Travelling woman


Since I last posted (from NY? No clue), I have driven All the Miles and stayed either with peeps or in hotels. I now have a fave hotel chain, a statement that reflects just how many chains I have tried.

 

IMG_7734.JPG

First place goes to Country Inn & Suites, for overall sparkling cleanliness, price deals, breakfast quality, and bed comfiness. Second place (close on heels!) is Hampton Inn & Suites, for all the same reasons. Just a wee bit of travel insight in case you haven’t had the chance to try umpty-three chains yourself. You’re welcome.

I am currently in Utterly Gorgeous North Carolina. I was fortunate enough to be able to attend one of the best fiber festivals in my experience: SAFF, South-Eastern Animal Fiber Festival (or similar, I will look it up when I have internet to post this post).

IMG_7780.JPG

The setting is beautiful. But check this out:

IMG_7727.JPG

It’s Rhinebeck South!

That’s the inside of the main building. Booths are in a ring around the edges, and then in a central oval, with booths facing the booths on the edge. (but wait! there’s more!)

If you go up the stairs to the snacks and restrooms ring at the top of the stadium, there are MORE booths all along that second-floor walkway.

Go outside, cross the parking lot, and you will find a second building, a barn will a similar ringed arrangement.

Which I did not take a picture of. 🙂

Cross a gravel road, and you are at the animal barns.

Which is where I met the fine fellow whose photo is at the end of this post. He won Grand Champion, and from his bearing and noble eyes, you can tell he knows it. However, he is a true champion, humble and courteous, so he will not think himself better than you. In fact, Himself was not above giving the Paca Princess a few kisses on her nose.

There’s more to tell, the past week down here has brought me friendships both new and renewed, so there are people to introduce and pictures of a five-day-old cria for you to coo over.

However, checkout time looms, and it’s time to find a route and get on the road.

More later, I promise.

I am trying to find a way to post multiple photos in a place you can see them ( I still have a flikr acct, hm), but in the meantime:

I have joined the Instagram crowd, user sandiwiseheart, and I am posting daily as much as possible there. (If you don’t know Instagram from an app-in-the-wall, it is basically photo-sharing, one at a time, with captions. Usually folks like me post only one pic a day or so, so it isn’t overwhelming).

Love and llama kisses!

IMG_7699.JPG

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Travelling woman

  1. molly says:

    what a handsome fellow he is! thanks for posting about your travels…gives me something to dream about as the snow/rain/sneet falls…
    cheers
    molly

  2. Vicki W. says:

    I’ve heard SAFF is great…. never been though. Definitely easier to get to from Georgia that is for sure! And you had gorgeous weather…perfect in fact. Glad you had such a great time.

  3. Mary says:

    I saw the baby Cria and an orphan too, would have tried to bring it home but promised DH I wouldn’t bring home anything living.

  4. Martha Donley says:

    I didn’t know you were at SAFF too. Sorry I missed you. Llamaleader

  5. Kay says:

    It was a wonderful weekend with beautiful weather. I think that gorgeous llama is the one who came to visit our booth in the “barn”. He was very well behaved.

  6. Barbara says:

    I avoided going to SAFF this year because of an abundance of yarn already living in my house! I wish I would have known you were going to be there – I would have definitely made the trip to meet you! It’s only 45 minutes from my house! Glad you liked it – it is a great event.

  7. I am so glad you made it to SAFF – it was a glorious experience.

  8. Meg says:

    Barbara, I’m with you, in spirit and in yarn. I’m in Granville County, NC, and it’s far too tempting. Sandi, so glad you enjoyed your visit. The Old North State has a long history in all things artisan, from fiber to furnishings for the White House. Do let us know if and when you plan to visit again. Would love to say “hello”. xxxx

  9. holy llama batman, you’ve posted twice in only a couple of weeks. Sooooooo proud of the new found chutzpah! we miss you when you are sick; you matter to us!

Leave a Reply

