Live from Orangeville, Ontario!


Hello, there. Me again.

At physio, in Unicorn Pose

At physio, in Unicorn Pose. I don’t know what it says about me that the only recent photo I can come up with is me with a needle sticking out of my brain.

I’ve been working on a post for you for the past few weeks—struggling with it, editing and re-editing, really taking it to the mat to show who’s boss.

I finally got the darn thing done, complete with photos. I decided to make a cup of coffee before final review and posting. Went off, ground my beans, performed my usual French press ritual of brown smooth goodness, and then, warm mug in hand, toddled back to my computer.

I sat down, and discovered that a very interesting thing had occurred while I was off French-Pressing: my labour-of-love post had become BORING. Boring. All that writing, and editing, and yet more editing had just edited the life right out of that post.

Let’s begin afresh, shall we?

Welcome to Wiseheart Cottage!

Wiseheart Cottage 2015Yep, we’re homeowners now. Or rather, mortgage owners, to be precise.

We love this house. It has a serenity about it, and when you are inside it, or wandering around the garden, the place has an odd calming effect on both Melody and I.

It looks huge. I keep thinking, what about conspicuous consumption? What about living simply, walking lightly upon the earth? What about the PROPERTY TAXES?!

Nevermind all that for now, I suppose: It’s ours. We shall have plenty of time to ponder the philosophical ramifications of all that lovely money we handed over a few weeks back; meanwhile, we hope that the house will not be a solitary hermitage, but rather a place to celebrate all that is good with family and friends.

The house claimed us about fifteen minutes after we first entered the front door, about the time we g0t to the back of the house and saw this:

M_kitchen 2
By the time Melody was looking out the kitchen window, we had our realtor already on the phone to the seller’s agent putting in an official offer.

The back of the house is one big open room.

M_breakfast rm 2If you stand in the breakfast area there and turn around, this is what you see:

M_family rm 2 There is, of course, more: upstairs, downstairs, bathrooms, the whole thing. But I will save photos of those for later, because now it is time for a new game I’ve come up with for you.

Friend or Foe: Name That Plant

I have never, ever, EVER, had a garden in my entire life. The previous co-owner of this house had a really good pair of gardening shears and knew how to use them. Upon seeing the lovely flowering plants all ’round, the lush bushes, the charming trees, my first thought was, “Please, God, do not let me kill any of this, at least not in the first year.”

In other words, I do not know Plant Friend from Plant Foe. I have been weeding a little bit each day, and here’s my weeding strategy: If it spreads out like a starfish low to the ground and looks a bit prickly, it is a FOE and it must GO. If it is a tiny cluster of Random Plantness that looks kind of nervous and out of place, as though it realizes it does not bear a familial resemblance to anything nearby, AND if it has no flowers, buds, fruit, or other redeeming qualities, then my logic says FOE and it, too, must GO. (I often pray whilst dragging these sorts out of the ground that I am not destroying some rare herb whose seeds not only can cure cancer, but can banish diarrhea forever, change the hearts of public nose-pickers, and knock sense into politicians of our choosing. With my luck, the rare herb would be the last speciman of its kind, and there’d I’d be, making Zee Wondur Plantz extinct.)

This is where you come in. I have several Growing Things whom I am fairly certain are Unwelcome Guests in my garden, but I’m not certain enough to go in with my purple gardening gloves and completely decimate them, using their roots to floss my teeth…oh, wow, Sandi, waaaayy out of hand, here, girlfriend. Just breathe and stop right there, there’s a good girl.

This post’s mystery plant is here:

Weed or Wonder?

Weed or Wonder?

And that, my friends, is probably enough for now.

We have so much to catch up on: what I am spinning for this year’s Tour de Fleece, what I am attempting to knit, despite 7 rip-out sessions, a quilt or two to show off, and the fleeces that came with me to the new house.

