are we there yet?


The last post ended with this:

One big ball o’ rip-out

That same yarn has now been transformed into this:

Woot! A sweater body for Sandrilene, or most of one, anyway. Even better: It appears to fit. Even better #2: That photo was taken a couple of days ago, so I’ve done several more inches and am four rows away from dividing for the sleeves. I’m really enjoying this project.

It helps that the yarn is crack.

I don’t want to jinx anything…but I just might finish this. I just MIGHT have a new Rhinebeck sweater this year.

My new word of the day: “Vay-kay-shun”

Rhinebeck! I’m going to Rhinebeck! The thought of a sheep & wool festival right now makes my knees weak. (What. You knew I was weird, c’mon.)

From the weak knees I cleverly discern that I am in dire need of a vacation. A month ago, my family doc threatened to write me a prescription for a vacation if I kept refusing to take one on my own. I made the mistake of telling my therapist this little anecdote, thinking she would find it amusing. Amusing, hell. She threatened to co-sign the prescription form, AND to get Doc D, her co-therapist, to sign it as well.

Doc D is a pretty tough head shrinker, as you can see.

D is an official therapy-dog-in-training, and he’s just over a year old. I think he’s a goldendoodle. His primary therapeutic tools are frequent head-rubbing sessions (his head, not yours), regular instruction on proper belly massage technique (he selflessly voluteers to be the belly-rubbee so you are free to concentrate on your inner work), and that tried-and-true remedy for all sorts of ills, wet slobbery dog kisses.

He’s definitely NOT supposed to be sitting in the chair, however. He has his own pillow nearby, and every now and then he’ll start snoring really loudly, at which point I’ll turn to D and ask, “Am I boring you?”, which sets off a bout of laughter whilst D continues to practice deep doggie meditation.

Therapy animals are AWESOME.

Fab Yarn (and what to do with it)

I’ve finished all the carding of the BFL/silk blend, and now have 3 bobbins full of singles. I have fewer than a dozen of my carded batts left, which I’m guesstimating equals about one bobbin’s worth of singles. The end is near…

I was going to get all sad about not having any more of this lovely stuff to fondle, until I realized that the next thing I get to do is KNIT with the lovely fluff-transformed-by-twist.  I’d had a sweater pattern in mind, a really pretty cardigan…and then, just for fun, I started browsing the Ravelry pattern database.

The pattern search page needs to post a little informative welcoming screen before letting you see your search results:

ABANDON HOPE AND CLEAN LAUNDRY
ALL YE WHO ENTER HERE

You’d think a couple hundred pages of cabled cardigan patterns would satisfy any knitting desire one could possibly have. You’d think after an evening spent diligently combing the search results, you’d come up with a Top Ten that you absolutely adored and were unable to choose from.

You’d think.

Nope.

Suddenly, no pattern on Ravelry is worthy of this bin of handspun 3-ply yarn. (As of this minute, there are 89,206 patterns available for download on Ravelry, plus others in the database that are only available in books or magazines.) No one in the entire yarniverse has ever designed a sweater deserving of this yarn, a design capable of showing off its charms, of shouldering the burden of its utter gorgeousness.

You know what THAT means, of course. It means that I have now crashed my browser four times by having Too Many Ravelry Pattern Page Tabs open at the same time. I’ve seen so many bad sweater designs that I can’t even go there. I’ve seen so many awesome designs that I end up with a severe designer inferiority complex (how do they THINK of that stuff?). I’ve seen sweaters that were clearly copied from other sweaters, sweaters that are so original they are nearly unwearable, and sweaters in colours unknown to homo sapiens (but which I am sure Jen or Kim could easily–coughcough–duplicate).

I remember back when I worked at Interweave and the editorial staff was always wishing for a database of patterns, with photos and yarn info, that one could search by type and texture and stitch pattern and even colour, if that’s all one could remember. Casey and Jess of Ravelry have given us this and more. Those two people, along with Mary-Heather and Sarah, have changed the fibre world forever, and we are SO LUCKY.

I’m getting there. I’ve narrowed things down quite a bit. I only have two browser windows open, each with only about thirty-odd tabs. So, I’m down to my final 70-ish choices. Not bad.

I should have that sweater pattern picked out any day now. By next spring, if it don’t hail and the creek don’t rise.

Chispas

Speaking of animals who like to help: Bottle-feeding someone’s young-un.

This is so beautiful; this is the sort of thing that gives me hope for humans. I want a big print of this for my office.

Feeling a bit lonely on Friday night? Want to go out but you want some eye candy on your arm? Knit yourself a date. Married folk, you’ll have to settle for sock-knitting, sorry.

Tiniest kittens being bottle-fed. Be sure to have your sound turned on. Oh, the cute, it burns….

Bike riding is important, fun, and healthy. Wearing bike helmets is terribly important. But bike helmets are not fun to wear, and we all know it. I’m not sure this is the answer, because…oh, just go have a peek. But at least someone’s THINKING and was a bit cleverer than the average bear about this one.

OK, I don’t know what this is. Well. I mean, I know it’s a cat. But is it a normal cat? Or a cat with some sort of brain problems, a kind of post cat-stroke behaviour? I hope the cat isn’t ill, because I laughed myself sick and watched this three times. FUNNY. Must have sound on. Pee first.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to are we there yet?

  1. teabird says:

    Thanks for the warning on the no-no cat.

  2. molly says:

    my one year old grandson and i watched the nononono cat – i don’t know who laughed harder! now he is trying to get my cats to say it….hee hee!
    thanks so much for the fun!
    molly

  3. Rachel says:

    RHINEBECK! woo hoo!

    and kittens — that video reminded me of one of the things I loved best about working as a vet tech, babies! I don’t know where you find your chispas but thank you, they always make my day

  4. Tamara says:

    Where do you stay for Rhinebeck?? I just looked up places nearby, and there are no places nearby! Or at least not with websites for me to check out their accomodations.

    I completely agree about the signage that should come with the Patterns page at Ravelry; and also with the fabulousness of Casey and Jess and Mary-Heather and Sarah. What would we do now without them? This prompted me to go out and donate $10 to their site. i do the same with my favorite podcasts. I hope every little bit helps…

  5. I really don’t want to think about how much time I spent looking for a pattern that would be a circle or pinwheel sweater that could be bought individually and had long narrow sleeves etc. There aren’t really that many of that pattern, but it is still a insane.

    I’ll admit I love the idea of the Knit Swirl book, but I don’t need 15+ patterns for swirl jackets. Just one.

  6. Arla says:

    Sandy, enjoy your vacation!!! Relax, rest, and return restored and rejuvenated!!! Blessings!!!

  7. Naomi says:

    I would really rather wear a normal bike helmet than that one, thanks.

  8. InJuneau says:

    I’m with Naomi on the helmet thing. I’m pretty sure that thing wouldn’t have deployed quickly enough in my last bike crash to have helped any. I’m much happier with having been wearing a regular helmet that now has to be replaced and just a broken nose (black eyes too, but they’re gone now) that what could have happened.

Leave a Reply

