the rambler returneth


Hi, kids, I’m home!

I’m too crazy and tired and sick to write a real blog entry just yet, but here are some quick Fun Facts About Sandi’s Adventures to tide y’all over, because I missed you.

I was gone 18 days, drove through 4 U.S. states (Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, New York) and one Canadian province (Ontario, cheating a bit on that one), and spent a total of about 23 hours in my car. (Not counting On The Road With Jesh, about which I shall regale you in a day or so.) (Was that sentence even English? OY. Tired here.)

I listened to three audiobooks. Maybe four, I may have lost count. Two Sookie Stackhouse mysteries,  a Dexter mystery, and I think there was also a book about a church in there somewhere between the vampires and the serial killers.

I kept to the speed limit the entire time, entirely and thoroughly annoying every single inhabitant of New York who shared the road with me. (You’re welcome.)

I talked to All The Spinners and Knitters and Weavers. I hugged a zillion people.

I studied spinning, spinning cotton, spinning to weave, spinning for different colour effects and spinning better; I studied weaving, I studied knitting techniques, I studied Advanced Hanging Out And Giggling.

I worked at a booth at Rhinebeck and filled up five receipt books for my boothmaster, Jen of Holiday Yarns.

I returned home with a throat infection and pink eye. In both eyes. Oh, and voiceless. (One cute little child who heard me croaking at the wool festival pointed to my tiara and asked if I had been a frog who’d been turned into a princess. Adorable.)

I brought home at least seven pounds of wool. Don’t judge me, kids, you know you’re jealous. Yes, there will be photos. Sorry I can’t give you touch-o-vision through the interwebs. The organic merino is TO DIE FOR.

I took over 1200 photos. Of everyone and everything that would stand still.

You’ll notice a distinct dearth of photos in this post. I also have to go through 1200 photos now, thankyouverymuch.

Here’s a couple, just because they’re the last ones I took.

The inside of my car looks like this:

That is AFTER I have taken in two loads of bags.

Trunk, including Sidekick spinning wheel and a suitcase and Yet More Fiber:

Buried somewhere in all that are some goodies for you folks, of course. I had fun shopping for giveaway goodies for y’all, so expect some pretties (and new photos of The Giveaway Llama) to show up in the near future.

Judging by the contents of the kitchen cabinets, my husband missed me:

A Lot.

I have more unpacking and laundry and sorting and bookkeeping to do than I can imagine without losing my tiny mind, so I am now off to Attack The Pile that apparently followed me around for 2.5 weeks.

I promise I have lots of stories to tell. Soon.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to the rambler returneth

  1. btownknitter says:

    I do hope that your travels were trouble free from the mystery battery problem. It’s good to hear you had a great time!

  2. molly says:

    welcome home! – although you have tons of things to do and you have many people wanting to hear and see more about your adventures, take time to rest up and get better….we’re your friends! we can wait! (just not too patiently, hehheh)
    cheers
    molly

  3. Tamara says:

    That was perfectly English, yes! So glad to hear that the trip went well, except for the unfortunate infections, for which you should just collapse and take good care of youself for a couple of days. As your mother might say, “Now that I know you’re not dead…”

    I have resolved to visit Rhinebeck next year, and maybe I’ll even be good enough for SOAR, though that travels, doesn’t it? I may have to wait until it’s on the east coast again.

    Let Nicholas take care of you, and take care of him–you can share his chocolate stash–that will make you both feel better!

  4. naomi says:

    I sympathize. (I had ~1650 photos to go through in May.)

  5. Carole (3strands) says:

    Sandi, please write a book. We’re all waiting.

  6. Rachelle says:

    Your husband has good taste in chocolate. I have a few blocks of the Lindt Milk Chocolate with caramel pieces here atm, yum! One day I want to get to Rheinbeck, but it’s a very long way from here; I’m in the south island of New Zealand.

  7. Tina M. says:

    Welcome back Princess Fabulous! Thanks for stopping by the booth to say hi, turns out your victory voodoo worked! Only now I have no yarn for Stitches East so I have to stay home and do boring administrative stuff. 😛

    Seriously, THANK YOU for being so wonderful.

    I wanna see loot, too.

  8. Sorry I missed you this time through….but I’m glad to hear you had a fabulous time. *hugs*

    -DaisysMom

  9. Welcome home. I hope you feel better soon!

  10. Deb says:

    Rest and get better. We will wait for all your fun stories.

  11. GeniaKnitz says:

    I seem to be the only one who doesn’t know, which is embarrassing, but WHAT kind of animal is that adorable creature at the top of your blog?
    I think I’m in love.

  12. Seanna Lea says:

    It is too bad that you have gotten sick, but I’m glad that you had a good time! I think his method of missing you is a good one. I wish my husband got me tasty chocolate when I have to be out for extra time.

  13. MSueM says:

    glad you are home safely! I envy you.

  14. Pat says:

    Welcome back!! In the immortal words of the old country western song, “ain’t it good to be back home again…” It looks as if you had loads of fun. Rest up. Glad to see your post.

  15. Megan Olhasque says:

    How fun but sorry about the maladies. I can’t wait to hear all about the fibers and toys. Did I spy a drum carder somewhere in the jumble?

  16. Kit says:

    My mom has been in Holland for 3 days now. He has gone through a whole bag of BBQ potato chips. There are another three in the closet. There were none on Friday. I think he misses her, too.

    Also, wow, take me on as an apprentice to fiber buying, please. ❤

  17. Lee says:

    Welcome back, we missed you! The interwebs just aren’t the same when you’re traveling. Feel better soon ~

Leave a Reply