Till then, just two Chispas for your entertainment and inspiration:

  • I hope this allays your fears. It also may bring to an end the careers of thousands of young adult dystopian end-of-the world authors. Sorry about that. That’s the way the cookie crumbles, I guess.
  • Read this. And then, because you will be powerless to resist, go ahead and read the entire thing from the beginning. Go ahead. We’ll wait. There’s no shame here, not really. Especially since I’ve read the entire series TWICE.

much love and hope,
Sandi

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Live from Orangeville, Ontario!

  1. InJuneau says:

    Might be chickweed (or a relative), but I’m not positive. If it is, it’s definitely a FOE, but also it is very difficult to get rid of. If you decide it’s chickweed, try to dig it out by the roots, rather than pulling it up, as I think it will start new plants from every left behind node.

  2. Yay! Non-boring post! I like the big open space in the house. I have no wisdom about the mystery plant.

  3. I don’t know if the plant growing in your flower patch is friend or foe, but my philosophy is ‘which of these is not like the others’ = FOE.

    Best wishes for the new house, er, mortgage. I purchased my hut back in 2003 and it’s the best investment I ever made (weeds notwithstanding). Good luck, good food, good memories for you and Melodye.

  4. Karen says:

    FOE! Not sure what it is but you can safely pull it. Your new home is just Lovely! Hope you enjoy Orangeville.

  5. Anne Shifflett says:

    Great to hear from you again. Your new house is lovely, open and inviting. Enjoy your gardening adventures.

  6. Liz says:

    looks an awful lot like this:
    http://ontariowildflowers.com/main/species.php?id=340

    Also, bookmark this site, it’s very handy for ID’ing all those random green things that show up.

  7. Sharon says:

    I agree with Liz that you should pull that yellow-flowering weed. I also recognize the one below it in the photo as something we regularly pull up here in B.C. I’d bookmark that website for Ontario weeds too! I’d love to see photos of all your garden beds to see what plants you have in them.

    Your new house is lovely! I hope you and Melody, and the fur kids, will be very happy in it.

  8. Margo says:

    Congratulations to you and Melody on buying your beautiful new house. I hope you both are very happy there. I have no idea whether the plant is friend or foe.

  9. Barbara says:

    So happy to hear your good news. AND to have you back. Please don’t wait so long till next time we hear from you. Isn’t it fun to set up your new studio? You didn’t say anything about what space you have, so I’m hoping to see it next time. Also, thanks for the Cat News! I subscribed.

  10. Valerie in San Diego says:

    I think it’s a weed nestling up to a hosta. Pull it! And so good to see you blogging again!

  11. Arla says:

    Congratulations on your new home!!! How wonderful for you!!!
    The two larger plants are called Hostas… they’re keepers.
    The others look like intruders, hence foe, hence weeds, hence pull them out… <<>>
    Blessings!!!

  12. Holly says:

    Your home is lovely, congratulations

  13. Vicki W. says:

    LOVE the kitchen….love the openness of the house.

    As for the weeds…yep, all three things nestled in around the hosta’s are weeds. Several look somewhat familiar but what they are I couldn’t tell you.

    It was great hearing from you again…..

  14. Mardi says:

    Those orange pillows can’t be yours…are they??? Orange? Surely not…So happy you are happy in new HOME.

  15. well, congratulations! it’s lovely!

  16. Meg says:

    How fabulous! I love the open floor plan, and can already envision Melody whipping up batches of pesto in that wonderful kitchen. Foe re the hosta encroachers. Definitely foe. Hugs, love, happiness and great to hear from you again. xxx

  17. Lee says:

    Congratulations on scoring a house that nurtures your spirits while it shelters your persons and possessions! I wish you and Melody a marvelous time in your new home, despite the gardening challenges, and look forward to seeing more from you as time permits.

  18. Janice says:

    Congratulations. I guess I see things differently, but I thought perhaps what everyone else sees as FOE, I thought was thyme. I can’t tell for sure from the photo, but since the previous owner gardened, it’s possible. But it won’t be extinct if you already pulled it.

Leave a Reply

