Quick post, with sheep


My laptop is currently having a hissy fit, so I’m doing a mini-post on my iPhone.

We shall see if this works or not.

I’ve been washing fleeces for days; my house is currently bedecked in random spots with nearly dry fleece bits.
20121002-181722.jpg
This is one of those days where you fervently send out mental messages to everyone you know: DO NOT COME TO MY HOUSE TODAY. It wouldn’t be a surprise to those who know me, but it sure makes me look even more eccentric than my press releases may have indicated. If I had press releases.
20121002-181748.jpg
As I’ve lived my eccentric little life this week, I’ve been thinking about sheep.

I know, you’re shocked and awed.

So when I was driving home from an appointment, I rather thought my eyes were playing tricks on me.

20121002-181611.jpg

This is literally four minutes from my house.
20121002-181652.jpg
I parked and went over to the fence to have a little chat with my fluffy new friends. Most were white, with nearly horizontal ears and clean faces. (Deb Robson would glow with pride right now if she knew I’d just written that.)

There were two with black faces and legs; and as you can see from this photo, the two blackfaces had been hiding a wee goat behind a tree.
20121002-181523.jpg

Later, I’ll go check my class notes and my copy of Deb’s book so I can take a stab at identifying the breed(s) of sheep living practically in my backyard.

Uh-oh, busted. The Sheep Police are coming to talk to me. See y’all later when my laptop is done meditating.
20121002-181548.jpg
You’ll have to forgive the lack of Chispas on this post. I type one-fingered on my phone (not THAT finger, Jillian), and it’s realllllllyyy slowwwwww.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quick post, with sheep

  1. molly says:

    four minutes from your house? lucky lady! i have sheep four minutes from my house but they’re at the university farm and we really only go to see them in the spring when they are out and about with their lambies! – otherwise they are too hard to get to…. hope your computer gets over its hissy soon!
    cheers
    molly

  2. elaine in colorado says:

    Jealous!(1) Sheep, and 2, count um, two spinning wheels, and ffiber everywhere….
    🙂
    Happy spinning!

  3. Naomi says:

    What nice neighbors!

  4. Patty says:

    Every Spring, after the alfalfa fields have been harvested, the fields are full of sheep finishing up what the big farm equipment left behind. And the babies, oh the babies!

  5. Seanna Lea says:

    Here is a possible Chispa. A baby goat being helped in the water by a pig.

    Happy fleece washing (and I love how the fleeces draped on the spinning wheels make them look like Americana sheep sculptures.

  6. Natalie says:

    At least your disorder looks somewhat orderly and gives the hope that it’ll soon change.

    Lovely sheepies. It reminded me that when I was a teenager we lived in a small village in England one summer. There was a footpath just behind the house which led down to fields full of sheep. I used to go and hang out and watch them. I loved sheep before I had any use for their fluff 😉

  7. Arla says:

    love the two-toned trees…a hint at the coming Christmas season perhaps???
    once had a little orphan lamb jump right into my arms…it was so neat to be able to run my fingers through its soft, soft fleece…
    blessings!!!

Leave a Reply

