all right, who sold me the sasquatch pelt?


Rowan fleece, full

Tell me that doesn’t look like what’s left after Bigfoot has hisself a nice all-over summer buzz cut.

Helpfully, the beastie even sent me his name, presumably so I could write him a thank-you note, or perhaps Like his facebook page:

Rowan fleece with name

Welcome, Rowan. I shall be quite fascinated to see how a Sasquatch pelt does once I get all that pesky forest matter out of your long silky locks.

Apparently, this is one of the rare Scottish Shetland Bigfoot, a branch of the family not often spoken of.

Fleece report top

Fleece report bottom

Yet, despite a thorough inspection, I didn’t smell anything nasty or illegal whilst washing the pelt and setting it out to dry. Makes me wonder why the Scottish Shetland breed of Bigfoot has been so rarely spoken of…doesn’t look like there’s anything to be ashamed of here.

drying rack 1

Because it’s Sasquatch, it’s HUGE. I spent nearly all day yesterday washing fleece pelt and I only got through two-thirds of it. I shall try to get the rest of it washed and set out to dry today and tomorrow.

In order to keep the birds, squirrels, and mischievious 10-yr-olds away, I improvised a yurt cover for the stacked drying rack.

yurt of racks

Do you want to hear the really amusing part of this story? (Of course you do. You’re a captive audience and the LAUGH sign has just lit up.)

I found another hyuuuuuuge bag of Sasquatch pelt, same colour, same sort of tags and examiner notes, in the trunk of my car yesterday.

Unwashed, of course.

I do believe that both of these came from Beth’s shop. They may have even come from the same being, Rowan being the champ that he obviously is.

The question is, of course: From whence is Beth getting Bigfoot fluff? I’m picturing her in a pink safari hat and coordinating Indiana Jane gear, yelling, “Rowan! Hey! Rowan, ya big lunk! We had an appointment at 2:30 and it’s nearly 3 now and I’m hungry and I want to go to that new restaurant down by the park gate. Wanna come? ROWAN. Where ARE you?”

Yes, indeedy. I’m sure that is exactly how it happens. Stories of going from one idyllic sheep farm to the next? Bah humbug.

In Other News

I have been doing more than flirting with critters listed in the X-Files Hall of Fame, you understand.  I’m been steadily working on this little number:

Graceful Tee front full

I am nearly done stitching the side seams–see the brass needle on the right? From that point down is all the seaming I have left to do. (For now.) Next up is the neckband; then I have two fluttery sleevettes (cap sleeves?) to knit and attach. After that, it’s all but the weaving in of ends and the blocking. Whooo!

This is a design I worked up to show off Jennifer’s Flock Sock Yarn from her dyeshop at Holiday Yarns. The colour is Psyche & Cupid; it’s a wonderfully subtle mix of blue and plum. I believe Jen is displaying a sample of this same tee at TNNA this very weekend; I have to finish a chart, do the sizing, and pretty up the instructions for the tech editor…and then if you want it, you can have it! It’s tentatively called the Graceful Tee, but methinks it  is so cute it needs a cuter name.

Maybe we could have a contest where you folks suggest names and the one picked gets a llama prize?

Oh, and finally: The Giveaway Llama says she misses all of you very much. July is Sandi’s Birthday Month, so the is a High Probability of Llama HiJinks during July.

Stay tuned!

Chispas

934680_668179579864750_316757058_n

The capacity of kittens to nap never ceases to amaze me.

siamese-cats

SEE? They really are listening to us.

I love a good latte or cappucino as much as the next person. But these? Amazing. (Also undrinkable, but oh-so-awesome.)

Finally: Apparently, there is a way to turn the Dark Forces of Excel to The Good Side (where we have CUPCAKES, so there!). This is just one big Holy Cow, Batman moment.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ 

Be kind to yourself. Be kind to one another. They go together, however. You cannot do the second very well if you are not also doing the first.

You do know that each and every one of you is important to me, anonymous or raucously loud commenter, right? Thank you so much for joining me here to sit and storytell for a while.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to all right, who sold me the sasquatch pelt?

  1. Mardi says:

    Hmmm..the stitch pattern.reminds me of boysenberries. SummerBerry Tee?

    Pretty!

  2. marianne says:

    from your description, I’m imagining a flirty feminine look – how about “flirty tee”

  3. Donna says:

    Love that t-shirt. I vote for Silvershell t-shirt as it reminds me of the colors in the sky after the sun has totally set over Silvershell beach when I was a kid. All that blue with just a hint of purple-pink. Hope the pattern comes in sizes for those of us who are on the bigger side 🙂

  4. molly says:

    ANOTHER rainywindycold day here (but still much better than in alberta -oh my -those poor folk) and i was feeling pretty blue…then in my inbox i find this! thank you – i am renewed! love the bigfoot fleece – for a moment it was looking like my bigfooted maine coon cats’ fur….hee hee!

  5. Tamara says:

    LOL’d at the little kitty sleeping, and gave a big, out loud in my hotel room alone “Juh!” at the excel spreadsheet art. Just….wow.

    Beautiful tee. I have no name for it, though I liked the idea (stolen outright from Mardi!) of Boysenberry Tea.

  6. Holly says:

    Thank you for your posting. The kitty pic. reminded me of a time 13 yrs ago when I had to tiny kittens (brother & sister). Every afternoon the three of us would take a nap. One curled up in my lap, the other down the sleeve of my sweater, aaah sweet memories. Have a great day — >j<

  7. Holly says:

    p.s. can’t wait to see what beautiful yarn you’ll create from “Sasquatch”

  8. Arla says:

    love the sasquatch fleece tale!!! is it blackbrown or black with brown in it or brown with black in it?

    love the kitten…reminds me of our grand-kitty…she drapes over our shoulders like a fox collar…

    I think the T-shirt could be named Water-fall Tee…it’s the pretty blue/sort of purply colour of calm waters around these parts…

    we are having to clean up our basement as we are victims of flooding here in south-western Alberta…we are so blessed that we only had 8″ of water and not the fully water-filled basements that at least 3 of our neighbours had…my heart is saddened that we have water damage, but is totally broken that my neighbours have lost all in their basements…one of the basements was a fully furnished suite…

    blessings

Leave a Reply

