All My Stitches, 2011 Edition


I’ve been thinking about this post all week long, and I think I’ve delayed writing it, because this time of year is very loaded. We tend to evaluate what we did in the past year, and resolve to do better in the year ahead. That evaluation can be done in a critical, harsh way, or it can be done in a positive, almost playful spirit.

Of course, I am wont to do the former, and wish to do the latter!

First, let’s try the traditional way:

Knitting Completed in 2011

In no particular order…

Well, hold on a minute. Let’s show you the Big One first.

Star Baby Blanket

Remember this from my blog on Knitting Daily? I got stuck halfway through the edging, because the mitered corners weren’t working out. I picked this up again about a month ago, ripped the edging back to the first round, and had a little do-over. And now it’s done!

A shot of the new corners:

The blanket was originally for my charming and smart and going-to-rule-the-world-someday niece Delaney (proud dad Matt is above), but Delaney is 2.5 yrs old now and is a Big Girl, she informed me. So the blanket is going to her tiny, smiling, always happy brother Will, age 6 months.

(I’d love to show pics, but I don’t put pics of children on the blog without parental permission and I haven’t asked Matt and Laura for permission yet. Trust me, the kids are ADORABLE. And Delaney is scary smart.)

Blanket main pattern: Star Light, Star Bright by Anna Dillenberg Rachap

Blanket edging: Adapted from edging patterns in Knitted Lace of Estonia by Nancy Bush

Yarn: Dale of Norway Baby Ull

It took me 2 years to finish, but I finished it and I feel very pleased with the result.

Onwards to other Finished Objects of 2011…

And even though I have sometimes given links to online sources for yarn, please share the love this year and always check at your local yarn shop first. 

My sparkly Tyrians:

Pattern: Tyrian by Jessamyn Leib

Yarn: Shameless Twist Precious (the yarn with sterling silver in it)

Nicholas’ Spring Pogona

Pattern: Pogona by Stephen West

Yarn: Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks That Rock Mediumweight

Gorgeous Maia

Pattern: Maia Shoulderette by Rosemary Hill

Yarn: Sanguine Gryphon Bugga

Woven Pick-Up Tote

 

I have to show off the lime green lining, recycled from an old blouse:

Pattern: Woven Pick-Up Tote by Sara Lamb from her FAB book, Woven Treasures

Yarn: Tahki Cotton Classic for the bag; Valley Yarns by WEBS Weaving Yarn for straps

Pink Watershed

Clearly, I never got a picture of it actually finished, but it really is done, promise!

Pattern: Watershed by Amy Swenson

Yarn: Great Adirondack Yarn Co Superwash Merino

Baby Surprise with Matching Berry Hat

Pattern (jacket): Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth All Hail The Queen Zimmermann

Pattern (hat): Berry Baby Hat by Michele Sabatier

Yarns: Cascade 200, Bernat Berella, and Bernat Satin Solids
Buttons from Michael’s

Cheery Lined Mittens for Nicholas

Showing off the inner cashmere lining in progress; eventually it lined the thumb portion as well:

Pattern: Fletcher Mittens by Amy Swenson

Yarn, outer mitten: Brown Sheep Nature Spun Worsted (solid blue, solid green) AND Lornas Laces Bullfrogs and Butterflies Multi

Yarn, lining: Baruffa Bollicina Cashmere

Warm Socks in DK Weight

Pattern: Warm Toes, Thick Socks by Sandi Wiseheart, free pattern on Ravelry (ahem, tiny plug, sorry)

Yarn: Indigodragonfly MCN Sport

Bitterroot Shawl in Handspun

Pattern: Bitterroot by Rosemary Hill

Yarn: Handspun 2-ply wool, spun (and probably dyed) by Abby Franquemont

And last, but never least….

Lotus Leaf Mittens

Backs

Palms

Pattern: Lotus Leaf Mittens by Elli Stubenrauch

Yarn, purple: Fleece Artist Somoko

Yarn, white: Dream in Color Starry

There. Posting all that took me two hours. And I didn’t even list the tiaras, the earrings, the patterns I designed, the necklaces…

I think other sorts of blogging adventures will happen later. After lunch. (Food is good.)

Maybe this will be part one of a two-part New Year’s post…

Chispas

Lost Wedding Ring found on Carrot. Life is much weirder than fiction.

A recipe for my favourite sort of cookies, ever.

Health at Every Size…a different, more respectful (methinks) way to think about health, weight, and self-image.

A baby hedgehog snuggling. Just in case you are in need of an adorable small animal pic today.

And simply because I cannot resist: The weirdest Nativity scene ever. (Truly. If you have seen a weirder one, put a link in the comments.)

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to All My Stitches, 2011 Edition

  1. Gloria19 says:

    I am in awe of your very even YOs. What is your secret?
    Everything is beautiful.

  2. Anna Johnson says:

    wow!!! you are a beautiful knitter!!! I love all of your items!!!!

  3. Brenda says:

    What a wonderful display. I especially love the Lotus Mittens.

  4. Rachel says:

    I am in total awe of the amount you completed in a year. Sheesh, I have to start knitting MORE!

  5. sarah says:

    such gorgeousness!

  6. Deb says:

    Really beautiful!
    Happy New Year…..Deb

  7. Kimberly says:

    Fantastic! Thanks for the free sock pattern – I needed one for my homespun – just downloaded it 🙂

  8. Tamara says:

    You got so much done! Congrats on an excellent FO 2011! Star blanket is so beautiful, and I agree with Gloria19–everything, not just the YO’s, is enviable. I’m also especially intrigued by the mitten lining, which I bet can be done for any mitten, n’est ce pas?

    Have a wonderful 2012 Sandi & Nicholas!

  9. Caryn says:

    Thank you for all your fabulousness! You are so inspiring. I had to download the lotus mitten pattern after seeing yours.

  10. molly says:

    well done, sandi! well done!
    cheers
    molly

  11. molly says:

    but then, you don’t need us to tell you that…. 🙂

  12. Christina says:

    The Star light blanket is just beautiful!! It looks worth all of the effort that was put into it. Happy New Year!

  13. You’ve been a busy girl. If this is what you accomplish when you’re sick – what do you do when you’re well?

  14. Seanna Lea says:

    I really want your mittens. They are gorgeous. Of course, I should just knit my own but yours are already perfect!

  15. donna lee says:

    You finished some beautiful things this year. I don’t make resolutions as such. My goal for the year (and it’s a rolling year) is to continue to give people the benefit of the doubt. I will try to ascribe good motives to their actions. As for knitting? I want to learn as many new skills as I can. Last year I learned to knit something with beads and that made me happy.

  16. Shearersgirl says:

    Wow, you’ve had a busy year! What beautiful FOs.

Leave a Reply

