong, the rental company will come out and replace the offending vehicle would be priceless to me if I was contemplating your itinerary. The good mojo is on its way regardless, of course 🙂

  10. Amber says:

    This isn’t really related to this post, except the cute cat picture, but I thought you’d appreciate this anyway… 🙂 Hope your travels went well!

    (It’s a cat-computer user animation)

Leave a Reply

